Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    7:49 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Suggest a GasBuddy improvement > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Diesel listed but not available Back to Topics
tristeve

Veteran Author
Tulsa

Posts:446
Points:514,555
Joined:Jul 2012
Message Posted: Dec 13, 2012 11:03:08 AM

There are many stations in the Tulsa, OK area that are listed as having diesel available but don't offer it. Can these stations be updated? What's the process?
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
aladdin9
All-Star Author Tucson

Posts:639
Points:2,205,050
Joined:Apr 2006
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 11:31:15 PM

FYI: The 'new' mobile touch website (not an app) also doesn't allow zeroing out prices, the full non mobile site must be used.
Profile Pic
joshou
Sophomore Author Iowa

Posts:153
Points:142,545
Joined:Feb 2012
Message Posted: Apr 2, 2013 8:52:22 PM


I have to agree.. there are several stations in town that done sell diesel or sometimes premium. would be great if that are not on the gasbuddy lists.. and this would also prevent some abuse of users posting phony prices in those slots for the points
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,257
Points:3,741,315
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 25, 2013 5:12:17 AM

We have the exact same problem here in Pittsburgh waynecz. Delete the price and report it to the moderators.
Profile Pic
waynecz
Champion Author Mississippi

Posts:1,574
Points:659,395
Joined:Jul 2012
Message Posted: Mar 24, 2013 10:31:52 PM

There was a station in Westerville OH (Giant Eagle's GetGo) that was always getting diesel prices posted but they did not offer Diesel. What people were posting was the Kerosene price that was displayed on the station's exterior sign that people thought was Diesel.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:22,931
Points:4,165,230
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Mar 17, 2013 5:04:33 AM

drgeeforce writes,
> What's funny is when I try to "zero" out their prices it fails.

Full Web site, or app? On the former, there are four different ways to enter a new price, but only two of them will accept a zero. (I don't know the corresponding situation on the latter; I don't use a mobile device with GasBuddy.)

PS: If the price is "too old to delete", the fix is to overwrite it with a new nonzero price, and then immediately zero *that* out.

[Edited by: kwzh at 3/17/2013 5:05:54 AM EST]
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,257
Points:3,741,315
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 16, 2013 8:49:52 PM

Report those who are reporting bogus prices and ask the moderators why you can't zero prices.
Profile Pic
drgeeforce
Sophomore Author Los Angeles

Posts:237
Points:328,875
Joined:Oct 2011
Message Posted: Mar 16, 2013 2:58:36 PM

I regulary map the stations in my area and find "champion" posters who report diesel prices when the station doesn't carry diesel at all. What's funny is when I try to "zero" out their prices it fails.
Profile Pic
tdioiler
All-Star Author Detroit

Posts:995
Points:649,625
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Feb 23, 2013 12:15:14 PM

Oh, A light came on....

How about using the Gallagher theory. He had the idea that every driver is given a dart gun. When other drivers see another driver doing something STUPID, Bam, in goes a dart.

Then if a cop sees 4 darts in a car, ticket time for being an idiot.

Use the same concept for price posters where there isn't a pump there...
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,337
Points:2,101,575
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Feb 8, 2013 1:34:10 AM

Elk, you say that you “drive by this station regularly” that does not sell diesel but that diesel prices are posted on GasBuddy. Have you reported this problem to the Mods? Have you reported correct prices for this station that you see “regularly”? It appears not since you have been a member for more than a year and a half, during which time you have reported a total of 15 prices. Doesn’t that make you part of the problem? You are certainly not part of the solution. If you reported the prices that you see “regularly,” you could delete false prices and you could update the MSL to reflect the proper brand at that station. GB works best when members report what they see every day and take the time to correct errors and report consistent violators. Time to get with the program.

Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,337
Points:2,101,575
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Feb 8, 2013 1:17:29 AM

“It would be nice if a station would only list the types of fuels that are available at that station.”

Dozens of us have been pleading with the Mods for years to set it up so that prices can be entered for only those grades that are check-marked in the MSL — and they have been promising for just as long that it is in the works. If they would just get off the dime and DO IT, a lot of problems would be solved, GB prices would be more accurate, and GB’s reputation as a reliable source would be enhanced. I’m not holding my breath.

Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:22,931
Points:4,165,230
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Feb 7, 2013 3:14:44 AM

vwswtdi writes,
> How do you report a member

Click on the Inbox icon at the top right corner of this page, and send a message to GasBuddy Moderator. Or, use the menu to select Help -> Contact Us, and follow the instructions there.
Profile Pic
vwswtdi
Rookie Author San Francisco

Posts:1
Points:5,095
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Feb 6, 2013 9:26:51 PM

3 times in the last 2 months I have driven to a station based on the info on gasbuddy to find that they DONT have diesel. Thought it was a good app at first but its turning into a useless app....
Guess the easiest thing is to stop using it...

How do you report a member as a MORON?
Profile Pic
mymren
All-Star Author Texas

Posts:636
Points:541,735
Joined:Aug 2011
Message Posted: Feb 5, 2013 1:56:24 PM

Yes you can change the master list, but it still shows up in the app. That is really frustrating around here as I think some people input a made up price just to get their points.
Profile Pic
peggypat
Rookie Author San Diego

Posts:29
Points:44,550
Joined:Oct 2005
Message Posted: Feb 3, 2013 4:43:31 PM

OMG that is so frustrating. Especially when I plan a trip around that gas station and it doesn't sell diesel. So lame. And in an app I can't change the infor for some reason.
Profile Pic
bullworth
Champion Author St. Louis

Posts:14,943
Points:2,584,270
Joined:Jul 2007
Message Posted: Jan 25, 2013 5:31:17 PM

It would be nice if a station would only list the types of fuels that are available at that station. If they do not have a diesel or a mid-grade --- then those line items are removed from the station listing. No posting what the station does not have available.
Profile Pic
ELK1951
Rookie Author Sacramento

Posts:6
Points:2,670
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Jan 9, 2013 5:30:47 PM

I have complained a couple of times about a listed station that doesn't exist and is repeatedly listed as having the cheapest diesel prices in the area. It's listed as a Valero Station. It is in fact an ARCO. The station doesn't sell diesel. Even looking at the station on google maps pedestrian view shows ARCO with the prices and grades and no diesel.

