Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    10:32 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Suggest a GasBuddy improvement > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Posting Price When Product is Not Sold at Station Back to Topics
TNT2EC

Champion Author
Wisconsin

Posts:7,216
Points:2,049,020
Joined:Oct 2008
Message Posted: Aug 2, 2013 7:38:19 PM

I really wish we could block posting prices at stations that do not sell the product. This information for each station's products are all in the Master Station List. Please block price input for any product not checked in the Master Station List. This has been a problem since I joined over five years and we still have people posting for points on products that are not for sale.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
maxstar
Champion Author Chicago

Posts:21,995
Points:1,415,400
Joined:Feb 2011
Message Posted: Nov 28, 2013 2:06:23 PM

The previous one word repose "Hi" that has now been deleted.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,226
Points:3,857,240
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Nov 28, 2013 1:55:32 PM

What abuse?
Profile Pic
maxstar
Champion Author Chicago

Posts:21,995
Points:1,415,400
Joined:Feb 2011
Message Posted: Nov 28, 2013 12:11:32 PM

Abuse Reported.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,246
Points:4,280,305
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Nov 25, 2013 12:12:28 AM

LarryMarg writes,
> I used the zip code listed in the MSL, so I would think it should have been found.

Unfortunately, that's not how the ZIP search works. Best to just not use it, unless you really are searching for something where you don't know the city but do know the ZIP.

> I'm encouraging them to change their minds again.

I won't argue against that. I don't have a strong opinion either way, but I'll probably have occasion to make use of it if it does get re-implemented.
Profile Pic
LarryMarg
Champion Author New York

Posts:2,537
Points:593,175
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Nov 24, 2013 11:34:37 PM

kwzh - I'm encouraging them to change their minds again. :-)
Profile Pic
LarryMarg
Champion Author New York

Posts:2,537
Points:593,175
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Nov 24, 2013 11:34:05 PM

scoutmaster - I used the zip code listed in the MSL, so I would think it should have been found. The town wasn't shown in the "Areas" list shown when I clicked "Show Search Options", and when I manually entered it into "Other Area" and clicked "Search Gas Prices", I got "No current gas prices reported."

Also, the station (Valero) wasn't listed under "Stations", so I couldn't filter that way.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,385
Points:2,959,940
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Nov 24, 2013 8:29:34 AM

The reason given for removing the zero by map capability was to reduce abuse. They should have dealt with the people abusing the feature by banning them instead of taking the capability away from all of us and asking us to go through greater gyrations to maintain the integrity of their site.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,226
Points:3,857,240
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Nov 24, 2013 6:40:10 AM

Don't search by zip code LarryMarg. Search by area. It is more accurate.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,246
Points:4,280,305
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Nov 23, 2013 11:47:48 PM

Since it was temporarily possible to zero out prices using the map, and then that feature went away, perhaps it's safe to assume that they've decided against allowing it.
Profile Pic
LarryMarg
Champion Author New York

Posts:2,537
Points:593,175
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Nov 23, 2013 1:09:39 PM

Don,

I'm anxiously awaiting the change to link the price entry to the MSL. If that's not coming for a while, it seems it would be a simple change to allow zeroing prices from the map entry.

As I posted below (Nov 8, 2013 12:11:34 AM), you can have prices showing up on the map which aren't displayed in the "Search Gas Prices" list. kwzh posted a work-around (Nov 8, 2013 12:31:39 AM), but when I did that recently, it was harder then it seemed, because even after entering a dummy price, the station in question didn't show up when I did a search by zip code, so I had to play games before I could get it to display in the "Search Gas Prices" list so I could finally zero it out.
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: Nov 22, 2013 12:03:51 PM

Until some significant changes are made to the entire site and app price intake/display, for the time being, if you see an inaccurate price on the website, please delete the price using the "zero out" method, or report the user for posting inaccurately via feedback (there's no harm in doing both).

-Don
Profile Pic
jimbeaux53
Champion Author Kansas City

Posts:7,798
Points:1,568,385
Joined:Aug 2010
Message Posted: Nov 22, 2013 7:28:04 AM

A point of clarification:

It has been well documented that zeroing out bogus prices has been a moving target on the Gas Buddy user interface and has never existed on the mobile app interfaces.

[Edited by: jimbeaux53 at 11/22/2013 7:27:50 AM EST]
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,226
Points:3,857,240
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Nov 22, 2013 6:52:36 AM

Well zippy3231, you have the ability to zero out those wrong prices and report them to the moderators. Doing that will help to end this problem.
Profile Pic
zippy3231
Champion Author Jacksonville

Posts:2,122
Points:828,910
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Nov 22, 2013 5:08:20 AM

I have a problem with Folks reporting wrong prices or not even checking prices and just putting in what the ast person di!
Profile Pic
LarryMarg
Champion Author New York

Posts:2,537
Points:593,175
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Nov 20, 2013 1:09:47 AM

zippy3231 - click on Help / FAQ.

