Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    5:09 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Suggest a GasBuddy improvement > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: diesel price reporting Back to Topics
astork

Sophomore Author
Las Vegas

Posts:130
Points:128,100
Joined:Mar 2011
Message Posted: Oct 27, 2012 7:54:20 PM

When checking diesel prices, I frequently find a price reported at a station which doesn't carry diesel. I know it doesn't, because I check the master list, and either call or drive to the station.
When someone tries to do this, it would be helpful if the program would tell them that the master list hasn't received a report that this station carries diesel, and asking if they would like to file an update.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
chambleetiger
Sophomore Author Atlanta

Posts:227
Points:471,750
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Nov 12, 2012 4:51:49 PM

good tip on the 0 vs the 000 thanks
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,191
Points:2,064,100
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Nov 1, 2012 11:49:50 PM


A single 0 will do it; you do not have to type 000.
Be sure to enter the reason for deletion in the Comment field.
Profile Pic
Bruce1224
Champion Author Cincinnati

Posts:3,405
Points:680,080
Joined:Aug 2012
Message Posted: Oct 31, 2012 8:06:50 PM

astork, when you see the false diesel price, send an email to the moderators thru 'feedback' in the 'help' area of the site. Tell them the station location, member reporting the price and date/time of the report. I've reported a number of these over the last week or two and I generally get a reply from a moderator saying they've send a message to the member. I haven't seen a repeat false report from anyone yet, but repeat false reports could result in termination of their membership. You can also corret the false report by putting 000 or 0.00 in for the diesel price.
Profile Pic
Bruce1224
Champion Author Cincinnati

Posts:3,405
Points:680,080
Joined:Aug 2012
Message Posted: Oct 31, 2012 8:06:45 PM

astork, when you see the false diesel price, send an email to the moderators thru 'feedback' in the 'help' area of the site. Tell them the station location, member reporting the price and date/time of the report. I've reported a number of these over the last week or two and I generally get a reply from a moderator saying they've send a message to the member. I haven't seen a repeat false report from anyone yet, but repeat false reports could result in termination of their membership. You can also corret the false report by putting 000 or 0.00 in for the diesel price.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,305
Points:1,942,360
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Oct 29, 2012 9:32:29 PM

So we DO have interlocking and YOU are the interlocutor. :-)
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,191
Points:2,064,100
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Oct 29, 2012 12:29:43 AM

Don’t hold your breath. I’ve been hearing for over a year that price posting will be tied to the grades marked in the MSL but . . . .   Implementing that suggestion would prevent an awful lot of errors. I look for them from time to time and then lose heart, there are no many. I have zeroed out at least a dozen just this weekend.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,305
Points:1,942,360
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Oct 28, 2012 3:46:58 PM

This suggestion has been added to the Suggestion Tracking List as a new topic on an existing subject.

Interlocking the MSL with price reporting has been suggested inum... innumbe.. innummer... many times and using various schemes, so hopefully this will be implemented in the near future, even if the interlocking is made an optional feature.

[Edited by: CampKohler at 10/28/2012 3:50:04 PM EST]
Post a reply Back to Topics