Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    12:21 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Voting poll discussion > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Member Poll: New search prototype Back to Topics
JT

Moderator
Message Posted: Dec 21, 2009 6:55:07 PM

We are testing a new/alternate gas price search control. Do you like the new search control?

In an effort to try to improve the search, we've come up with a working protype of our search form. Instead of having the larger advanced search for gas prices, we've condensed the section down, and are displaying by default. We'd love to hear your input on this.

Take a look here: Proposed search form

Please vote in the poll about it: Poll about the new layout
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
J Eric
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:12,258
Points:2,465,935
Joined:Feb 2004
Message Posted: Jul 8, 2014 5:27:26 PM

In order to post prices on an independent (new) station, the site now demands I re-enter all data for that station. This includes geographic coordinates for latitude & longitude. Gimme a break! I don't own a GPS and have no ready means of acquiring that information. And it does not seem to be of importance; an address or intersection will locate the stations just as well.
Profile Pic
EKBLogistics
Rookie Author Gary

Posts:3
Points:5,560
Joined:Nov 2006
Message Posted: Jun 27, 2014 6:56:13 AM

This format can work for me because it gives me the ability to see a variety of station prices in my area...
Profile Pic
2WW5
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:125
Points:442,175
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: May 5, 2014 3:36:51 PM

Yes, I like the new format.
Profile Pic
SBlouch
Champion Author San Antonio

Posts:10,705
Points:2,272,215
Joined:Apr 2007
Message Posted: May 1, 2014 10:35:25 PM

I like the old format and am hoping Gas Buddy isn't getting like facebook which kept making changes just because someone at headquarters decide they had a better idea. I am no longer on facebook.
Profile Pic
Panama19
Champion Author Louisville

Posts:29,945
Points:2,993,210
Joined:Sep 2005
Message Posted: May 1, 2014 9:56:48 PM


I liked the old format.

I will get used to the new format.

Profile Pic
johne1955
Champion Author New Jersey

Posts:1,291
Points:288,095
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: May 1, 2014 6:28:35 PM

OK.
Profile Pic
TAT36
Champion Author Florida

Posts:9,014
Points:1,750,675
Joined:Sep 2009
Message Posted: May 1, 2014 12:44:06 PM

I voted I did not care seems like we have had a pretty good system and I am sure any new one brought in will do as well.
Profile Pic
Gobbles113
Rookie Author Minnesota

Posts:8
Points:235,760
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Mar 13, 2014 12:51:52 PM

Works pretty good. Still work in progress. Patience is the key.
Profile Pic
curiousgeorge
Veteran Author Barrie

Posts:368
Points:605,300
Joined:Oct 2005
Message Posted: Feb 6, 2014 10:10:06 PM

did not notice
Profile Pic
jPnam68
Sophomore Author New Hampshire

Posts:130
Points:229,350
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Jan 26, 2014 9:43:40 AM

I use my smartphone 95+% of the time so it matters not to me.
Profile Pic
wwch99tj
Rookie Author Delaware

Posts:29
Points:297,260
Joined:Sep 2011
Message Posted: Jan 16, 2014 8:19:20 AM

I use the app all 99% of the time
Profile Pic
OaktonFox
Rookie Author Virginia

Posts:4
Points:364,055
Joined:Nov 2012
Message Posted: Dec 11, 2013 6:29:55 PM

It doesn't really affect me. Most of my searches are through my smartphone app.
Profile Pic
HFAJR0034
Champion Author New Mexico

Posts:9,154
Points:1,610,810
Joined:Jul 2009
Message Posted: Nov 19, 2013 9:03:53 AM

can't bring it up.
Profile Pic
SnowPlowingTom
Sophomore Author Pennsylvania

Posts:177
Points:51,640
Joined:Dec 2011
Message Posted: Nov 19, 2013 6:01:44 AM

Does NOT come up.
HTTP Error 404. The requested resource is not found.
Profile Pic
Lowergasman
Champion Author Fort Worth

Posts:4,641
Points:1,460,070
Joined:Jan 2010
Message Posted: Nov 14, 2013 8:44:39 PM

doesnt matter
Profile Pic
Mikew501
Rookie Author Illinois

Posts:25
Points:28,125
Joined:Nov 2013
Message Posted: Nov 6, 2013 6:34:12 PM

works just fine thank you
Profile Pic
0848Marine
All-Star Author Dallas

Posts:528
Points:204,345
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 29, 2013 9:46:12 AM

It works ok for me
Profile Pic
Claruth
Rookie Author Texas

Posts:65
Points:8,745
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 21, 2013 5:24:28 PM

it really doesn't matter to me.
Profile Pic
tac109698
Veteran Author Sarasota

Posts:466
Points:245,815
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: Oct 16, 2013 4:21:01 PM