See:
Some other member is listing wrong information! What can I do about it? (although some of that is out-dated; you can now write on someone's whiteboard), and
How can I correct a price listing?
Profile Pic
zippy3231
Champion Author Jacksonville

Posts:2,122
Points:828,910
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Nov 19, 2013 5:07:12 AM

I see this often. There are alot of Folks reporting incorrect prices and stating a station sells Diesel when they do not! How does one get these people off the site?
Profile Pic
jimbeaux53
Champion Author Kansas City

Posts:7,798
Points:1,568,385
Joined:Aug 2010
Message Posted: Nov 10, 2013 4:42:49 AM

Does it have to be said . . . again. There is abuse already occurring in the form of incorrect posting of prices for product that is not sold a numerous stations.

The GB community has proven over time that it has the ability to correctly maintain prices even though incorrect prices may from time to time be posted. Seems like the same mechanisms should work for clearing prices for product not sold at a given station.
Profile Pic
LarryMarg
Champion Author New York

Posts:2,537
Points:593,175
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Nov 10, 2013 12:15:50 AM

Thanks, kwzh.
Profile Pic
jerry972
Champion Author Denver

Posts:7,883
Points:1,857,990
Joined:May 2008
Message Posted: Nov 9, 2013 2:57:05 PM

While the ability to delete prices may have been removed to prevent some sort of abuse, one should have the ability to correct or remove one's own posts. (I have having a tough time imagining an abuse scenario where you are ostensibly correcting your own mistakes).
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,246
Points:4,280,305
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Nov 8, 2013 12:31:39 AM

LarryMarg writes,
> with no way to clear it

The workaround is to first repost the old-but-wrong price, so that it will carry a newer timestamp; when you do this, you should probably use a comment like "refresh in preparation for immediate delete". Then you should be able to delete it by the usual method (search feature on main Web site), with the usual comment like "this station does not sell diesel".
Profile Pic
LarryMarg
Champion Author New York

Posts:2,537
Points:593,175
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Nov 8, 2013 12:11:34 AM

"the ability to zero prices was purposely removed from the web site map. Ostensibly this was to prevent abuse of some sort?"

If so, that strikes me as pretty stupid. I've zero'd out prices a few times, and it's really a pain. And in some cases, it may not even be possible, since the "Search Gas Prices" options only let you search for prices a maximum of 24 hours old, whereas the map will let you go up to 96 hours. So the bad price could be out there for 3 days with no way to clear it.

I've seen others post that it's important that GasBuddy maintain credibility of its prices. Making it harder to make corrections doesn't seem to be in the best interest of the site.
Profile Pic
cnygas
Champion Author New York

Posts:1,145
Points:253,735
Joined:Sep 2013
Message Posted: Nov 4, 2013 10:32:09 AM

I will agree with this idea. One of the Sunoco stations near my home has four grades of gasoline but no diesel fuel. I once entered all four grades and the forth "Ultra Premium" I accidentally put under Diesel.
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:7,542
Points:1,244,355
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Nov 4, 2013 8:51:52 AM

Somewhere in the myriad of forum posts I'm pretty sure that I read a post by or quoting a moderator allowing as how the ability to zero prices was purposely removed from the web site map. Ostensibly this was to prevent abuse of some sort?

I might be wrong, but don't have the patience to look for it so please feel free to correct me if necessary.

At the time, I thought this seemed unlikely. Why woud someone abuse the site by zeroing prices in the first place, and if so why do so from the map? It just doesn't add up.

The ability to zero prices from the app would help right now while the development team is developing the MSL fixes as promised.

RG
Profile Pic
jimbeaux53
Champion Author Kansas City

Posts:7,798
Points:1,568,385
Joined:Aug 2010
Message Posted: Nov 4, 2013 6:49:04 AM

kwzh writes:
"I get the feeling that the GasBuddy source code is bloated with code duplication."

I would appear so.

... but I would guess there is code testing for a 0.00 entry and throwing it out. Probably a simple Whatif and Then segment.

[Edited by: jimbeaux53 at 11/4/2013 6:49:47 AM EST]
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,246
Points:4,280,305
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Nov 1, 2013 6:40:21 AM

jimbeaux53 writes,
> Posting 0.00 as a price should be no different than posting any other price.

Well, almost. It needs to delete any previous price without replacing it, and it doesn't earn points (though it once did).

