Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    1:20 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Is there a new way to zero out prices? Back to Topics
rspiano

Champion Author
Tucson

Posts:11,934
Points:2,539,230
Joined:May 2008
Message Posted: Jun 17, 2014 12:39:40 PM

Went to the website, and tried to zero out a midgrade and diesel price for a Costco in Tucson. I clicked on "Costco" in my FSL - it brought up the regular grade prices for all the Costcos in Tucson. Clicked on the "Midgrade" tab at the top - the one errant price showed up. Clicked on the price - it brought up the "Report a Price Here" screen, now with all four grades showing instead of just the grade I chose to correct. I put a "0" in the box, tried checking and unchecking the boxes, putting in just one of the errant prices and both, and each time got a message stating that "There is already a newer price posted for this station and fuel type", even though I did not change the time of the post.

Is there a different way now to zero out bad prices, or possible for this to be fixed? Thanks!
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
Mininana
Sophomore Author New York

Posts:183
Points:40,140
Joined:Dec 2014
Message Posted: Jan 29, 2015 12:39:23 AM

can anybody please do something about brief, nonsensical replies?
Profile Pic
movrshakr
Champion Author Florida

Posts:1,474
Points:2,100,895
Joined:Jan 2008
Message Posted: Jan 28, 2015 9:52:59 PM

.
I wonder if the ability to zero prices was removed because some abused it--zeroing people they didn't like or "just for the fun of it?"

Maybe management feels incorrect prices remaining posted are less of an issue or less abuse than "attack" zero-ing?



[Edited by: movrshakr at 1/28/2015 9:53:46 PM EST]
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:100,504
Points:3,989,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 24, 2015 7:56:06 AM

In my area, the street signs at a lot of stations only show the regular and maybe premium or diesel prices. I always post every price on the street sign.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:13,181
Points:2,351,650
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Jan 23, 2015 11:32:30 PM


BB, I still post prices for all grades but, usually, only for my two local stations, just enough to get my points. Saves me a lot of time but it is still a sad state of affairs.
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,903
Points:1,373,115
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Jan 21, 2015 6:52:20 AM

I'm starting to see the same as what Farmtech mentioned below. Sent several notes to the mods about newbies entering random, inaccurate prices...
Profile Pic
bytebug
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:29,703
Points:4,859,425
Joined:Oct 2001
Message Posted: Jan 21, 2015 6:01:38 AM

>> I used to delete several bogus prices every day. Can’t do that anymore.
>> I used to post every station I passed, sometimes >100 in a day. Don’t
>> bother with that anymore. If they don’t care why should I invest the time?

Ditto. And I believe we're not the only ones. It used to be that stations were updated multiple times per day by different members, and now, it is not unusual to see stations where the pricing info has completely expired or stations where the member has only cared enough to provide the regular gas pricing.

Having been here since almost the start, it is sad to see this site decline to the state it finds itself in currently.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:13,181
Points:2,351,650
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Jan 20, 2015 8:46:19 PM

The software “update” done in June last year broke a lot of GB features, removing bogus prices being just one of them. I do not know if it had anything to do with the OPIS deal or if TPTB at GB simply don’t give a damn about things anymore. I used to delete several bogus prices every day. Can’t do that anymore. I used to post every station I passed, sometimes >100 in a day. Don’t bother with that anymore. If they don’t care why should I invest the time?

Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,903
Points:1,373,115
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Jan 20, 2015 6:52:41 AM

Finally fixed. Another started sticking but it cleared in 24 hours.
Profile Pic
Bills_Fan
Sophomore Author Virginia

Posts:152
Points:37,215
Joined:Jan 2015
Message Posted: Jan 17, 2015 9:48:09 AM

The Admiral in Saginaw shows a price of 3.29.
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,903
Points:1,373,115
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Jan 17, 2015 7:14:17 AM

Yankee, we had that happen here too. Reported to the Mods. Ryan said that he 'unlocked' the diesel price for me and it should be ok now. I posted on the way home yesterday, and now nothing posts there. From either App or web.

