Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    7:19 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Is there a new way to zero out prices? Back to Topics
rspiano

Champion Author
Tucson

Posts:11,618
Points:2,458,155
Joined:May 2008
Message Posted: Jun 17, 2014 12:39:40 PM

Went to the website, and tried to zero out a midgrade and diesel price for a Costco in Tucson. I clicked on "Costco" in my FSL - it brought up the regular grade prices for all the Costcos in Tucson. Clicked on the "Midgrade" tab at the top - the one errant price showed up. Clicked on the price - it brought up the "Report a Price Here" screen, now with all four grades showing instead of just the grade I chose to correct. I put a "0" in the box, tried checking and unchecking the boxes, putting in just one of the errant prices and both, and each time got a message stating that "There is already a newer price posted for this station and fuel type", even though I did not change the time of the post.

Is there a different way now to zero out bad prices, or possible for this to be fixed? Thanks!
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
topcat57
Champion Author Memphis

Posts:233,600
Points:3,358,605
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Oct 3, 2014 2:01:59 AM

I would settle for a way to do it. Period. I came across several bogus diesel prices on the Memphis site today, all at stations which don't sell diesel, but there's no way to delete them.

TPTB asked we notify them when we find these types of prices. I did, and of course received no reply and if/when I do the prices in question will have long since dropped off the list, but why not just reinstate the ability to zero out prices? Come on, guys. This shouldn't be rocket surgery!
Profile Pic
rando991
Champion Author Missouri

Posts:1,165
Points:801,590
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Sep 30, 2014 9:43:37 AM

There should be a way to do it that is consistent.
Profile Pic
topcat57
Champion Author Memphis

Posts:233,600
Points:3,358,605
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Sep 18, 2014 2:38:39 AM

Sorry, it was my first time down this particular road which is why I said YMMV. You're right though. I posted the same bogus price myself as a test (sorry, but it was in the name of science), looked at the diesel lowest-price list, and there it was. I logged out and opened the site in a new window, and there it was. <blushing> Logged back in and it's gone again. I can't believe this has apparently been going on for several months, and they still haven't addressed it.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,553
Points:3,012,045
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Sep 18, 2014 1:26:40 AM

topcat57 - We've been down this road before. The price disappears only for the person who tried to zero out the price. If you log out and search again, you will probably find it is still there.
Profile Pic
topcat57
Champion Author Memphis

Posts:233,600
Points:3,358,605
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 10:49:43 PM

I just discovered something (after discovering last week that you can't APPEAR to zero out wrong prices). Apparently this has been going on for several months, but Memphis posters must have been behaving as I haven't seen any bogus prices recently. I saw a price for diesel at a station I know doesn't sell diesel, so I tried the usual way of zeroing it out by clicking on the posted price and entering 0.00. I saw the usual "there's been a later price posted" message, BUT when I went back and looked where the bogus price had been posted it had vanished. It was halfway down the lowest price list, so it didn't get bumped off the bottom in the meantime. So it APPEARS you can still zero out prices in spite of the message stating you can't. YMMV.

[Edited by: topcat57 at 9/17/2014 10:54:27 PM EST]
Profile Pic
GrumpyCat
Champion Author Alabama

Posts:5,553
Points:1,306,230
Joined:Jun 2009
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 9:25:11 PM

Without a means of removing diesel prices from stations I know full well do not have diesel, I no longer check my "no diesel" favorites list.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:98,329
Points:3,908,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 1:21:50 PM

"so lets say a station doesn't sell premium, but since there's still a premium report block there (and it is NOT checked in the MSL), would checking it present, submit, then uncheck submit (within the MSL)...would that remove the premium price block for reporting?"

