Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    7:03 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Voting poll discussion > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Member Poll: New search prototype Back to Topics
JT

Moderator
Message Posted: Dec 21, 2009 6:55:07 PM

We are testing a new/alternate gas price search control. Do you like the new search control?

In an effort to try to improve the search, we've come up with a working protype of our search form. Instead of having the larger advanced search for gas prices, we've condensed the section down, and are displaying by default. We'd love to hear your input on this.

Take a look here: Proposed search form

Please vote in the poll about it: Poll about the new layout
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
Gobbles113
Rookie Author Minnesota

Posts:3
Points:136,735
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Mar 13, 2014 12:51:52 PM

Works pretty good. Still work in progress. Patience is the key.
Profile Pic
curiousgeorge
Veteran Author Barrie

Posts:368
Points:600,300
Joined:Oct 2005
Message Posted: Feb 6, 2014 10:10:06 PM

did not notice
Profile Pic
jPnam68
Rookie Author New Hampshire

Posts:17
Points:134,630
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Jan 26, 2014 9:43:40 AM

I use my smartphone 95+% of the time so it matters not to me.
Profile Pic
wwch99tj
Rookie Author Delaware

Posts:29
Points:199,160
Joined:Sep 2011
Message Posted: Jan 16, 2014 8:19:20 AM

I use the app all 99% of the time
Profile Pic
OaktonFox
Rookie Author Virginia

Posts:4
Points:268,855
Joined:Nov 2012
Message Posted: Dec 11, 2013 6:29:55 PM

It doesn't really affect me. Most of my searches are through my smartphone app.
Profile Pic
HFAJR0034
Champion Author New Mexico

Posts:8,310
Points:1,488,035
Joined:Jul 2009
Message Posted: Nov 19, 2013 9:03:53 AM

can't bring it up.
Profile Pic
SnowPlowingTom
Sophomore Author Pennsylvania

Posts:177
Points:51,640
Joined:Dec 2011
Message Posted: Nov 19, 2013 6:01:44 AM

Does NOT come up.
HTTP Error 404. The requested resource is not found.
Profile Pic
Lowergasman
Champion Author Fort Worth

Posts:4,147
Points:1,337,395
Joined:Jan 2010
Message Posted: Nov 14, 2013 8:44:39 PM

doesnt matter
Profile Pic
Mikew501
Rookie Author Illinois

Posts:25
Points:2,725
Joined:Nov 2013
Message Posted: Nov 6, 2013 6:34:12 PM

works just fine thank you
Profile Pic
0848Marine
All-Star Author Dallas

Posts:522
Points:126,525
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 29, 2013 9:46:12 AM

It works ok for me
Profile Pic
Claruth
Rookie Author Texas

Posts:65
Points:8,745
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 21, 2013 5:24:28 PM

it really doesn't matter to me.
Profile Pic
tac109698
Veteran Author Sarasota

Posts:358
Points:172,915
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: Oct 16, 2013 4:21:01 PM

A dozen tries and all I got was the various error messages.
Profile Pic
Claruth
Rookie Author Texas

Posts:65
Points:8,745
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 12, 2013 10:57:58 PM

Yes, I like the new search control, this way I can keep up with the lowest prices and refer a friend.
Profile Pic
kerberalt
Rookie Author Fort Worth

Posts:63
Points:403,320
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Oct 3, 2013 11:57:55 PM

always room for improvement
Profile Pic
Green_Heron
Rookie Author Minnesota

Posts:21
Points:101,905
Joined:Sep 2013
Message Posted: Sep 24, 2013 10:46:49 AM

Is this still a current question???
Profile Pic
Oachita
Rookie Author Wichita

Posts:7
Points:15,690
Joined:Aug 2013
Message Posted: Aug 26, 2013 12:15:19 PM

Everyone should quit being troubled by the error codes that appear. These happen on a test presentation because certain scripts are running that aren't tied into data yet. Forget them. Look below them.

I like it in part. As the default, I like the smaller footprint, assuming that the Member Favorites will still show directly below it. Less scrolling to get to the easy multiple reporting through the Favorites display.

However, I also like to see the multiple Highest prices. When searching through the advanced search, the Highest prices aren't available. So, with this new footprint, if the search results are displayed as they are now, we will lose all Highest awareness except for the one in this new display.

