Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    5:28 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Suggest a GasBuddy improvement > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Diesel prices at stations with NO diesel pumps Back to Topics
Drahtlose

Champion Author
Philadelphia

Posts:4,388
Points:1,169,885
Joined:Mar 2008
Message Posted: Jun 13, 2014 9:02:34 AM

Is there any way to stop the posting of Diesel prices at stations without Diesel pumps?

I used to zero them out, but now I can't, so they are cluttering your results.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,086
Points:2,866,925
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Jul 6, 2014 11:58:50 AM

Got to get the last word somehow.
Profile Pic
Byte_Doctor
Champion Author Akron

Posts:6,345
Points:1,229,290
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Jul 6, 2014 8:32:29 AM

A week later, the former scoutmaster posts: "What other post?"

Sigh. Further reinforcing my comment in another thread:
"you can't let anything go and keep at it and keep at it,"

10101011 10010111 10011110 10010001 10010100 11011111 10000110 10010000
10001010 11011111 10011001 10010000 10001101 11011111 10001111 10010011
10011110 10000110 10010110 10010001 10011000 11010011 11011111 10011001
10010000 10001101 10010010 10011010 10001101 11011111 10001100 10011100
10010000 10001010 10001011 10010010 10011110 10001100 10001011 10011010
10001101 11011110
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jul 6, 2014 6:26:26 AM

Diesel prices are still being posted for the GetGo in Robinson. Diesel is not checked for this station in the MSL.

"I was referring to the other post, as you well know."

What other post?

LQQGAS,
When you zero out a price, it zero's it on the Android app (I'm not sure about the iPhone app) but not the full site.
Profile Pic
LQQKGAS
Champion Author Phoenix

Posts:4,923
Points:1,694,775
Joined:Oct 2009
Message Posted: Jul 1, 2014 10:46:39 AM


When is Zero going to be fixed?
Profile Pic
Byte_Doctor
Champion Author Akron

Posts:6,345
Points:1,229,290
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Jun 30, 2014 9:28:30 AM

I was referring to the other post, as you well know. Stop trying to play the victim, scoutmaster. That's a typical tactic of bullies once they are challenged.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 30, 2014 8:36:31 AM

"Well, Byte_Doctor, according to the way the apps are suppose to work, posting prices for a grade not checked in the MSL should not be possible but it appears there are some glitches. The GetGo in Robinson being one and someone posted another GetGo where this is happening in another topic. I was pointing out the glitch I have experienced."

That's the entire post. Now would you please stop trying to find fault with what I post and try to be helpful?
Profile Pic
Byte_Doctor
Champion Author Akron

Posts:6,345
Points:1,229,290
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Jun 30, 2014 8:21:08 AM

"Trying to pick a fight by picking one line out of my post I see Byte_Doctor."

scoutmaster, that was your entire post. No cherry picking. It is there for all the world to see.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 30, 2014 8:06:39 AM

Trying to pick a fight by picking one line out of my post I see Byte_Doctor. You really need to stop. This really says volumes about you. I'm not playing.

I noticed that when you submit prices on the Android version, there is an option to ass a grade. I did this while on the road as a passenger yesterday. A station had a diesel price posted and there was no option for diesel so I added a grade and posted it. It took. I'm wondering if this option on the app?
Profile Pic
Byte_Doctor
Champion Author Akron

Posts:6,345
Points:1,229,290
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Jun 29, 2014 9:21:41 PM

scoutmaster "I was pointing out the glitch I have experienced. "

Really? Then why not just say that, instead of replying to cupboy in a way that appears to challenge his post?

cupboy: "It would be easy to disable the diesel price entry based on the data in the master station list. Real easy. "

scoutmaster: "Well, cupboy, the GetGo in Robinson doesn't have diesel checked but people are still posting diesel prices to it."
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,036
Points:746,175
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jun 29, 2014 6:28:32 PM

The problem may relate to who has what version of the app. Apparently the Android (at least) did not update for some still very prevalent versions of Android. Does anyone know what versions are available of the app for what versions of Android and what differences? I just now decided that things looked stable enough to update GB myself so I haven't checked out all the new features as far as the MSL.