A dozen tries and all I got was the various error messages.
Profile Pic
Claruth
Rookie Author Texas

Posts:65
Points:8,745
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 12, 2013 10:57:58 PM

Yes, I like the new search control, this way I can keep up with the lowest prices and refer a friend.
Profile Pic
kerberalt
Rookie Author Fort Worth

Posts:63
Points:403,320
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Oct 3, 2013 11:57:55 PM

always room for improvement
Profile Pic
Green_Heron
Rookie Author Minnesota

Posts:21
Points:122,305
Joined:Sep 2013
Message Posted: Sep 24, 2013 10:46:49 AM

Is this still a current question???
Profile Pic
Oachita
Rookie Author Wichita

Posts:7
Points:15,690
Joined:Aug 2013
Message Posted: Aug 26, 2013 12:15:19 PM

Everyone should quit being troubled by the error codes that appear. These happen on a test presentation because certain scripts are running that aren't tied into data yet. Forget them. Look below them.

I like it in part. As the default, I like the smaller footprint, assuming that the Member Favorites will still show directly below it. Less scrolling to get to the easy multiple reporting through the Favorites display.

However, I also like to see the multiple Highest prices. When searching through the advanced search, the Highest prices aren't available. So, with this new footprint, if the search results are displayed as they are now, we will lose all Highest awareness except for the one in this new display.

Can you add a "Lowest/Highest" option in the advanced search, to overcome this? Alternatively, could you have an "Expand" button that simply brings back this current listing of Lowest and Highest? If either of these, then I'd vote for the new look. If not, I'd vote for the current.
Profile Pic
WmDOUTIS1
Rookie Author Salt Lake City

Posts:5
Points:29,530
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: Aug 24, 2013 5:00:21 AM

I'm not in understanding with this.
Profile Pic
datsundriver
Champion Author Houston

Posts:9,954
Points:1,253,690
Joined:Feb 2008
Message Posted: Aug 3, 2013 4:21:05 PM

not able to log in to see if there re any changes. the "unlogged" version says there are no reported prices in my area in the last 72 hours.
.
.
you seem to be fixing something that is not broken, just like having people post ridiculous prices that require a loyalty card, 20 gallon minimum purchase, and cash to obtain.
Profile Pic
OilCanJ
Rookie Author New York

Posts:2
Points:39,215
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Jul 31, 2013 7:50:40 AM

I think that Stationed identified as not carrying diesel should have that portion grayed out. I have been scammed several times looking for Ghost Gas.
Profile Pic
Pen2013
Rookie Author Detroit

Posts:9
Points:278,285
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Jul 15, 2013 12:31:27 AM

This is what I get. So I would have to say NO I do not like the new search control~

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 684e684b-5539-454f-99d6-73757421f425

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 19fb514a-5409-49a9-b369-1ff97c55ac67

Please email us HERE
Profile Pic
OaktonFox
Rookie Author Virginia

Posts:4
Points:364,055
Joined:Nov 2012
Message Posted: Jun 27, 2013 7:57:54 PM

Does not seem to work. Got the following error messages:

"An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: ff12a001-3731-4440-bda9-aa784b613f8b

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: d9bfd660-8224-4e58-a1a5-bcaaf443858e

Please email us HERE"
Profile Pic
ronbo2010
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:3,803
Points:443,670
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: May 4, 2013 4:02:37 PM

If you are filtering search to narrow choices, can you add a function to expand search?
Profile Pic
gassprite
Champion Author Toms River

Posts:3,241
Points:578,040
Joined:Apr 2012
Message Posted: Apr 18, 2013 9:00:49 PM

I use the mobile app to get gas prices. But when I tried to get to the search page from the poll page I got the following error messages.
An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 97ebe96c-e0f9-43a8-bd11-dbd4fd323977

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 00572cdb-bbb3-4151-8791-03e789f5a4fd

Please email us HERE

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 494d1eff-addf-4399-ad92-e449f1231dee

Please email us HERE
Profile Pic
In_due_season
Rookie Author Houston

Posts:7
Points:2,050
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Apr 10, 2013 6:17:07 PM

I don't see much of a difference.
Profile Pic
9chevy04
Rookie Author Massachusetts

Posts:24
Points:865
Joined:Mar 2013
Message Posted: Apr 9, 2013 8:37:44 AM

like
Profile Pic
mccosme
Rookie Author Tacoma

Posts:7
Points:326,390
Joined:Mar 2008
Message Posted: Apr 5, 2013 10:47:11 AM

other than the errors, I don't see much difference from what we already have.
Profile Pic
gas_phil
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:6,170
Points:555,220
Joined:Aug 2012
Message Posted: Apr 5, 2013 1:59:28 AM