It should. I know when this was suppose to have taken place the club stations in my area (Sam's Club and Costco) did have the mid-grade box, Now they do.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,553
Points:3,012,045
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 10:01:54 AM

From what I've seen, leaving the availability of a grade of fuel unchecked in the MSL removes the icons that say that grade is available and forces app users to go through extra steps to report that grade of fuel. That is, if the grade is unchecked in the MSL, the price block will not show up on the app but the app user can "add a fuel type" to report it anyway. I don't think it does anything wrt the price blocks on the website.

I also don't believe that unchecking the box in the MSL will remove it from price searches. Unchecking may have reduced the number of people reporting that price from the app so that the price aged off but probably did not delete the price outright.

[Edited by: Scrapheap at 9/17/2014 10:05:12 AM EST]
Profile Pic
rando991
Champion Author Missouri

Posts:1,165
Points:801,590
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 9:43:26 AM

so lets say a station doesn't sell premium, but since there's still a premium report block there (and it is NOT checked in the MSL), would checking it present, submit, then uncheck submit (within the MSL)...would that remove the premium price block for reporting? I'm just trying to understand how this is supposed to work, because from I'm seeing, it is not stopping the block from appearing...the only thing the check mark is doing is preventing the icon for that gas type from appearing.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:98,329
Points:3,908,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 6:38:19 AM

June 29, 2014 Goodbye to grades that a station doesn't have
Starting on Android and iOS, we have included the ability to turn on/off fuel types. This means that when a station doesn't sell a fuel type (typically mid grade or diesel), the station won't be listed in the price list for that grade and the grade won't be shown when reporting prices!

This doesn't mean they're gone forever. As you know, GasBuddy station information comes from YOU! We rely on members like you to keep station information up-to-date. If you notice a missing fuel type that the station does carry, let us know when reporting prices, by tapping "Add a Fuel Type".

That linkage was suppose to exist but it appears it doesn't. Even if it does, having "Add a Fuel Type" on the app could totally undermine it. In my opinion, the only way a station features should be changed is via the MSL.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,869
Points:2,271,025
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 1:22:50 AM

As I posted here two days ago, “. . . there is no linkage on the web site between which grades are checked in the MSL and posting of prices.” Which is to say, there is nothing to prevent folks from posting bogus prices for grades not sold and there is currently no way for us to delete those bogus prices. Come on Mods, get this fixed.
Profile Pic
rando991
Champion Author Missouri

Posts:1,165
Points:801,590
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Sep 16, 2014 8:45:57 AM

I'm not sure that works...in the case I just noticed, there is no checkmark on Premium in the MSL of one station I know of, but yet somebody posted a Premium price at the station. There seems to be no way to zero that out.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:98,329
Points:3,908,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 15, 2014 5:06:29 AM

"yeah you can, go to the station info and edit it, remove the midgrade option, in a few days once it goes into effect all you will see is regular and supreme, ive done it to 2 costco's near me cause people were too dumb to read when they posted prices."

Yes you can do this both from the app and web site. If you do it from the MSL on the web site it is immediate. As fordtech stated, it does take a couple of days for this to go into effect if you do it from the app. The downside is from the app you can "Add a grade" and put the removed grade right back. The same thing can be done from the MSL on the full site.
Profile Pic
GoGoGoodyear
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:4,615
Points:838,450
Joined:Mar 2010
Message Posted: Sep 15, 2014 1:39:45 AM


>> I've never seen so many crybabies. Is this really all we have to do in your life is complaining about what's on the site?... <<

Better watch it pilgrim, them are fight'n words!

