Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    11:25 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Voting poll discussion > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Member Poll: New search prototype Back to Topics
JT
Moderator
Message Posted: Dec 21, 2009 6:55:07 PM

We are testing a new/alternate gas price search control. Do you like the new search control?

In an effort to try to improve the search, we've come up with a working protype of our search form. Instead of having the larger advanced search for gas prices, we've condensed the section down, and are displaying by default. We'd love to hear your input on this.

Take a look here: Proposed search form

Please vote in the poll about it: Poll about the new layout
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
AbstemiousOne
Rookie Author Tucson

Posts:1
Points:47,920
Joined:Oct 2008
Message Posted: Feb 16, 2015 6:57:34 PM

It has potential, but I'd like to see it fleshed out a bit more. Also,in a rollout like this you might want to give a better heads up as I didn't even notice the change until the poll appeared.
HFAJR0034
Champion Author New Mexico

Posts:11,311
Points:1,939,760
Joined:Jul 2009
Message Posted: Jan 19, 2015 6:58:52 AM

IT'S OK
KimJones122012
Rookie Author New Mexico

Posts:1
Points:1,120
Joined:Dec 2014
Message Posted: Dec 10, 2014 8:09:08 PM

I like the price search but I do have a recommendation. If could be more specific in the search it would help. Those who travel could input their travel itinerary and find gas prices along the routes. I used the price search this week going to Oklahoma and it saved me money but some locations were 4 to 7 miles OFF my route. BUT, I am not complaining! Cost me $43 to go 867 miles!
LeaV23
Rookie Author Pennsylvania

Posts:31
Points:184,585
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Dec 8, 2014 12:50:43 PM

Don't use often. Use favorites most
croneclone
Rookie Author San Francisco

Posts:9
Points:245,180
Joined:Nov 2005
Message Posted: Dec 4, 2014 12:07:07 AM

Dont know what the difference is.
JDJamieson
Rookie Author South Carolina

Posts:8
Points:32,925
Joined:Aug 2012
Message Posted: Dec 3, 2014 3:23:34 PM

I really only have a few select stations that I use between home and work (boring, I know) and just use the favorites feature on my phone app to figure out where to get gas when I start running low.
SusanVette
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:15,042
Points:2,557,015
Joined:Oct 2004
Message Posted: Oct 7, 2014 12:04:06 AM

It doesn't really affect me. Most of my searches are through my smartphone app.
Sidewinder1615
Rookie Author Arizona

Posts:2
Points:1,240
Joined:Oct 2014
Message Posted: Oct 5, 2014 2:25:28 PM

It works for me but I'm new here and don't know the old format and I live in a small town so all stations in my area show.
Joe A
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:18,912
Points:3,068,935
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Sep 16, 2014 7:01:02 PM

I hate it. When I use my saved searches, it stops at the 13 lowest prices. I never see the stations that I'm looking for or to see that all of the stations on my route were posted correctly (looking for my typos on prices), etc.

so no - I don't like the change!
J Eric
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:13,313
Points:2,767,380
Joined:Feb 2004
Message Posted: Jul 8, 2014 5:27:26 PM

In order to post prices on an independent (new) station, the site now demands I re-enter all data for that station. This includes geographic coordinates for latitude & longitude. Gimme a break! I don't own a GPS and have no ready means of acquiring that information. And it does not seem to be of importance; an address or intersection will locate the stations just as well.
EKBLogistics
Rookie Author Gary

Posts:3
Points:8,660
Joined:Nov 2006
Message Posted: Jun 27, 2014 6:56:13 AM

This format can work for me because it gives me the ability to see a variety of station prices in my area...
2WW5
Champion Author Seattle

Posts:1,375
Points:772,240
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: May 5, 2014 3:36:51 PM

Yes, I like the new format.
SBlouch
Champion Author San Antonio

Posts:11,828
Points:2,593,380
Joined:Apr 2007
Message Posted: May 1, 2014 10:35:25 PM

I like the old format and am hoping Gas Buddy isn't getting like facebook which kept making changes just because someone at headquarters decide they had a better idea. I am no longer on facebook.
Panama19
Champion Author Louisville

Posts:31,627
Points:3,312,935
Joined:Sep 2005
Message Posted: May 1, 2014 9:56:48 PM


I liked the old format.