Not sure what happened.. it says...
The ERROR ID is: 2a746580-7058-45db-af2a-20bafce91ab5
The ERROR ID is: 9e5d150f-0cba-4b58-93a3-1c774ac887c9
The ERROR ID is: c27ec78f-45ee-4e8a-894f-a879f2941f66
(IE10, W7Px64)
Profile Pic
sf_franck
Rookie Author San Francisco

Posts:1
Points:172,220
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 5:17:04 PM

Link goes to http://66.70.86.248/index.aspx and returns on top of the page:

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 449706bd-b6a2-4790-a1a4-4abb98bf99ca
The ERROR ID is: bbe81d7f-8c50-4f19-83c0-f01ce787978e
The ERROR ID is: 3afb815f-c9c7-4a59-8847-4d53b65df84c
Profile Pic
dwood35242
All-Star Author Birmingham

Posts:592
Points:170,875
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Apr 1, 2013 9:28:28 PM

Just got error messages. Would like E0 prices; also way to show station out of gas instead of having to post a price. Often see old prices listed at the station but they are really out of gas and haven't updated the price - maybe hoping to get customers hoping for cheap gas that will stop in and buy junk food or drinks.....
Profile Pic
coffeebrake1015
Champion Author Florida

Posts:1,566
Points:614,010
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Mar 29, 2013 2:27:30 PM

I like things the way they are thank you.
Profile Pic
drnick48
Rookie Author Georgia

Posts:1
Points:56,920
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Mar 19, 2013 6:16:55 AM

And what do the data suggest?? (raised eyebrow) . . . . Time, energy, effort, investment spent in an area that doesn't generate an appropriate ROI?
Profile Pic
allicat11
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:1,154
Points:253,440
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Mar 18, 2013 8:20:22 AM

Like it!
Profile Pic
NorthByNw
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:2,727
Points:661,620
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Mar 9, 2013 9:12:37 PM

Link doesn't work, received 4 error messages
Profile Pic
beachd8
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:1,285
Points:220,895
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Mar 7, 2013 9:13:15 AM

The link to see the proposed changes doesn't work. Ergo no comment on the changes.
Profile Pic
SHEP20715
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:10,648
Points:2,167,295
Joined:Nov 2007
Message Posted: Mar 5, 2013 3:54:40 AM

I would like to have non-ethanol prices posted

[Edited by: SHEP20715 at 3/5/2013 3:54:49 AM EST]
Profile Pic
alewoo
Rookie Author Kentucky

Posts:58
Points:99,725
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Mar 5, 2013 3:29:58 AM

I would like to see the nearest gas station like I do when I'm using my app. I would also like to see gas prices that need to be filled in that shows up on my app as well.
I would like to be able to leave a comment about the fuel station instead of having to add a price.
I would like to see the mileage from my local zip to the lowest gas price.

if you can do these things, I like things the way they are.
Profile Pic
thrtyrs
All-Star Author Maine

Posts:603
Points:666,710
Joined:Oct 2008
Message Posted: Mar 1, 2013 5:08:50 PM

If there could be added a spot for 93 Octane, this would be great!!!
Profile Pic
HamRadioN4SMB
Rookie Author North Carolina

Posts:23
Points:23,715
Joined:Jan 2013
Message Posted: Feb 23, 2013 5:05:39 PM

I clicked on your link: "Proposed search form" and received three error messages:

1st ERROR ID is: 000d5985-494e-4e33-a6ea-b4f6babf367b

2nd ERROR ID is: 34fbf7a3-5c79-4f47-858d-5d70c71a477d

3rd ERROR ID is: 7522a31d-95af-4425-be4e-1554344aa217

I gave up; it's not working properly.

[Edited by: HamRadioN4SMB at 2/23/2013 5:08:27 PM EST]
Profile Pic
debonairpilot
Rookie Author Tampa

Posts:19
Points:1,220
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Feb 15, 2013 5:08:42 PM

I would REALLY LIKE posted prices of any gas stations selling NON ETHANOL FUEL!!!
Profile Pic
debonairpilot
Rookie Author Tampa

Posts:19
Points:1,220
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Feb 15, 2013 5:05:40 PM

An error has occurred. Please let us know what you were doing, and what happened when this error occurred.
The ERROR ID is: 3a14bc0a-7667-4853-9951-35917c5abf10

Profile Pic
nicven
All-Star Author Virginia Beach

Posts:924
Points:431,910
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Feb 12, 2013 6:43:49 PM

i got an error message
Profile Pic
appleNY
Champion Author Long Island

Posts:1,481
Points:182,765
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Jan 23, 2013 10:18:50 AM

I'm not sure. I tryed to enter a new gas station but it asked me for a cross street and it was dark outside and I could not enter the new station. They just opened for business.
Profile Pic
shootdatthing
Rookie Author Durham

Posts:2
Points:6,840
Joined:Sep 2012
Message Posted: Jan 22, 2013 1:03:45 AM

i got an error message
Post a reply Back to Topics