Can you add a "Lowest/Highest" option in the advanced search, to overcome this? Alternatively, could you have an "Expand" button that simply brings back this current listing of Lowest and Highest? If either of these, then I'd vote for the new look. If not, I'd vote for the current.
Profile Pic
WmDOUTIS1
Rookie Author Salt Lake City

Posts:5
Points:29,530
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: Aug 24, 2013 5:00:21 AM

I'm not in understanding with this.
Profile Pic
datsundriver
Champion Author Houston

Posts:9,318
Points:1,134,610
Joined:Feb 2008
Message Posted: Aug 3, 2013 4:21:05 PM

not able to log in to see if there re any changes. the "unlogged" version says there are no reported prices in my area in the last 72 hours.
.
.
you seem to be fixing something that is not broken, just like having people post ridiculous prices that require a loyalty card, 20 gallon minimum purchase, and cash to obtain.
Profile Pic
OilCanJ
Rookie Author New York

Posts:2
Points:29,615
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Jul 31, 2013 7:50:40 AM

I think that Stationed identified as not carrying diesel should have that portion grayed out. I have been scammed several times looking for Ghost Gas.
Profile Pic
Pen2013
Rookie Author Detroit

Posts:8
Points:208,865
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Jul 15, 2013 12:31:27 AM

This is what I get. So I would have to say NO I do not like the new search control~

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 684e684b-5539-454f-99d6-73757421f425

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 19fb514a-5409-49a9-b369-1ff97c55ac67

Please email us HERE
Profile Pic
OaktonFox
Rookie Author Virginia

Posts:4
Points:268,855
Joined:Nov 2012
Message Posted: Jun 27, 2013 7:57:54 PM

Does not seem to work. Got the following error messages:

"An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: ff12a001-3731-4440-bda9-aa784b613f8b

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: d9bfd660-8224-4e58-a1a5-bcaaf443858e

Please email us HERE"
Profile Pic
ronbo2010
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:2,968
Points:320,895
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: May 4, 2013 4:02:37 PM

If you are filtering search to narrow choices, can you add a function to expand search?
Profile Pic
gassprite
Champion Author Toms River

Posts:2,730
Points:456,315
Joined:Apr 2012
Message Posted: Apr 18, 2013 9:00:49 PM

I use the mobile app to get gas prices. But when I tried to get to the search page from the poll page I got the following error messages.
An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 97ebe96c-e0f9-43a8-bd11-dbd4fd323977

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 00572cdb-bbb3-4151-8791-03e789f5a4fd

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 494d1eff-addf-4399-ad92-e449f1231dee

Please email us HERE
Profile Pic
In_due_season
Rookie Author Houston

Posts:7
Points:2,050
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Apr 10, 2013 6:17:07 PM

I don't see much of a difference.
Profile Pic
9chevy04
Rookie Author Massachusetts

Posts:24
Points:865
Joined:Mar 2013
Message Posted: Apr 9, 2013 8:37:44 AM

like
Profile Pic
mccosme
Rookie Author Tacoma

Posts:7
Points:244,090
Joined:Mar 2008
Message Posted: Apr 5, 2013 10:47:11 AM

other than the errors, I don't see much difference from what we already have.
Profile Pic
gas_phil
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:5,379
Points:447,510
Joined:Aug 2012
Message Posted: Apr 5, 2013 1:59:28 AM

Not sure what happened.. it says...
The ERROR ID is: 2a746580-7058-45db-af2a-20bafce91ab5
The ERROR ID is: 9e5d150f-0cba-4b58-93a3-1c774ac887c9
The ERROR ID is: c27ec78f-45ee-4e8a-894f-a879f2941f66
(IE10, W7Px64)
Profile Pic
sf_franck
Rookie Author San Francisco

Posts:1
Points:140,220
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 5:17:04 PM

Link goes to http://66.70.86.248/index.aspx and returns on top of the page:

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 449706bd-b6a2-4790-a1a4-4abb98bf99ca
The ERROR ID is: bbe81d7f-8c50-4f19-83c0-f01ce787978e
The ERROR ID is: 3afb815f-c9c7-4a59-8847-4d53b65df84c
Profile Pic
dwood35242
All-Star Author Birmingham

Posts:592
Points:165,475
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Apr 1, 2013 9:28:28 PM

Just got error messages. Would like E0 prices; also way to show station out of gas instead of having to post a price. Often see old prices listed at the station but they are really out of gas and haven't updated the price - maybe hoping to get customers hoping for cheap gas that will stop in and buy junk food or drinks.....
Profile Pic
coffeebrake1015
Champion Author Florida

Posts:1,383
Points:520,350
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Mar 29, 2013 2:27:30 PM

I like things the way they are thank you.
Profile Pic
drnick48
Rookie Author Georgia

Posts:1
Points:54,920
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Mar 19, 2013 6:16:55 AM

And what do the data suggest?? (raised eyebrow) . . . . Time, energy, effort, investment spent in an area that doesn't generate an appropriate ROI?
Profile Pic
allicat11
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:1,154
Points:253,440
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Mar 18, 2013 8:20:22 AM

Like it!
Profile Pic
NorthByNw
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:2,286
Points:549,825
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Mar 9, 2013 9:12:37 PM