But I'm told I'm wrong even though I drive by this station regularly. How is it that the Diesel price is updated regularly?

Gasbuddy is becoming less reliable and valid complaints don't seem important.
Profile Pic
qsabe
Rookie Author Detroit

Posts:11
Points:420
Joined:May 2011
Message Posted: Dec 29, 2012 3:58:11 PM

Even if the station is listed as not having diesel, GB still wants a number. Which make the app pretty useless for folks looking for low priced diesel.
Profile Pic
pilotmass
Champion Author Boston

Posts:4,312
Points:989,315
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Dec 29, 2012 9:37:50 AM

Its a really annoying feature that there is no easy way to report the lack of diesel at stations where GB asks for it.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:22,931
Points:4,165,230
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Dec 25, 2012 2:49:09 AM

"Report gas prices" is one of the methods that does *not* work. What I was describing was to bring up a page where the current price is already listed -- the default top 15 / bottom 15 will do, or if it's not there, a search based on area or station name. This is the display in which your own price contributions are highlighted in a gold background. (You then have to select the correct fuel type.) Once you have the bogus price displayed in that form, you can click on the price, and you should get to a prompt for a new price. You can enter zero for the price, and the reason for deletion in the comments, and then it should be gone.

In some obscure cases, the price is too old to show up in the search, but it's still showing up in some listings (perhaps the map). When this happens, you can either ignore and and wait for it to finish timing out, or you can deliberately create a bogus entry to make it "current", and then zero it out as above.
Profile Pic
JerryJoeUC
Champion Author San Antonio

Posts:2,207
Points:658,035
Joined:Sep 2012
Message Posted: Dec 24, 2012 11:23:32 PM

I tried to erase diesel from showing the way described below by Scrapheap and kwzh but it still shows up. (MSL > Gas Prices > report Gas Prices) The price updates for the other 3 flavors: Reg, Mid, & Prem, all show my input. AM I missing something?
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,337
Points:2,101,575
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Dec 18, 2012 12:55:32 AM

There are two issues here. Both involve the reporting of prices for diesel (or a grade of gasoline) that is not sold by the station.

If the MSL listing correctly shows the fuel types sold then all one can do is to delete bad prices as described by Scrap and Kwzh. Be sure to enter a comment such as, “This station does not sell mid-grade,” so the Mods will know the reason for deletion.

If the MSL listing is not correct, then one should fix that issue , as described below, and also do the deletion. The Mods have promised that they will eventually link price posting to the MSL so that prices will not be accepted for types not sold. That would solve a lot of these problems but I’m not holding my breath.

Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,026
Points:2,844,235
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Dec 18, 2012 12:18:21 AM

russiam wrote > How do you zero out a bad price?

You must use the full website. You have to click on the bad price and enter a zero. This means you must search on it using an area search, or search on it using the map, click on the bad price and enter a zero. Reporting a 0 using an FSL, mobile site or app will not work.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:22,931
Points:4,165,230
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Dec 18, 2012 12:12:40 AM

russiam writes,
> How do you zero out a bad price?

Using the primary (non-phone) Web site, I do a search to bring up a display containing the current price at that station for the fuel type in question, then I click on the price to update it. I change the price to "0" and use the comment field to explain why I'm deleting it.

Note that there are at least four ways to enter a price using a computer, and I assume there would be more than one when using the phone app, though I have no personal experience of that. I believe that there are only two that accept zero for delete -- the one I described above, and a second method using the map.
Profile Pic
russiam
All-Star Author Cincinnati

Posts:970
Points:582,585
Joined:Dec 2010
Message Posted: Dec 17, 2012 6:47:02 PM

How do you zero out a bad price? For instance, I have entered 0.00 on the panel for the diesel price and hit the post button. But the errant price was still there.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,498
Points:1,965,140
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Dec 14, 2012 6:07:15 PM

Stake out an area local to you as "your territory" and monitor the reported prices daily for fuel/grades being reported that are not correct. Zero out the bad prices and notify the moderators of repeated errors. If we all did that, the problem would shrink if not disappear until the day arrives that the MSL station entries and price reporting is interlocked.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,257
Points:3,741,315
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Dec 14, 2012 6:08:23 AM

1. Go to the Master Station List (MSL).
2. Find the station in the list.
3. Click edit.
4. Uncheck the diesel box.
5. Click save changes.



[Edited by: scoutmaster at 12/14/2012 6:10:31 AM EST]
Profile Pic
GM
Moderator
Message Posted: Dec 13, 2012 2:28:24 PM

>tristeve

As we may not always be able to deal with incorrect/outdated listings in a timely manner, and due to the fact that we do not know each area as well as local members, we rely heavily on members like you to update station info.

To update station information, please log in and click the link under Gas Prices, near the top of the page which reads "Master Station List". Once in the MSL, use the search to find the incorrect listing, and click on the "EDIT" link for that station. Once in the "Edit Station" page, use the given tools to make the appropriate changes, then scroll to the bottom of the page, and click the "Save Updated Station Information" button.

Thanks for the help!


- Ryan (RD)
Post a reply Back to Topics