Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    3:12 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Suggest a GasBuddy improvement > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Gas Buddy ap closing right after posting a price... Back to Topics
largobob

Champion Author
Tampa

Posts:19,832
Points:3,712,180
Joined:Dec 2003
Message Posted: Jul 18, 2013 10:06:10 PM

I have been having a problem with the gas buddy ap closing right after I post a price. I click submit - and gone. I go back in and the price has been updated. Is anybody else having this issue? I have an Iphone 5. It started after the last update.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: Jul 25, 2013 3:19:02 PM

Hi largobob,

It looks like you're using the iOS app v1.23

Our iOS app development team has been made aware of an existing issue in v1.23. The next version with a fix is currently under review by Apple and is waiting to be released.

Keep an eye out in the App Store for an update in the near future.

Thanks for your patience while we continue to develop and improve the app.

-Don
Profile Pic
largobob
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:19,832
Points:3,712,180
Joined:Dec 2003
Message Posted: Jul 21, 2013 3:56:41 PM

Uninstall and reinstall appears to have fixed the issue.
Profile Pic
maxstar
Champion Author Chicago

Posts:20,799
Points:1,141,195
Joined:Feb 2011
Message Posted: Jul 19, 2013 10:20:26 AM

I had the application close after posting a price as well. My guess is that there is a bug in the program where is branches to ask questions like if the station has dual pricing. The price update was accepted but there was a pause after it was submitted and then it quit.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:16,282
Points:2,689,260
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Jul 19, 2013 9:42:14 AM

My experience has been that distance from the station is irrelevant to crashing the app on the Android. I have tried posting prices for stations 50 miles away and not had the app crash.

I am skeptical that the developers programed planned crashes into the app.

[Edited by: Scrapheap at 7/19/2013 9:43:20 AM EST]
Profile Pic
largobob
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:19,832
Points:3,712,180
Joined:Dec 2003
Message Posted: Jul 19, 2013 9:15:19 AM

I have had this happening while sitting at a light right next to the station updating the price. I don't bother updating a post if I am no longer near the station. It would just be a miss. Safety first - gas prices second! I will uninstall and reinstall as TxJeans and CampKohler suggested. Thank you.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:28,528
Points:3,364,975
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jul 19, 2013 9:09:35 AM

While I could have said "it's apparently in order to..." This has been a "happening" on the iPhone for the current and (at least) the previous app release, and by "out of area" I mean its been in the (I'm estimating) 10 mile or further range, or in other words, when you update a gas station after a relatively noticeable distance from it. I have absolutely no problem of a shut down for stations posting within a 10 mile distance (again, estimating) from the gas station for which I'm updating the price.

Sorry but I can only speak from experience and perception.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:6,117
Points:632,335
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jul 19, 2013 7:10:32 AM

Gas_Buddy - why would the iPhone version do that? I didn't see largobob indicate that he was posting out of area. He indicated it started after the last update - maybe he has the "dev version" that was mentioned in the earlier thread by Don and it didn't update to the correct one.

I see Gas_Buddy responded...I still say reinstall first.

[Edited by: TxJeans at 7/19/2013 7:14:28 AM EST]
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:28,528
Points:3,364,975
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jul 19, 2013 7:08:51 AM

For the same reason others say "Any time you have a problem with the app, reload it."
It's based on experience with the"problem", experience based on considerable posting across Gas Buddy venues.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:16,282
Points:2,689,260
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Jul 19, 2013 2:33:29 AM

Gas_Buddy wrote > It's not a problem ( I have the same issue or happening). It's meant to discourage people from posting multiple and repeated "out if area prices" for the sake of points or awards.

How do you know this is the rational?
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:28,528
Points:3,364,975
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jul 19, 2013 12:19:21 AM

It's not a problem ( I have the same issue or happening). It's meant to discourage people from posting multiple and repeated "out if area prices" for the sake of points or awards.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,499
Points:1,840,355
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jul 18, 2013 10:44:56 PM

Rule 1: Any time you have a problem with the app, reload it.
Post a reply Back to Topics