Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    9:04 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Suggest a GasBuddy improvement > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Spell checker Back to Topics
rjhenn

Champion Author
Des Moines

Posts:28,288
Points:2,794,220
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Mar 7, 2013 12:34:43 PM

The spell checker seems to be getting worse, not better. I just had it fix "fo" to "of" and it propagated the change through the whole post, changing "for" to "ofr", among others.

It needs to restrict such changes to whole words or not propagate the change at all.

[Edited by: rjhenn at 3/7/2013 12:35:13 PM EST]
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,221
Points:4,273,180
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Mar 31, 2013 11:59:39 PM

Alternately, compose your text in the word processor of your choice, and run a spell checker *there*, and then do a copy/paste to the Web page's input field when done.

If you've already started composing the text here at the site, and then want to spell check it, you can still copy it to your word processor to do the check. (If no errors, then just hit the Post button. Otherwise, either edit on the Web page and repeat, or edit in the WP and copy back the final result.)
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,060
Points:3,851,115
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 31, 2013 11:50:26 AM

Right Here!
Profile Pic
ziyulu
Champion Author Austin

Posts:11,092
Points:2,201,320
Joined:Aug 2007
Message Posted: Mar 31, 2013 11:18:17 AM

I wish Internet Explorer would add a spell checker. I do not like using GasBuddy's spell checker. It's too confusing.
Profile Pic
1stupedaso
Veteran Author Kentucky

Posts:343
Points:321,065
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Mar 31, 2013 8:57:57 AM

Ime nut cuncurned wit nowing how to spel
Profile Pic
rjhenn
Champion Author Des Moines

Posts:28,288
Points:2,794,220
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Mar 19, 2013 2:17:49 AM

I usually compose in notepad, then let Firefox spellcheck it when I paste it in. That saves me from losing the message if something messes up.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,663
Points:2,211,750
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Mar 19, 2013 1:28:13 AM

I’ve seen that confused capitalization several times. I always wondered why anyone would type like that. Trying to make a point in a weird way?

I once clicked on “Check Spelling” by accident instead of “Post Message.” It hashed up my message so badly that I erased it and pasted it in again. (I always compose in my word processor and paste into the message box.)

Profile Pic
rjhenn
Champion Author Des Moines

Posts:28,288
Points:2,794,220
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Mar 18, 2013 2:12:49 PM

Another long-time problem with the spell checker is it will take a capitalized two character acronym and capitalize the same letter sequence throughout the post.

For example, if someone uses "IC" in a post, the spell checker will change "nice" to "nICe".
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,663
Points:2,211,750
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Mar 18, 2013 12:39:17 AM

I was talking to a college history instructor yesterday, who grades his students’ papers on spelling, punctuation and grammar as well as the historical facts. If more would do that we would have a more literate population. It should not be possible to graduate high school without a working knowledge of the English language, including proper usage, spelling and punctuation. It is astounding how many say “lay” when they mean “lie” and insert apostrophes into plurals and things like that.

Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,221
Points:4,273,180
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Mar 17, 2013 4:59:22 AM

smugutu, I expect that spelling is still taught, but a significant number of people choose not to be diligent about it -- either because they expect the computer to be able to correct it (which is often not the case!), or because they expect the recipient to be able to understand them anyway. And then there's the unfortunate custom of typing in rebus ("I H8 U") to save a few keystrokes.
Profile Pic
VDubBill
Champion Author Jacksonville

Posts:4,449
Points:1,742,385
Joined:May 2008
Message Posted: Mar 16, 2013 11:45:29 AM

Conoco, Lexus, Prius, Texaco, Wal-mart, Fisker, GasBuddy, and BP. All are incorrect in GasBuddy's spell check.

Conoco, Wal-mart, and Gasbuddy are incorrect in Firefox, but can be added to the dictionary.
Profile Pic
smugutu1234
Champion Author Tallahassee

Posts:2,295
Points:544,820
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Mar 15, 2013 9:06:26 AM

I am guessing spelling is not taught in school anymore since the age of computers we rely on them to understand what we want to say and spell it correctly.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,060
Points:3,851,115
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 15, 2013 5:13:37 AM

I have a Chrome spell checker that works very well.
Profile Pic
rjhenn
Champion Author Des Moines

Posts:28,288
Points:2,794,220
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Mar 15, 2013 2:08:55 AM

I don't think I've seen any spell checker yet that had adequate knowledge of context.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,663
Points:2,211,750
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Mar 15, 2013 12:28:49 AM


“I try to use Firefox whenever possible, with it's [sic] built in spell check. Work's [sic] great!”

Too bad it does not have the ability to correct misplaced apostrophes.
Profile Pic
Sneakers55
Champion Author Houston

Posts:61,873
Points:2,659,170
Joined:Nov 2005
Message Posted: Mar 14, 2013 10:23:40 PM

A spell checker for a gas price site should not flag "Conoco" as an invalid word. Or "Exxon" either.



[Edited by: Sneakers55 at 3/14/2013 10:25:44 PM EST]
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,221
Points:4,273,180
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Mar 10, 2013 6:17:39 AM

Except that it doesn't have the context-sensitivity that would be needed to detect inappropriate apostrophes ("it's", "Work's"), etc. :-)
Profile Pic
RogerB
Champion Author Indianapolis

Posts:20,865
Points:3,216,720
Joined:Dec 2005
Message Posted: Mar 10, 2013 1:00:21 AM

I likewise haven't used the forum spell checker for a long time. I try to use Firefox whenever possible, with it's built in spell check. Work's great!
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,221
Points:4,273,180
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Mar 8, 2013 3:49:25 AM

NEVER use the GasBuddy spell checker -- there are common situations where the text has no mistakes, but the checker introduces some when you try to post it.
Profile Pic
Wanda127
Champion Author Florida

Posts:4,957
Points:1,508,485
Joined:May 2010
Message Posted: Mar 8, 2013 1:00:49 AM

Spell checker works great for me most of the time.
Profile Pic
rjhenn
Champion Author Des Moines

Posts:28,288
Points:2,794,220
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Mar 7, 2013 10:01:59 PM

I do, at home. It's other places where I have the problem.

If they only had an Android app for the forums.

[Edited by: rjhenn at 3/7/2013 10:02:23 PM EST]
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,060
Points:3,851,115
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 7, 2013 7:20:48 PM

Get a spell checker for your browser and use that one.
Profile Pic
rjhenn
Champion Author Des Moines

Posts:28,288
Points:2,794,220
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Mar 7, 2013 3:26:05 PM

I'm also seeing it take words that start a sentence and propagate the capitalization to other words that DON'T start a sentence and shouldn't be capitalized.
Post a reply Back to Topics