Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    6:37 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: General Gas Talk > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Canadians using pay at the pump in USA need zip code. Back to Topics
Cooey
Sophomore Author
Manitoba

Posts:240
Points:31,140
Joined:Oct 2003
Message Posted: Jun 19, 2013 4:53:55 PM

I noticed when travelling in the South, Kentucky particularly, that to pay at the pump you needed to input a zip code besides swiping the credit card. I heard there is a work around with this. What do you know about this?
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Thumper52
Champion Author New Brunswick

Posts:1,508
Points:703,425
Joined:May 2006
Message Posted: Jul 14, 2013 6:16:16 AM

Stupidest thing I ever run into! If we did this in Canada, I'm sure our US neighbors would have kittens, trying to get their zip code in. And I wouldn't blame them! We have to go inside, leave our card with attendant, pump our gas, and go in and get our credit card back. How secure is that? The card sits on the counter for everyone to see! NOt a good system, but when they have something you need, what do you do?
lwood655
All-Star Author New Orleans

Posts:930
Points:555,670
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jun 28, 2013 9:37:57 AM

self serve stations in Louisiana also ask for zip when using credit card
Cooey
Sophomore Author Manitoba

Posts:240
Points:31,140
Joined:Oct 2003
Message Posted: Jun 28, 2013 9:23:14 AM

Thanks Kiatoindos for your help!
JOB_Dave
Sophomore Author San Francisco

Posts:170
Points:753,950
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Jun 24, 2013 11:31:40 AM

An extra level of security. If I somehow get your card I would not know your billing zip code.
Sneakers55
Champion Author Houston

Posts:58,596
Points:2,425,045
Joined:Nov 2005
Message Posted: Jun 23, 2013 2:59:03 AM

On Jun 22, 2013 10:05:18 AM, Boyrr wrote:

>asking for a ZIP is a CC thing to check for fraud. It is not required
>for a debit card transaction, i don't k now why.

Debit cards require a 4-digit PIN instead which is probably better than verifying the ZIP code.
hjl17
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:4,476
Points:932,980
Joined:Jul 2011
Message Posted: Jun 22, 2013 11:22:19 AM

don't understand why
Boyrr
Champion Author Allentown

Posts:16,533
Points:3,481,025
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jun 22, 2013 11:05:18 AM

...asking for a ZIP is a CC thing to check for fraud. It is not required for a debit card transaction, i don't k now why.
Saab93turbo
All-Star Author Washington

Posts:862
Points:162,615
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Jun 22, 2013 10:52:17 AM

In Germany, you pump then go inside to pay the $100 bill.
WEPSMAN
Champion Author South Dakota

Posts:11,040
Points:2,305,700
Joined:Mar 2005
Message Posted: Jun 22, 2013 9:46:06 AM

I think it is to match up credit card addresses. It is to try and stop fraud, but I do not know how it works with a Canadian address.
gvan
Champion Author Chicago

Posts:23,973
Points:3,162,960
Joined:Dec 2004
Message Posted: Jun 21, 2013 5:22:16 PM

"Just use any five figure combination as this machine really does not need this information. It is doing this because of ergonomics telling them what area you are from, which in reality is none of their business."

Well, let me just guess that you don't know what you are talking about. The requirement to enter the zip code is a security measure. If the zip code doesn't match the zip code used to obtain the credit card you won't be getting any gas.
bluenvoy
Champion Author Nashville

Posts:17,380
Points:2,144,640
Joined:Oct 2005
Message Posted: Jun 21, 2013 9:11:15 AM

Call your credit card company. They will have the answer for you.
contiki
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:19,711
Points:851,865
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Jun 21, 2013 7:14:01 AM

Canadians don't have zip codes, ours are postal codes which are{6 figures} not 5 figures...........
cv
Champion Author Raleigh

Posts:16,858
Points:3,594,555
Joined:Oct 2003
Message Posted: Jun 21, 2013 5:46:58 AM

Most pumps in my area require the zip code to be added, an exception is Sam's where the membership card is used to validate the customer.
jscdig
Champion Author Maine

Posts:7,883
Points:837,915
Joined:Apr 2004
Message Posted: Jun 20, 2013 8:38:42 PM

It was always my assumption that if a Canadian used one of these pumps, he/she would have to go in the store to use a card.
TrixieNY
Champion Author Buffalo

Posts:2,853
Points:795,900
Joined:Apr 2008
Message Posted: Jun 20, 2013 7:48:41 PM

If you listen to MertieMan you will be standing at the pump all day unable to get gas!
Deno
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:13,459
Points:2,356,620
Joined:May 2001
Message Posted: Jun 20, 2013 5:46:16 PM

BP's here require it, and it is the billing zip or rejected, since the keypad only has digits, and Canada's postal codes use an alphanumeric system (i.e.; 1A1 A1A), I'm not sure what can be done. The BP keypads are just a numberboard, not like the phone where 2 is ABC, 3 is DEF, etc...
HeavyDuty_cache
Champion Author Omaha

Posts:14,429
Points:2,785,330
Joined:Sep 2005
Message Posted: Jun 20, 2013 5:41:55 PM

I put in an incorrect zip code and my card was rejected, when I put my billing zip code in it worked fine.

They should have a feature to choose if you are from the US, Can or Mex to avoid our guests from the north and south being locked out.
MertieMan
Champion Author Lexington

Posts:16,434
Points:3,223,560
Joined:May 2005
Message Posted: Jun 20, 2013 7:35:43 AM

Just use any five figure combination as this machine really does not need this information. It is doing this because of ergonomics telling them what area you are from, which in reality is none of their business.
contiki
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:19,711
Points:851,865
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Jun 20, 2013 6:46:37 AM

Canadians don't have zip codes, ours are postal codes which are{6 figures} not 5 figures...........
kiatoindos
Champion Author Chicago

Posts:2,188
Points:334,110
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Jun 19, 2013 10:34:15 PM

Try your postal code without letters add 00 at the end
kiatoindos
Champion Author Chicago

Posts:2,188
Points:334,110
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Jun 19, 2013 10:27:09 PM

Most stations along major highways or high crime areas require zip code
Post a reply Back to Topics