But I'll agree that a modular design would have all the different price-posting methods going through the same code. I get the feeling that the GasBuddy source code is bloated with code duplication.
Profile Pic
jimbeaux53
Champion Author Kansas City

Posts:7,798
Points:1,568,385
Joined:Aug 2010
Message Posted: Nov 1, 2013 4:45:52 AM

Posting 0.00 as a price should be no different than posting any other price. Why the website and mobile apps can't do this means there is code in the system blocking this. Should be a simple fix.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,226
Points:3,857,240
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Oct 25, 2013 1:08:23 PM

rspiano,

There have been at least two members on the Pittsburgh site who were reinstated. There are still some banned members as well.
Profile Pic
rspiano
Champion Author Tucson

Posts:11,453
Points:2,405,230
Joined:May 2008
Message Posted: Oct 25, 2013 11:59:06 AM

Scout and mohr, I have seen at least seven members banned, including the current #7 on the Tucson site, who has not earned one point in the last several years. If you click on a banned member's profile, you get the message "We're Sorry. We can not find member profile '(member's name)'".

One favorite of mine was a member from San Antonio who appeared one day and reposted literally hundreds of prices. I emailed the moderators the first day; this person posted another 100 or so prices the second day, I emailed the mods again. On the third day, after seeing his/her name on another ~150 posts and another email to the moderator, this member was banned.
Profile Pic
GrumpyCat
Champion Author Alabama

Posts:5,392
Points:1,269,585
Joined:Jun 2009
Message Posted: Oct 25, 2013 10:31:24 AM

Speaking of zeroing errant prices, apparently the maps are drawn from different parameters in the database than other searches. This Shell station does not have diesel. This week it has been showing a price of $3.869 since Monday at 1:11 AM. I've tried to clear it using proven techniques. Its cleared in other views but not this one:

Shell, station ID 41259
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,246
Points:4,280,305
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Oct 24, 2013 12:11:24 PM

mohrorless writes,
> I even suggested they modify the app to not allow posting of grades of gas that a station does not sell.

As have many other people. That fix (for both app and Web site, I guess) is somewhere in the pipeline, but the pipeline is slow.

Continue to report the offenders. Don't assume that failure to see any results at your end means that you've been ignored.
Profile Pic
mohrorless
Champion Author New York

Posts:1,170
Points:1,130,940
Joined:Sep 2005
Message Posted: Oct 24, 2013 6:16:51 AM

I hate to say it Scoutmaster, but I have to agree with you... :(
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,226
Points:3,857,240
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Oct 23, 2013 6:36:04 AM

Apparently the mods are just talking the talk when they claim "three strikes and you are out" and not walking the walk.
Profile Pic
mohrorless
Champion Author New York

Posts:1,170
Points:1,130,940
Joined:Sep 2005
Message Posted: Oct 23, 2013 6:18:10 AM

I've got that problem in my neighborhood! The same diesel price has been posted at a station for months. It has been unchanged for the whole time, even with the other grades of gas going up and down.

I try to clear it, I report the offenders. Heck I even suggested they modify the app to not allow posting of grades of gas that a station does not sell.

I am basically getting patted on the head by the mods and the offenders continue on their merry way...

Makes me question if I can rely on the gas prices here when I travel...
Profile Pic
GrumpyCat
Champion Author Alabama

Posts:5,392
Points:1,269,585
Joined:Jun 2009
Message Posted: Oct 18, 2013 10:23:10 AM

You guys know on the website (but not mobile) there is a way to zero a price?

There are 4 or 5 ways to post a price here but only one will zero. The only way I've found to get there is to search for high/low prices on the home page and hope the station shows in that list. If diesel then you have to select the diesel column because when the price entry/edit box appears only the one grade will be enabled for editing. This is an example of a station which does not have diesel:

http://www.huntsvillegasprices.com/update_form.aspx?pid=598414080

And the above is the only page I know of where one can zero a price. I just don't know an easy way to get there other than to bookmark it. That one is near me so I bookmark it.

Oh, and GB requests when you zero a price, add a comment. I use "no diesel".

[Edited by: GrumpyCat at 10/18/2013 10:26:33 AM EST]
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,246
Points:4,280,305
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Oct 3, 2013 4:16:13 AM

Trooper207, do you know that you can check the MSL to see whether the station actually has diesel or not? I admit it's a poor workaround, but if I drove a diesel vehicle, I think I'd get into the habit of double checking that way before driving to a station.
Profile Pic
Trooper207
Rookie Author Maryland

Posts:2
Points:625,170
Joined:Jul 2012
Message Posted: Oct 2, 2013 11:06:30 AM

It does get tiring to see the same few people always posting false prices of for example : diesel, when there is no diesel at the station. This really bugs me, because I drive a diesel. If I am in unfamiliar territory, I could end out wasting a bunch of time just because of cheaters trying to earn badges, points, etc......
Profile Pic
LarryMarg
Champion Author New York

Posts:2,537
Points:593,175
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Sep 22, 2013 9:54:51 PM

"We have been told this is coming. Hold your water!"