Link doesn't work, received 4 error messages
Profile Pic
beachd8
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:1,285
Points:220,895
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Mar 7, 2013 9:13:15 AM

The link to see the proposed changes doesn't work. Ergo no comment on the changes.
Profile Pic
SHEP20715
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:10,135
Points:2,044,670
Joined:Nov 2007
Message Posted: Mar 5, 2013 3:54:40 AM

I would like to have non-ethanol prices posted

[Edited by: SHEP20715 at 3/5/2013 3:54:49 AM EST]
Profile Pic
alewoo
Rookie Author Kentucky

Posts:53
Points:96,725
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Mar 5, 2013 3:29:58 AM

I would like to see the nearest gas station like I do when I'm using my app. I would also like to see gas prices that need to be filled in that shows up on my app as well.
I would like to be able to leave a comment about the fuel station instead of having to add a price.
I would like to see the mileage from my local zip to the lowest gas price.

if you can do these things, I like things the way they are.
Profile Pic
thrtyrs
All-Star Author Maine

Posts:584
Points:570,960
Joined:Oct 2008
Message Posted: Mar 1, 2013 5:08:50 PM

If there could be added a spot for 93 Octane, this would be great!!!
Profile Pic
HamRadioN4SMB
Rookie Author North Carolina

Posts:23
Points:23,715
Joined:Jan 2013
Message Posted: Feb 23, 2013 5:05:39 PM

I clicked on your link: "Proposed search form" and received three error messages:

1st ERROR ID is: 000d5985-494e-4e33-a6ea-b4f6babf367b

2nd ERROR ID is: 34fbf7a3-5c79-4f47-858d-5d70c71a477d

3rd ERROR ID is: 7522a31d-95af-4425-be4e-1554344aa217

I gave up; it's not working properly.

[Edited by: HamRadioN4SMB at 2/23/2013 5:08:27 PM EST]
Profile Pic
debonairpilot
Rookie Author Tampa

Posts:18
Points:1,200
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Feb 15, 2013 5:08:42 PM

I would REALLY LIKE posted prices of any gas stations selling NON ETHANOL FUEL!!!
Profile Pic
debonairpilot
Rookie Author Tampa

Posts:18
Points:1,200
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Feb 15, 2013 5:05:40 PM

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 3a14bc0a-7667-4853-9951-35917c5abf10

Profile Pic
nicven
All-Star Author Virginia Beach

Posts:903
Points:339,890
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Feb 12, 2013 6:43:49 PM

i got an error message
Profile Pic
appleNY
Champion Author Long Island

Posts:1,428
Points:157,095
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Jan 23, 2013 10:18:50 AM

I'm not sure. I tryed to enter a new gas station but it asked me for a cross street and it was dark outside and I could not enter the new station. They just opened for business.
Profile Pic
shootdatthing
Rookie Author Durham

Posts:2
Points:6,840
Joined:Sep 2012
Message Posted: Jan 22, 2013 1:03:45 AM

i got an error message
Profile Pic
appleNY
Champion Author Long Island

Posts:1,428
Points:157,095
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Jan 13, 2013 9:28:12 PM

Like it
Profile Pic
US_ICEMAN
All-Star Author Toronto

Posts:687
Points:677,860
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Jan 9, 2013 8:35:45 AM

getting an error: An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: a8680fb8-b3e2-4f32-b181-daac7366efc1
Profile Pic
appleNY
Champion Author Long Island

Posts:1,428
Points:157,095
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Jan 4, 2013 9:57:31 PM

like
Profile Pic
cags
Rookie Author Miami

Posts:34
Points:6,510
Joined:Jul 2007
Message Posted: Dec 24, 2012 7:02:34 AM

what change did you make, when I did try and see what it was the program site went kapoooooie
Profile Pic
borsht
Champion Author Oakland

Posts:2,380
Points:518,270
Joined:Aug 2012
Message Posted: Dec 1, 2012 3:09:43 PM

I too just got an error message, and two prices.
It's has a way to go.
Why change it?
An old saying, if it works don't fix it. But if you do, make sure it does the good things the previous version did.
Most of these late improved versions are junk. They intorduce them way before, they are working.
Profile Pic
Texazone
Rookie Author South Carolina

Posts:5
Points:46,275
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Nov 19, 2012 11:45:16 PM

Not sure what new feature was added.
Profile Pic
swbirder
Rookie Author California

Posts:27
Points:390,065
Joined:Aug 2012
Message Posted: Nov 16, 2012 3:38:21 PM

All I did was open it from the link in th original post!?! Fail.

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 377d3094-605b-493b-a44b-3e19466c2b55

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 83e6167d-85b7-4703-a592-8518499eb447

Please email us HERE
Post a reply Back to Topics