So, the limiting based on MSL may only work on the newer versions...???
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 29, 2014 2:01:37 PM

Well, Byte_Doctor, according to the way the apps are suppose to work, posting prices for a grade not checked in the MSL should not be possible but it appears there are some glitches. The GetGo in Robinson being one and someone posted another GetGo where this is happening in another topic. I was pointing out the glitch I have experienced.
Profile Pic
Byte_Doctor
Champion Author Akron

Posts:6,345
Points:1,229,290
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Jun 29, 2014 8:25:09 AM

Well, scoutmaster, cupboy wasn't saying it wasn't possible to post diesel prices to stations that don't have diesel checked. He was saying it would be easy (in his opinion) to disable diesel price entry based on the data in the MSL.
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:7,165
Points:1,150,330
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Jun 29, 2014 7:48:22 AM

I found a duplicate MSL for a station with a different address that still had this problem after the 4.2.2 update.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 29, 2014 7:39:52 AM

Well, cupboy, the GetGo in Robinson doesn't have diesel checked but people are still posting diesel prices to it.
Profile Pic
cupboy
Champion Author Salt Lake City

Posts:4,208
Points:1,595,230
Joined:Nov 2005
Message Posted: Jun 28, 2014 9:24:40 PM

It would be easy to disable the diesel price entry based on the data in the master station list. Real easy.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 27, 2014 11:04:16 AM

HoneyBrook,

I have the same thing in my area for one station - a GetGo in Robinson.

[Edited by: scoutmaster at 6/27/2014 11:04:29 AM EST]
Profile Pic
HoneyBrook
All-Star Author Pennsylvania

Posts:851
Points:1,988,370
Joined:Nov 2004
Message Posted: Jun 27, 2014 10:44:29 AM

The updated app is a step in the right direction but still a long way to go. Still 3 different people in the past 4 hours have incorrectly posted a diesel price at the one station that has kerosene (not diesel). And I still can't zero those incorrect posts.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 25, 2014 9:11:58 PM

If the station shows up on the price board, yes. On the maps and in my FSL, no.
Profile Pic
bimmergary
Sophomore Author Virginia

Posts:130
Points:637,015
Joined:Mar 2009
Message Posted: Jun 25, 2014 8:20:56 PM

Aren't you getting only the selected grades after update as described here?
http://www.virginiagasprices.com/Forum_MSG.aspx?master=1&category=1055&topic=576912&page_no=1&FAV=N
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 25, 2014 2:40:33 PM

It didn't eliminate the ability to post diesel prices when the station doesn't carry it.
Profile Pic
bimmergary
Sophomore Author Virginia

Posts:130
Points:637,015
Joined:Mar 2009
Message Posted: Jun 25, 2014 11:36:21 AM

You mean GB 4.2.2 which this morning eliminated showing non-existent grades like diesel; there is a request function to add missing grades.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 25, 2014 6:16:01 AM

The newest upgrade for Android phones. 4.4.2 aka Kit Kat is being rolled out. I heard someone state that this fixed the issue with posting grades a station doesn't carry. I have upgraded my phone to this version and you can still post prices for any grade for any station. Nor should anyone expect this OS upgrade to fix that issue. Gas Buddy will need to fix it on the app.
Profile Pic
GrumpyCat
Champion Author Alabama

Posts:5,099
Points:1,190,445
Joined:Jun 2009
Message Posted: Jun 20, 2014 2:58:36 PM

Same here. In the past one had to drill down to the exact station and product which resulted in a page where only diesel could be entered. Same process now lists all products. Zeroing results in a message stating a newer price has been posted but thank you, points will accrue. Well, at least part of the old system is still working because no points were expected for zeroing a price, and none are issued.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,036
Points:746,175
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jun 19, 2014 9:26:10 PM

Camp -- from Scout:

I got this from the moderators about zeroing out prices.

Hello scoutmaster,

I have forwarded this feedback along to our development team for review to be fixed, they're aware of the problem and it should corrected in the near future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Regards,

Ryan (RD)
GasBuddy.com
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,570
Points:1,980,570
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jun 19, 2014 2:13:03 PM

I reported a mid-grade price for a local Costco (which never sells that grade) and then tried to zero it. I got the "...newer price...." msg and the price did not zero. With no mid being sold, the odds of a newer price report existing seconds later is nil, so I regard that as a system fault. I also tried to zero another member's price for mid at another Costco with the same results.

Now the question is did GBO turn off zeroing intentionally while working the cash & credit upgrade, or forever or is it merely broken. I am going to PM a mod and see if I can find out.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 19, 2014 1:58:28 PM

I got this from the moderators about zeroing out prices.