Profile Pic
Yankee1979
Champion Author Michigan

Posts:3,956
Points:1,135,585
Joined:Dec 2008
Message Posted: Jan 13, 2015 7:59:47 AM

I've been trying to put the correct diesel price for an Admiral station in Saginaw, Michigan, my problem is that the price is actually $3.29 a gallon but it stays locked on $3.65 a gallon for some reason, which is the old price. So once I put in the correct price the old price just stays there and other users come along and put in the $3.65 price.
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,903
Points:1,373,115
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Jan 13, 2015 6:54:46 AM

There is similar behavior in Central Florida. Some members just enter whatever prices were already in the App, even driving by the station, in front of a sign that has the updated prices. But they can't be bothered to enter the new prices, especially for mid and premium grades.

Profile Pic
FarmTech
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:15,367
Points:2,998,435
Joined:May 2006
Message Posted: Jan 13, 2015 12:20:47 AM

Over 6 months ago, several of my colleagues, my family and I observed some outrageous behavior in a local restaurant. We were finishing our meal and just enjoying some light conversation.

A group of younger adults, both male and female, arrived and were seated several tables away. They immediately disturbed the ambiance with their loud talk and boisterous manner. We could clearly hear their conversations. Half of the group, all males, were laughing about "how stupid and ridiculous" GasBuddy sites were. They ENJOYED entering Diesel Fuel prices at stations that did NOT sell Diesel Fuel. They loved "trashing the system". Some did it because they had a "run-in" with the proprietor and did not like being chastised -- which I bet they deserved. They did it just "piss off the owner and GasBuddy members" because they did not like people that owned a vehicle that used Diesel Fuel. One was even PROUD that GasBuddy had contacted him about his abusive behavior. In his words: "..did not give a s#$t, becuz the MORONS at GasBuddy did nuthin' about it!!!" He wore it on his sleeve like some Twisted Badge of Honor.

As Expected, GasBuddy took over a week to reply to the messaging and they did nothing.

Even after all of the Conscientious GasBuddy Members took their time and effort to report the Pricing Problem, GasBuddy has DONE NOTHING to correct this issue. Their Very Actions are a Slap to the Face and Punch in the Gut of every decent Member that wants to help keep THEIR prices accurate.

You may NEVER hear it from them, but I want to THANK every Member that reported this issue.
Profile Pic
FarmTech
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:15,367
Points:2,998,435
Joined:May 2006
Message Posted: Jan 12, 2015 11:55:23 PM


I do not the Management and/or Programmers on this site simply give a s%#t.
Profile Pic
gax
Champion Author Midland Odessa

Posts:34,967
Points:3,945,695
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jan 12, 2015 5:08:36 PM

Impressive. The inability to delete or zero out bogus prices was reported and acknowledged back in June 2014. And I still can't delete bogus prices 7 months later. It sure would be nice to be able to delete prices for product that does not exist at a particular station.

I was trying to delete a diesel price today for an Alon station that does not sell diesel. I could not do it from my IOS app or by zeroing out from the full website on my PC.

I was, however, able to go on and edit the MSL to remove the diesel availability for this station. After doing this I noticed that when using my app to pull up this station, it no longer showed diesel on the list of prices I could update. However, the full website still shows the bogus diesel price posted by an uninformed user 13 hours ago.

I hope the ability to remove prices for non-existent grades is returned to us again (he says wishfully).
Profile Pic
topcat57
Champion Author Memphis

Posts:234,260
Points:3,437,455
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Oct 3, 2014 2:01:59 AM

I would settle for a way to do it. Period. I came across several bogus diesel prices on the Memphis site today, all at stations which don't sell diesel, but there's no way to delete them.