Hold your water, but don't hold your breath... :-)
Profile Pic
Retired-Coastie
Champion Author Arkansas

Posts:1,794
Points:617,150
Joined:Oct 2011
Message Posted: Sep 14, 2013 8:27:37 AM

As many times as this has been brought up, you'd think this would be on the fast track to becoming a reality.
Profile Pic
Martinfan
Champion Author Jackson

Posts:16,079
Points:3,283,335
Joined:Sep 2005
Message Posted: Sep 9, 2013 10:41:39 AM

Thank you for letting us know kwzh & scoutmaster! Glad to know it is on the way :)
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,226
Points:3,857,240
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 9, 2013 10:12:16 AM

We have been told this is coming. Hold your water!
Profile Pic
oncotime
Champion Author Milwaukee

Posts:20,171
Points:3,830,960
Joined:May 2003
Message Posted: Sep 9, 2013 7:33:17 AM

Posting diesel price where not sold and having a low price on top of it
Is upsetting when I use at least a tankful every week and need to keep
my cost down.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,246
Points:4,280,305
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Sep 9, 2013 1:12:10 AM

Martinfan writes,
> posting prices at a station that does not offer a certain fuel

It's in the pipeline; we just have to be patient.
Profile Pic
Martinfan
Champion Author Jackson

Posts:16,079
Points:3,283,335
Joined:Sep 2005
Message Posted: Sep 8, 2013 10:02:38 AM

I wish there was a way to block people from posting prices at a station that does not offer a certain fuel. I have a problem with members posting diesel prices at stations that do not offer it. I go in and correct it and report the infraction to the moderators if the same member does it several times. There is one member in particular that is notorious for this in my area.

P.S. I think Retired-Coastie hit the nail on the head.
Profile Pic
Retired-Coastie
Champion Author Arkansas

Posts:1,794
Points:617,150
Joined:Oct 2011
Message Posted: Aug 28, 2013 9:06:29 AM

It really boils down to one thing, you can't fix stupid!
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,406
Points:819,975
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 13, 2013 7:45:14 AM

@mrski22 "i think they are referring to people posting prices for fuels that don't exist at certain stations. For example you get point for a full report of all 4 grades, however; my local station has no diesel and the price is some how reported daily by a few members."

Yep, many have commented on the uptick of false diesel reports with the introduction of the APP Awards.
Profile Pic
mrski22
Veteran Author Akron

Posts:346
Points:767,350
Joined:Apr 2003
Message Posted: Aug 13, 2013 6:37:29 AM

i think they are referring to people posting prices for fuels that don't exist at certain stations. For example you get point for a full report of all 4 grades, however; my local station has no diesel and the price is some how reported daily by a few members. I tried reporting them and gasbuddy did nothing.
Profile Pic
citizen1
Champion Author Connecticut

Posts:1,819
Points:975,985
Joined:Apr 2004
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2013 4:56:23 PM

I see this often at stations with more than 3 grades of gas, many times the forth is posted as Diesel.
Profile Pic
nvn8v
Sophomore Author Nevada

Posts:134
Points:707,165
Joined:Feb 2005
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2013 10:57:14 AM

I too have to concur that this is an issue with the apps more than anything. One thing which should be done is if a station is out of a particular grade (like the one station near me which has diesel pumps but rarely said diesel fuel) - there needs to be a way to block posting a price there.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,840
Points:3,637,800
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Aug 9, 2013 8:19:53 PM


Jawbonz:

The app awards are those "awards" earned by posting prices via your mobile device. For example, when you open you app on the iPhone and click "My Profile", you'll open a page that shows "My Awards". Depending on the different "categories" and how much you or how frequently you post fuel prices, you earn "awards" (that no one except the member him/herself can see) for being a "Reporter", "Iron Man", Explorer", "Perfectionist", etc.

The more posting you do (meeting the different requirements for each "award", you move up to the next level, potentially reachi

Does that answer your question? Or were you asking something different?

[Edited by: Gas_Buddy at 8/9/2013 8:22:39 PM EST]
Profile Pic
Jawbonz
Sophomore Author Billings

Posts:101
Points:1,010,320
Joined:Mar 2011
Message Posted: Aug 9, 2013 4:05:51 PM

Are the 'awards' being referred to, things like Location champ? Or are there others that I am unaware of?
Post a reply Back to Topics