I will get used to the new format.

johne1955
Champion Author New Jersey

Posts:2,380
Points:604,875
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: May 1, 2014 6:28:35 PM

OK.
TAT36
Champion Author Florida

Posts:10,134
Points:2,071,360
Joined:Sep 2009
Message Posted: May 1, 2014 12:44:06 PM

I voted I did not care seems like we have had a pretty good system and I am sure any new one brought in will do as well.
Gobbles113
Rookie Author Minnesota

Posts:8
Points:511,760
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Mar 13, 2014 12:51:52 PM

Works pretty good. Still work in progress. Patience is the key.
curiousgeorge
Veteran Author Barrie

Posts:368
Points:605,600
Joined:Oct 2005
Message Posted: Feb 6, 2014 10:10:06 PM

did not notice
jPnam68
Veteran Author New Hampshire

Posts:326
Points:504,575
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Jan 26, 2014 9:43:40 AM

I use my smartphone 95+% of the time so it matters not to me.
wwch99tj
Rookie Author Delaware

Posts:30
Points:569,480
Joined:Sep 2011
Message Posted: Jan 16, 2014 8:19:20 AM

I use the app all 99% of the time
OaktonFox
Rookie Author Virginia

Posts:4
Points:621,755
Joined:Nov 2012
Message Posted: Dec 11, 2013 6:29:55 PM

It doesn't really affect me. Most of my searches are through my smartphone app.
HFAJR0034
Champion Author New Mexico

Posts:11,311
Points:1,939,760
Joined:Jul 2009
Message Posted: Nov 19, 2013 9:03:53 AM

can't bring it up.
SnowPlowingTom
Sophomore Author Pennsylvania

Posts:189
Points:63,060
Joined:Dec 2011
Message Posted: Nov 19, 2013 6:01:44 AM

Does NOT come up.
HTTP Error 404. The requested resource is not found.
Lowergasman
Champion Author Fort Worth

Posts:5,758
Points:1,789,120
Joined:Jan 2010
Message Posted: Nov 14, 2013 8:44:39 PM

doesnt matter
Mikew501
Rookie Author Illinois

Posts:25
Points:54,325
Joined:Nov 2013
Message Posted: Nov 6, 2013 6:34:12 PM

works just fine thank you
0848Marine
All-Star Author Dallas

Posts:532
Points:401,675
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 29, 2013 9:46:12 AM

It works ok for me
Claruth
Rookie Author Texas

Posts:65
Points:8,745
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 21, 2013 5:24:28 PM

it really doesn't matter to me.
tac109698
All-Star Author Sarasota

Posts:710
Points:471,345
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: Oct 16, 2013 4:21:01 PM

A dozen tries and all I got was the various error messages.
Claruth
Rookie Author Texas

Posts:65
Points:8,745
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 12, 2013 10:57:58 PM

Yes, I like the new search control, this way I can keep up with the lowest prices and refer a friend.
kerberalt
Rookie Author Fort Worth

Posts:63
Points:403,320
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Oct 3, 2013 11:57:55 PM

always room for improvement
Green_Heron
Rookie Author Minnesota

Posts:21
Points:216,505
Joined:Sep 2013
Message Posted: Sep 24, 2013 10:46:49 AM

Is this still a current question???
Oachita
Rookie Author Wichita

Posts:7
Points:15,690
Joined:Aug 2013
Message Posted: Aug 26, 2013 12:15:19 PM

Everyone should quit being troubled by the error codes that appear. These happen on a test presentation because certain scripts are running that aren't tied into data yet. Forget them. Look below them.

I like it in part. As the default, I like the smaller footprint, assuming that the Member Favorites will still show directly below it. Less scrolling to get to the easy multiple reporting through the Favorites display.

However, I also like to see the multiple Highest prices. When searching through the advanced search, the Highest prices aren't available. So, with this new footprint, if the search results are displayed as they are now, we will lose all Highest awareness except for the one in this new display.

Can you add a "Lowest/Highest" option in the advanced search, to overcome this? Alternatively, could you have an "Expand" button that simply brings back this current listing of Lowest and Highest? If either of these, then I'd vote for the new look. If not, I'd vote for the current.
WmDOUTIS1
Rookie Author Salt Lake City

Posts:5
Points:29,530
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: Aug 24, 2013 5:00:21 AM

I'm not in understanding with this.
datsundriver
Champion Author Houston

Posts:11,669
Points:1,567,960
Joined:Feb 2008
Message Posted: Aug 3, 2013 4:21:05 PM

not able to log in to see if there re any changes. the "unlogged" version says there are no reported prices in my area in the last 72 hours.
.
.
you seem to be fixing something that is not broken, just like having people post ridiculous prices that require a loyalty card, 20 gallon minimum purchase, and cash to obtain.
OilCanJ
Rookie Author New York

