Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    7:49 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Suggest a GasBuddy improvement > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Highlight lowest prices on map Back to Topics
rbirling

Rookie Author
Austin

Posts:6
Points:450
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Jan 8, 2013 5:46:15 PM

When viewing stations on the map, it would be helpful to highlight the lowest price(s). This would make it more convenient to find cheap gas "near me".

Also, it would be cool to add a min/max price slider -- you could slide it down to the prices you want and see how many/how far any stations are from you.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
MsPeachi747
Veteran Author Cleveland

Posts:358
Points:19,750
Joined:Dec 2011
Message Posted: Feb 2, 2013 12:56:40 PM

Its a good idea to have highlighted on the map of stations within proximity of me.
Profile Pic
JMW1942
Champion Author Michigan

Posts:2,736
Points:889,210
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Jan 29, 2013 11:18:05 AM

Android pretty much covers distance and lowest price. I strongly believe in updating even current prices so everyone can make up to date decisions.The full browser GB lets me plan my trips for the best prices and best route.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,570
Points:1,980,570
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jan 12, 2013 4:53:26 PM

GB: (Sorry to have not responded yet to your point of 8th.) You would be correct if one could filter prices on a map (whichever one he is talking about). Just to be sure, I checked both the iPhone FPNM map and the full-site MGP map and see no way to filter by price. Could you be thinking about one of the other phones that can do this? If so, if you have one, perhaps you could describe it and show screen shots for the benefit of those of us stuck with obsolete, over-the-hill, behind-the-times, coal-fired iPhone antiques.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,468
Points:3,544,595
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jan 9, 2013 10:30:12 AM


"[Regarding posting prices -- I do post occasionally if I see an error but mostly I find the prices are almost always correct. Are you saying we should also "freshen" already correct prices as well? Maybe there could be a button for that if it an issue. :-) Just click "confirm price".]"

Yes, we are saying that you should "freshen" already correct prices. That way the price remains visible to other members for an extended period. Prices are otherwise deleted after a certain period of time, the time frame which varies in different Gas Buddy areas.

The problem with a "confirm price" click is that it will enable many, who are point and award collectors" to simply "click and move on". There already is a lot of concern and/or consternation about members posting false price (most often on the mobile apps) without really knowing if prices are valid; a "click and move on" button would only increase the problem.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 9, 2013 6:49:00 AM

Yup there is rbirling. Post a picture to an album on this site and post the URL OR just post the URL of the picture.
Profile Pic
GoGoGoodyear
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:4,238
Points:772,340
Joined:Mar 2010
Message Posted: Jan 9, 2013 6:39:39 AM


This would be useful. It could be a highest prices slide control or a field to enter the highest prices one wants to see displayed. Using it would remove stations that are higher priced than the desired limit, removing some clutter from the map and making it easier to see stations that have lower prices. As one lowered the slider or entered successively lower prices in the limit field more and more stations would drop off the map. Remaining stations would stand out more.
Profile Pic
rbirling
Rookie Author Austin

Posts:6
Points:450
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Jan 9, 2013 12:00:10 AM

Is there a way to attach pics here to illustrate what I'm talking about?
Profile Pic
rbirling
Rookie Author Austin

Posts:6
Points:450
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Jan 8, 2013 11:25:39 PM

I was looking at the regular web page when I posted this. Many times I just like to look at the city map and be able to visually find the cheapest stations. For example, I may be driving all the way across town and be able to take multiple routes. If I can quickly see where the cheapest station is on the map are I can plan my route.

Currently if I pull up the entire city, 1. there is too much visual clutter to easily comprehend and, 2. the cheapest station price tags are not always on top, that is they get overlapped by more expensive stations. I would consider this a bug which may or may not be easy to fix.

I also think always highlighting the cheapest station on any map view would just be a cool feature and "highlight" (forgive the pun) the whole purpose of your site. This is the main feature I am suggesting. Whether you highlight one or several would be another question. (sort of like a heat map but coloring each station?)

Related to this could be a "near my route" search which could be handy sometimes although I think a visual map search is more intuitive to me.

The slider to remove extra stations would be an additional feature to help remove the clutter which may or may not be needed if lower priced stations were always on top.

Again this all refers to a map view on the web or mobile. I'm trying to learn to use the list view more but it doesn't feel as natural. If I'm missing some of the way the site was intended to be used feel free to let me know. I do like suggesting improvements regardless. :-)

I hope this helps clear up what I was thinking. Oh and I was talking about a price slider not a time or age slider.

[Regarding posting prices -- I do post occasionally if I see an error but mostly I find the prices are almost always correct. Are you saying we should also "freshen" already correct prices as well? Maybe there could be a button for that if it an issue. :-) Just click "confirm price".]

Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,530
Points:3,763,590
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 8, 2013 9:34:09 PM

If I'm not mistaken, both the iPhone and Android phones list prices by distance and lowest to highest the same as you PC.
Profile Pic
agrico
Champion Author New Orleans

Posts:1,567
Points:950,405
Joined:Dec 2008
Message Posted: Jan 8, 2013 8:38:54 PM

wish my phone showed lowest prices in town like my computer does
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,468
Points:3,544,595
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jan 8, 2013 7:13:23 PM


Not knowing what device you're using, whether it's the mobile app or the full website (which can be accessed from a phone's browser) but, assuming you're using an mobile device, you can sort by distance or price using the app for the iPhone with a simple touch of the icon for distance or price. Simply defaulting to the "by price" icon will let you find "cheap gas" near your.

Wouldn't this, what's already available, work as your "slide down?

That said, remember that gas price posts are only as good as the timeliness of members posting gas prices. If you want others to keep posting prices for your knowledge, letting you learn of "cheap gas", you might want to occasionally post gas prices for their knowledge. Reciprocal posting, that is, for everyone's benefit. But that's just a suggestion.

CampKohler:
Maybe I'm wrong but it appears you're adding a suggestion to your list that already exists (the ability to sort by price). Suggesting what's already available doesn't appear to be a new subject.

2-240

[Edited by: Gas_Buddy at 1/8/2013 7:17:46 PM EST]
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,570
Points:1,980,570
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jan 8, 2013 6:52:36 PM

These suggestions have been added to the Suggestion Tracking List as new subjects.

The phrase "near me," because of the Find Gas Near Me button, suggests that you are talking about the mobile app, but these suggestions could be applicable to the Map Gas Prices map as well. The granularity of the MGP map Time Limit selection is currently from 4 to 8 hours per increment, but a slider suggests very small granularity. It would be interesting to know if it could be anything (minutes, seconds?) or whether the 4- to 8-hour selections are really important due to current programming.
Post a reply Back to Topics