Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    3:39 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Suggest a GasBuddy improvement > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: FSL - Back to Topics
TxJeans

Champion Author
Tampa

Posts:6,142
Points:636,475
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jan 11, 2014 8:44:57 AM

All of SomeNumbSkull's posts and discussion of everything he doesn't like about this site brought to mind one problem I have with the FSL.
If you want to see the station from the FSL and click on the station name, it pulls a list of stations of that brand that have current prices. If the station is not current, it is not on the list according to the look back hours. It would be nice to have the MAP link to link out to the MAP in the show all mode to be able to see the station.
Also, the "custom" station details for the enrolled stations should have to include ALL pertinent data such as the new feature codes like cash/credit. :-)

Lower priority than a DURABLE FLAG for dual stations and grade fields tied to the MSL. :-)

Not a complaint, just a suggestion. Or maybe one of the others like Scrap,Scout,Bytes, Rich...(all the usual crowd here) can tell me the best workaround from their experiences.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:6,142
Points:636,475
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jan 17, 2014 7:21:19 PM

@pghbill - I use Android when using my SP and I still like using my FSL. To each his own. The linking on the Website still makes no sense regardless of the APP. The link to the list of same branded stations does nothing useful for me.
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,230
Points:976,355
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Jan 15, 2014 10:43:02 AM

I only use the FSL on the app for a quick look at stations along my travel route. Some of these can be 50-75 miles distant.

I use the FSL on the full web site much less, and usually only under the circumstances, like TXJeans mentioned, when it is more feasible and safe to enter prices from a PC than it is from a phone.

At any rate, the question here was with regard to accessing a station existing on the FSL from the full website and not from the app. In this case, the resultant link to a list of station brands is essentially useless.

RG
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:6,142
Points:636,475
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jan 15, 2014 6:53:54 AM

This is about how the FSL works on the web site.
I have stopped using my SP to post most of the time because the route I take does not allow safe posting unless I stop for gas or stop for something other than a stop light or traffic. I put safety first. I am tired of sitting at a stop light and having to wait for those at the front of the line to finish their texting or gas posting.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,264
Points:3,591,370
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 15, 2014 6:16:02 AM

You can post from your FSL on an Android device.
Profile Pic
pghbill
All-Star Author Pittsburgh

Posts:965
Points:764,685
Joined:Jul 2005
Message Posted: Jan 15, 2014 12:16:20 AM

using a smart phone eliminates the need for a fsl list
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,264
Points:3,591,370
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 14, 2014 6:51:47 AM

I kinda like that feature, jrsva. It would be nice if the map link was on our FSL.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:11,698
Points:1,951,100
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Jan 13, 2014 1:01:53 PM

I see no merit whatever in the way the station link currently works in my FSL. If I have an Exxon station in my FSL and click on the word “Exxon” it brings up a list of all reported prices for Exxon stations statewide. Who the heck wants that feature? And if you do it is easy to get in the Search Gas Prices section. The station link in the FSL should work the same way as the station link in any price table — it should bring up data for that one station. Mods — please fix this!!!

Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:6,142
Points:636,475
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jan 11, 2014 11:10:49 AM

Scout - Ah, yes, just realized that while addressing the matched/unmatched/changed. It didn't register immediately.

Rich - I agree. Not holding my breath. To me the durable flag is far more important.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,264
Points:3,591,370
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 11, 2014 11:06:25 AM

Got one!

In your FSL, click on Matched. This will bring up a list of "Suggested Matches". Click on Map for the station you want.
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,230
Points:976,355
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Jan 11, 2014 9:10:55 AM

At first I didn't understand what you meant, since the app functions differently than here on the full web site.

If you select the station from your FSL in the app, it opens the station, displays a photo of the station if one exists, current prices, etc. Selecting the directions button allows you to see the location of the station on the map with respect to your current location. It sounds like this is what you'd like to see happen on the full web site as well?

I guess I've never selected a station on my FSL from the full web site with the anticipation of being directed to it, but sure would agree that the outcome of doing so at present seems fruitless. The link as it is programmed on the full site seems to be to a list of the station brand. Selecting this gets you no closer to opening the station of interest found in your FSL.

Maybe someone else here can provide insight as to why this link currently functioning as it does is useful in any way, but it seems like a valid and appropriate suggestion/request to me.

RG

P.S. Good luck making the hit parade with this one.

[Edited by: RichWLIN at 1/11/2014 9:10:53 AM EST]
Post a reply Back to Topics