Posts:3
Points:179,335
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Jul 31, 2013 7:50:40 AM

I think that Stationed identified as not carrying diesel should have that portion grayed out. I have been scammed several times looking for Ghost Gas.
Pen2013
Rookie Author Detroit

Posts:9
Points:408,885
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Jul 15, 2013 12:31:27 AM

This is what I get. So I would have to say NO I do not like the new search control~

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 684e684b-5539-454f-99d6-73757421f425

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 19fb514a-5409-49a9-b369-1ff97c55ac67

Please email us HERE
OaktonFox
Rookie Author Virginia

Posts:4
Points:621,755
Joined:Nov 2012
Message Posted: Jun 27, 2013 7:57:54 PM

Does not seem to work. Got the following error messages:

"An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: ff12a001-3731-4440-bda9-aa784b613f8b

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: d9bfd660-8224-4e58-a1a5-bcaaf443858e

Please email us HERE"
ronbo2010
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:5,506
Points:772,620
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: May 4, 2013 4:02:37 PM

If you are filtering search to narrow choices, can you add a function to expand search?
gassprite
Champion Author Toms River

Posts:4,388
Points:903,640
Joined:Apr 2012
Message Posted: Apr 18, 2013 9:00:49 PM

I use the mobile app to get gas prices. But when I tried to get to the search page from the poll page I got the following error messages.
An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 97ebe96c-e0f9-43a8-bd11-dbd4fd323977

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 00572cdb-bbb3-4151-8791-03e789f5a4fd

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 494d1eff-addf-4399-ad92-e449f1231dee

Please email us HERE
In_due_season
Rookie Author Houston

Posts:7
Points:2,050
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Apr 10, 2013 6:17:07 PM

I don't see much of a difference.
9chevy04
Rookie Author Massachusetts

Posts:24
Points:865
Joined:Mar 2013
Message Posted: Apr 9, 2013 8:37:44 AM

like
mccosme
Rookie Author Tacoma

Posts:7
Points:533,790
Joined:Mar 2008
Message Posted: Apr 5, 2013 10:47:11 AM

other than the errors, I don't see much difference from what we already have.
gas_phil
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:7,557
Points:848,335
Joined:Aug 2012
Message Posted: Apr 5, 2013 1:59:28 AM

Not sure what happened.. it says...
The ERROR ID is: 2a746580-7058-45db-af2a-20bafce91ab5
The ERROR ID is: 9e5d150f-0cba-4b58-93a3-1c774ac887c9
The ERROR ID is: c27ec78f-45ee-4e8a-894f-a879f2941f66
(IE10, W7Px64)
sf_franck
Rookie Author San Francisco

Posts:1
Points:228,620
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 5:17:04 PM

Link goes to http://66.70.86.248/index.aspx and returns on top of the page:

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 449706bd-b6a2-4790-a1a4-4abb98bf99ca
The ERROR ID is: bbe81d7f-8c50-4f19-83c0-f01ce787978e
The ERROR ID is: 3afb815f-c9c7-4a59-8847-4d53b65df84c
dwood35242
All-Star Author Birmingham

Posts:592
Points:175,875
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Apr 1, 2013 9:28:28 PM

Just got error messages. Would like E0 prices; also way to show station out of gas instead of having to post a price. Often see old prices listed at the station but they are really out of gas and haven't updated the price - maybe hoping to get customers hoping for cheap gas that will stop in and buy junk food or drinks.....
coffeebrake1015
Champion Author Florida

Posts:1,566
Points:670,010
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Mar 29, 2013 2:27:30 PM

I like things the way they are thank you.
drnick48
Rookie Author Georgia

Posts:1
Points:82,920
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Mar 19, 2013 6:16:55 AM

And what do the data suggest?? (raised eyebrow) . . . . Time, energy, effort, investment spent in an area that doesn't generate an appropriate ROI?
allicat11
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:1,154
Points:253,440
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Mar 18, 2013 8:20:22 AM

Like it!
NorthByNw
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:2,881
Points:795,545
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Mar 9, 2013 9:12:37 PM

Link doesn't work, received 4 error messages
beachd8
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:1,285
Points:220,895
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Mar 7, 2013 9:13:15 AM

The link to see the proposed changes doesn't work. Ergo no comment on the changes.
SHEP20715
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:11,847
Points:2,495,965
Joined:Nov 2007
Message Posted: Mar 5, 2013 3:54:40 AM

I would like to have non-ethanol prices posted

[Edited by: SHEP20715 at 3/5/2013 3:54:49 AM EST]
Post a reply Back to Topics