On a bit more serious note however, I believe it's only fair that if GB members are willing to donate their time to provide fuel prices and related info to this website (and apps) the least they can expect is that GBO will keep things running smoothly, and we have a right to complain when they don't.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,869
Points:2,271,025
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 15, 2014 12:22:30 AM


Fordtech, that may work on the app (I don’t know; I don’t have access to it.) but there is no linkage on the web site between which grades are checked in the MSL and posting of prices. That means there are a lot of bogus prices and no way to delete them; they just have to age out.
Profile Pic
fordtech6
All-Star Author Stockton

Posts:733
Points:294,990
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Sep 14, 2014 12:57:39 PM

yeah you can, go to the station info and edit it, remove the midgrade option, in a few days once it goes into effect all you will see is regular and supreme, ive done it to 2 costco's near me cause people were too dumb to read when they posted prices.
Profile Pic
rocknvox
Champion Author Bakersfield

Posts:3,248
Points:746,330
Joined:Nov 2012
Message Posted: Sep 14, 2014 12:14:37 PM

I've never seen so many crybabies. Is this really all we have to do in your life is complaining about what's on the site? Maybe you're hanging out at Starbucks too long with your iPad. You need real exercise like go clean your room
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,869
Points:2,271,025
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 13, 2014 1:40:54 AM


Just for the record, Tx is referring to CC’s recent posts in this topic, wherein he explains that there has been so much feedback about recent changes that the Mods have been swamped and have not had time to post in this forum.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,593
Points:859,025
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Sep 12, 2014 7:34:39 AM

In light of CC's response...

I thought I would highlight this statement once again...

"It is wonderful that TPTB are busily taking care of important things like bonus points and not wasting time on silly things like being able to delete bogus prices. And they are keeping us posted on these important developments via Facebook and Twitter, where it is certain that every GB member will see the announcements, and not bothering with notices on *gasprices.com where they would be seen only by those few who actually visit those sites."

Seems like if they fixed broken things before "enhancing" with fluff (bonus points) on a "finely aged system" and used a bit more PPP in how they test and release such changes and communicate such changes (remember when they move Newsville??)....
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,869
Points:2,271,025
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 12, 2014 1:42:01 AM


QFT = Quantum Field Theory (but probably not in this context).
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:13,215
Points:2,098,175
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2014 2:01:40 PM

I had to look QFT up. The technique has no application here, because the Truth Fairy arrives five minutes after you post.
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,594
Points:1,294,490
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2014 9:04:18 AM

Well said jrsva.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,593
Points:859,025
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2014 7:31:02 AM

"It is wonderful that TPTB are busily taking care of important things like bonus points and not wasting time on silly things like being able to delete bogus prices. And they are keeping us posted on these important developments via Facebook and Twitter, where it is certain that every GB member will see the announcements, and not bothering with notices on *gasprices.com where they would be seen only by those few who actually visit those sites."

QFT!
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,869
Points:2,271,025
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2014 12:51:23 AM

It is wonderful that TPTB are busily taking care of important things like bonus points and not wasting time on silly things like being able to delete bogus prices. And they are keeping us posted on these important developments via Facebook and Twitter, where it is certain that every GB member will see the announcements, and not bothering with notices on *gasprices.com where they would be seen only by those few who actually visit those sites.

Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,553
Points:3,012,045
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Sep 10, 2014 7:34:15 AM

Obviously the quality of the data here is not a priority to TPTB.
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,594
Points:1,294,490
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Sep 10, 2014 6:26:38 AM

Sept 10. Still no error correction method.
Profile Pic
Jayburt
Champion Author Toledo

Posts:3,179
Points:541,580
Joined:Jun 2009
Message Posted: Aug 22, 2014 5:04:54 AM

I to once started a thread in our local site asking how to do this now. Many of the people misunderstood it and it became an attack forum on me when I used just as an example 'lets say I accidentally put in a wrong price' which everyone Assumed I did. The question was for a new member who was putting in incorrect prices right after I put in real ones. They are gone now :)
Profile Pic
Gramps252
Champion Author Michigan

Posts:70,440
Points:2,798,150
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Aug 13, 2014 9:21:43 PM

Aug. 13th. - still cannot Zero-out errant prices !
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:98,329
Points:3,908,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 12, 2014 5:10:37 AM

I agree jrsva but know the way this site operates, the "near future" could be 2020.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,869
Points:2,271,025
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Aug 12, 2014 1:15:39 AM


18 June to 12 August is a pretty loose definition of “near future” and it STILL has not been fixed.
Sigh.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:98,329
Points:3,908,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 11:12:14 AM

Nope that was the response from two months ago.
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:7,807
Points:1,296,465
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 11:01:16 AM

MBAcura said: "It seems like the App database and Website database are diverging."

