Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    7:24 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Posting Problem Back to Topics
xiii

Champion Author
Chicago

Posts:30,920
Points:3,801,390
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 28, 2014 12:49:15 PM

Anybody else having a problem posting prices to their favorite stations list? For the last two days when I post a price, I get the screen that says thanks for posting, but when I go back to my favorites list it is not updated with the Current prices.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,378
Points:2,958,675
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Sep 4, 2014 6:10:37 AM

The number for top spotter is based only on posting over the last 30 days.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,215
Points:3,856,015
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 3, 2014 8:56:00 PM

If the price is updates and shows you as the last poster right after you post, what's the issue? If the only issue is you are not getting credit as a Top Spotter then in my opinion, there is no issue!
Profile Pic
xiii
Champion Author Chicago

Posts:30,920
Points:3,801,390
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Sep 3, 2014 1:59:00 PM

Here is what I did.

I logged out of all my devices (Ipad, Anroid phone & computer) re-booted all devices and then logged back in.

It now works almost. The favorites list is now updating, but I am not getting credit for posting on my Ipad. It will update the price, but I do not get credit in the Top Spotters section. It should increase by 1 every consecutive day I post, but it has been stuck on 24 for two weeks now.

[Edited by: xiii at 9/3/2014 2:05:39 PM EST]
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,402
Points:818,895
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Sep 3, 2014 7:39:26 AM

No problems here. More details would help.
Are you posting from Website or from Ap?
In group or singly?
Back dating time?
If Ap, how far from stations?

You might try creating a new FSL with all those stations and deleting the current one.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,215
Points:3,856,015
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 3, 2014 7:02:21 AM

Are you receiving points for your posts? Are you back timing them? Did someone post immediately after you?
Profile Pic
retiredssgt
Sophomore Author North Carolina

Posts:219
Points:112,615
Joined:Jan 2012
Message Posted: Sep 3, 2014 7:00:00 AM

I have not had any problem with the gas price updating after I post a price.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,915
Points:2,049,420
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Aug 29, 2014 2:29:08 PM

Does this occur with all stations on your FSL? Does this occur with several FSLs? If you don't know about the latter, create a new FSL and place the known failing stations in it and try reporting from that. Also use several browsers just so that you can say you did.

FWIW, ever since they did the cash & credit update, my main FSL will hide comments, but never produce the Show Comments button to bring them back. All my other FSLs are OK, and even the failing FSL works fine on other sites. The point here is that I conclude that it is possible for the FSL's code to fail in a very limited situation, so you could have such a bug, too.

Just to gather more symptoms, use the same FSL on another site by adding a station that has just been reported a half hour ago, report one same price with a TS of 30 minutes later and see if the TS time is updated on that FSL.

The above may not gain a lot more data about the problem, but it would be SOME more. Then the hard part is to get GBO to respond and fix your problem (I have been unsuccessful in doing that for my mine).



[Edited by: CampKohler at 8/29/2014 2:34:02 PM EST]
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,402
Points:818,895
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 29, 2014 12:06:29 PM

I posted late last night from FSL - actually, from other than my "home" site. I had no problems.

What OS and browser combination?
Do you run NOSCRIPT? Or any other extensions?
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,215
Points:3,856,015
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 29, 2014 5:13:38 AM

I just posted a price from my FSL with no problems.
Profile Pic
xiii
Champion Author Chicago

Posts:30,920
Points:3,801,390
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 28, 2014 11:56:47 PM

Been there done that, even cleared cache and cookies. It is happening on two different computers, so it is not the web browser.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,829
Points:3,636,350
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Aug 28, 2014 2:56:55 PM

Try coming out of the program and then logging back on. I've had it happen to me on isolated times using the app, but not while using the favorites list on either my computer (which I did a short time ago with no problem) or using the favorites list via the browser on my phone to access the full website.
Post a reply Back to Topics