Hello scoutmaster,

I have forwarded this feedback along to our development team for review to be fixed, they're aware of the problem and it should corrected in the near future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Regards,

Ryan (RD)
GasBuddy.com
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,570
Points:1,980,570
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jun 19, 2014 1:44:15 PM

Could it be that when you tried to zero out a price (which is just a price report of $0.00), you used a Time Spotted that was earlier than the T.S. of the incorrect price? That would have generated the "...newer price...." message. If not, what T.S. did you use in relation to both the last price reported and the current time. Maybe we can figure this out.

Meanwhile I am going to do a test to see if I can still zero out and report back.
Profile Pic
FarmTech
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:14,623
Points:2,776,585
Joined:May 2006
Message Posted: Jun 19, 2014 6:14:17 AM

I agree with HoneyBrook on the Zeroing Out of BOTH Non-Existent Fuel Prices and Incorrect Prices. It can no longer be done and the cryptic message is pure B.S.

For many years, my colleagues and I would report the users that were continually abusing GB by posting Non-Existent Fuel Grades and falsely reporting stations selling Diesel Fuel. They were falsely reporting stations selling Diesel that did not even post prices or have Diesel Fuel pumps. Those same stations also did not stock or sell kerosene. It appeared that some members only wanted points, while it was alleged others wanted to post Non-Existent Diesel prices just to confound those that rely on Diesel Fuel.

After messaging GB about these practices, they basically gave us an Upright Raised Middle Finger and in so many words said they did not care. Great. Really Great. They told us that as Senior Members we could simply Zero Out both Non-Existent and Grossly Inaccurate Fuel Prices. That is what we had been doing now for years, just to play their game and provide GB users with correct pricing. We are doing to HELP THEM and GB Users, and now it is just another proverbial "slap in the face" as we can no longer Zero Out those prices.

FYI: In the FAQs Web page, it still instructs users how they can update or zero out inaccurate prices, but it does not work.

In addition, here is another thing we noticed. Say that most stations are selling Premium for between $3.85 to $3.99 a gallon in an area. You have a Discount Retailer, like WaWa or Sheetz, that is selling it for around $3.78 a gallon. When you go to enter $3.78 for Premium, you get this Pop-Up (GUI) Message that says: "$3.78 seems high. Are you sure this is correct??" It just does not make sense. You are entering a price that is BELOW Average for Premium in the entire area -- by GB's own price averages -- and they are asking you why the LOW price seems high.

I think GB has really screwed up their entire Pricing part of this once usable Web site. I suggest that all members, who have the time, start sending messages to GB under the Category "Web Site Error" -- because that is what they are.

[Edited by: FarmTech at 6/19/2014 6:19:09 AM EST]
Profile Pic
HoneyBrook
All-Star Author Pennsylvania

Posts:851
Points:1,988,370
Joined:Nov 2004
Message Posted: Jun 18, 2014 7:06:25 PM

I'm interested in both questions.

The original question of preventing people from posting prices for fuels not available at that station. It sounds like it is in the works and hope it is soon as scoutmaster says.

The 2nd question in the meantime, how do you zero out prices now? The full website won't allow me to do so anymore since they changed some things. Am I missing something? All I get now is: "** There has already been a newer price reported for this station and fuel type. You have still received points for this posting. This price will not be updated on the website." Are others able to zero out prices now and how is it done?

Sheetz stations in particular around here sometimes have kerosene prices on the sign and many people mistakenly post it as a diesel price when there is NO diesel fuel at that station.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,570
Points:1,980,570
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jun 13, 2014 4:25:42 PM

Are you making a suggestion or merely asking a question?

Why can't you any longer zero out prices? If you were using the MGP map to do it, that is no longer available, but it can still be done on the full site by clicking the offending price in a price search result or the lists of the highest or lowest price lists of the home page.
Profile Pic
sirreal1984
All-Star Author Indianapolis

Posts:671
Points:824,785
Joined:Sep 2011
Message Posted: Jun 13, 2014 12:51:41 PM

You can deselect diesel from the station features, but it won't remove the option to enter a diesel price.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jun 13, 2014 10:31:56 AM

The powers that be are working on it. No idea when this will happen but the sooner the better.
Post a reply Back to Topics