Ok, I saw something along these lines while traveling this weekend. The Marathon station at 9th & Ferry in Lafayette, Indiana had no field for regular fuel appearing in the current version of the app. Since they do indeed sell regular and this is a station I used to routinely report, I thought it odd but didn't have time to look into this until returning to the office.

This morning I checked the MSL and regular fuel is a checked feature. The regular field and price is also appearing on the map. I checked the app again, and sure enough the field was blank; there was still no input field for regular. It was necessary to use the "Add a fuel type" selection from the "Report prices" page of the app and to enter a price before the regular field was properly displayed in the app.

In this case, there was definitely a disconnect between the MSL and what was appearing in the current GasBuddy app.

RG

[Edited by: RichWLIN at 8/11/2014 11:02:12 AM EST]
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,594
Points:1,294,490
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 10:26:08 AM

Scoutmaster, was that a recent response to a question from 2 months ago?
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:98,329
Points:3,908,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 8:12:43 AM

On 6/18/2014, I asked "Why have we lost the ability to zero prices?"

From the moderator Ryan (RD)
"I have forwarded this feedback along to our development team for review to be fixed, they're aware of the problem and it should corrected in the near future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention."
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:7,807
Points:1,296,465
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 6:55:33 AM

I have written to a moderator several times recently with only one response, and it came as a response to a report made through the app...not here on the full web site.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,869
Points:2,271,025
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 12:48:31 AM


“. . . according to the moderators, this feature will be fixed.”

Scout, how did you learn that? We haven’t heard anything from the Mods for weeks.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,553
Points:3,012,045
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Aug 10, 2014 8:59:18 AM

Which stations?
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,594
Points:1,294,490
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Aug 10, 2014 8:43:14 AM

Lately, I've also seen a series of prices get 'stuck', and have sent in a note. You can update the price via App, and it shows correctly, in the App. The website price still has the old prices. And these are really old, like two weeks ago.

Updating it from the website, has no effect.

Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:13,215
Points:2,098,175
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Aug 9, 2014 4:38:25 PM

Yes, it seems that "interlocking" price reporting with MSL station features never made it in the the cash & credit upgrade of the full site. I found a serious unintended consequence of this, for which I separately posted this suggestion.

[Edited by: CampKohler at 8/9/2014 4:39:06 PM EST]
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,594
Points:1,294,490
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Aug 9, 2014 11:07:56 AM

It seems like the App database and Website database are diverging.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,593
Points:859,025
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 9, 2014 7:59:50 AM

Rich, I have been reporting two stations for ages that display regular and diesel on their corner sign. I have bought gas at the one station periodically. I had always been able to report the diesel. Normally I report from my FSL and could still do that, but when I tried to report from the APP, I had to use the "add fuel type".

I checked the MSL a week or so ago and found the diesel was not checked. I tried to update and my system would not let me save the update (wanted me to re-enter the existing LONG/LAT for the station and Then wouldn't save even when I did. I went out of town and forgot about it until the other day. When I tried to update the MSL of the first station from the full website on my phone, it changed the LONG/LAT and when I tried to fix it just hung. I tried from the PC and it was not saving so I had to PM another member to have them correct the stations.

I appears that my FSL from the WEB/PC still allows reporting Diesel regardless of the MSL.
Profile Pic
ronbo2010
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:4,754
Points:647,045
Joined:Apr 2013
Message Posted: Aug 9, 2014 3:34:58 AM

How can you put a mod that takes out the other functions? I have a station that I always pass by and has no diesel. Someone keeps posting diesel prices.
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:7,807
Points:1,296,465
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Aug 8, 2014 10:49:37 PM

GrumpyCat, Have you looked at the MSL for your Sam's Club or some of the other stations that don't sell diesel fuel?

I haven't had as much trouble with these in my area once the MSL has been corrected to reflect only those grades of fuel available. Once you get your stations all corrected, you shouldn't see many of these kinds of incorrect reports unless someone adds the fuel grades that aren't offered back in.

It was trouble enough to zero bogus entries when it was still possible on the full website. Maybe the best approach now would be to spend time correcting station MSL features since the admins here don't seem to care if users can zero incorrect entries?

RG

Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,593
Points:859,025
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 8, 2014 7:27:05 AM

We have not heard a peep from the mods in a very long time...
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:98,329
Points:3,908,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 8, 2014 6:52:55 AM

"Midgrade at (my local) Sam's Club is an obvious certain error because it is not product they sell."

And these should be zeroed out! I understand this feature no longer works but according to the moderators, this feature will be fixed.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,869
Points:2,271,025
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Aug 8, 2014 1:45:38 AM


Goldie, since it is no longer possible to zero out a bad price, the only thing you can do is to post a correct price over it with a later time. There is nothing we can do anymore about bogus prices for grades not sold. GasBuddy is now awash in bad data because of this.
Profile Pic
GrumpyCat
Champion Author Alabama

Posts:5,553
Points:1,306,230
Joined:Jun 2009
Message Posted: Aug 7, 2014 9:55:06 PM

"I had a heck of a time trying to zero out and change a price that I was pretty sure was wrong."

I wouldn't change a price for which I didn't have absolute knowledge.

Let an odd midgrade price stand out. It should be obvious to any observer that something is amiss.

Midgrade at (my local) Sam's Club is an obvious certain error because it is not product they sell. Same for diesel at many stations I know first hand. I keep a favorites list of stations I have personally visited and observed no diesel.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:98,329
Points:3,908,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 7, 2014 10:15:54 AM

goldieolds,

You don't have to zero out a price to change it. Just change it.
Profile Pic
goldieolds
Champion Author Twin Cities

Posts:11,362
Points:1,768,450
Joined:Sep 2007
Message Posted: Aug 7, 2014 9:48:49 AM

BTW, I had already reached my maximum points for posting gas prices before trying to change that price, so I don't know if it would have awarded me more points for any of those steps.
Profile Pic
goldieolds
Champion Author Twin Cities

Posts:11,362
Points:1,768,450
Joined:Sep 2007
Message Posted: Aug 7, 2014 9:40:52 AM

I had a heck of a time trying to zero out and change a price that I was pretty sure was wrong. I'd checked prices at that station about 3 hours prior to posting (no mobile means of posting). I posted prices for all three grades but the midgrade didn't post b/c there was a more recent price posted. That person had posted only midgrade, and that price was 20¢ higher than the price I saw, and this was late at night. This is a station I've monitored a lot, and I know its patterns, and that posting did not fit it. I tried to change it for the time I saw it, but finally gave up and posted it for the current time, in order to make it later than the incorrect price.

In addition to not being able to zero it out, all the steps involved with posting were much more difficult than before, which I would have done much more easily from the maps. Each time I tried the zeroing or posting the correct price, it took me to the page that said that my midgrade price did not update, but I couldn't re-post the price directly from there, b/c it didn't show that station anymore. Eventually I did it from my fsl, but it continued to show the incorrect price. I think it probably worked when I used the later time (not the actual time I saw it).

Such a mess and waste of time.

BTW, my first thought was, of course, that the poster had intentionally posted an incorrect price, but after all the effort, I thought that with these ridiculous changes that make it harder to see what you're doing and figure out which station is which, maybe he or she had innocently posted that price for the wrong station.

[Edited by: goldieolds at 8/7/2014 9:47:09 AM EST]
Post a reply Back to Topics