TPTB asked we notify them when we find these types of prices. I did, and of course received no reply and if/when I do the prices in question will have long since dropped off the list, but why not just reinstate the ability to zero out prices? Come on, guys. This shouldn't be rocket surgery!
Profile Pic
rando991
Champion Author Missouri

Posts:1,450
Points:878,825
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Sep 30, 2014 9:43:37 AM

There should be a way to do it that is consistent.
Profile Pic
topcat57
Champion Author Memphis

Posts:234,260
Points:3,437,455
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Sep 18, 2014 2:38:39 AM

Sorry, it was my first time down this particular road which is why I said YMMV. You're right though. I posted the same bogus price myself as a test (sorry, but it was in the name of science), looked at the diesel lowest-price list, and there it was. I logged out and opened the site in a new window, and there it was. <blushing> Logged back in and it's gone again. I can't believe this has apparently been going on for several months, and they still haven't addressed it.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,682
Points:3,054,625
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Sep 18, 2014 1:26:40 AM

topcat57 - We've been down this road before. The price disappears only for the person who tried to zero out the price. If you log out and search again, you will probably find it is still there.
Profile Pic
topcat57
Champion Author Memphis

Posts:234,260
Points:3,437,455
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 10:49:43 PM

I just discovered something (after discovering last week that you can't APPEAR to zero out wrong prices). Apparently this has been going on for several months, but Memphis posters must have been behaving as I haven't seen any bogus prices recently. I saw a price for diesel at a station I know doesn't sell diesel, so I tried the usual way of zeroing it out by clicking on the posted price and entering 0.00. I saw the usual "there's been a later price posted" message, BUT when I went back and looked where the bogus price had been posted it had vanished. It was halfway down the lowest price list, so it didn't get bumped off the bottom in the meantime. So it APPEARS you can still zero out prices in spite of the message stating you can't. YMMV.

[Edited by: topcat57 at 9/17/2014 10:54:27 PM EST]
Profile Pic
GrumpyCat
Champion Author Alabama

Posts:5,807
Points:1,371,840
Joined:Jun 2009
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 9:25:11 PM

Without a means of removing diesel prices from stations I know full well do not have diesel, I no longer check my "no diesel" favorites list.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:100,504
Points:3,989,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 1:21:50 PM

"so lets say a station doesn't sell premium, but since there's still a premium report block there (and it is NOT checked in the MSL), would checking it present, submit, then uncheck submit (within the MSL)...would that remove the premium price block for reporting?"

It should. I know when this was suppose to have taken place the club stations in my area (Sam's Club and Costco) did have the mid-grade box, Now they do.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,682
Points:3,054,625
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 10:01:54 AM

From what I've seen, leaving the availability of a grade of fuel unchecked in the MSL removes the icons that say that grade is available and forces app users to go through extra steps to report that grade of fuel. That is, if the grade is unchecked in the MSL, the price block will not show up on the app but the app user can "add a fuel type" to report it anyway. I don't think it does anything wrt the price blocks on the website.

I also don't believe that unchecking the box in the MSL will remove it from price searches. Unchecking may have reduced the number of people reporting that price from the app so that the price aged off but probably did not delete the price outright.

[Edited by: Scrapheap at 9/17/2014 10:05:12 AM EST]
Profile Pic
rando991
Champion Author Missouri

Posts:1,450
Points:878,825
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 9:43:26 AM

so lets say a station doesn't sell premium, but since there's still a premium report block there (and it is NOT checked in the MSL), would checking it present, submit, then uncheck submit (within the MSL)...would that remove the premium price block for reporting? I'm just trying to understand how this is supposed to work, because from I'm seeing, it is not stopping the block from appearing...the only thing the check mark is doing is preventing the icon for that gas type from appearing.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:100,504
Points:3,989,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 6:38:19 AM

June 29, 2014 Goodbye to grades that a station doesn't have
Starting on Android and iOS, we have included the ability to turn on/off fuel types. This means that when a station doesn't sell a fuel type (typically mid grade or diesel), the station won't be listed in the price list for that grade and the grade won't be shown when reporting prices!

This doesn't mean they're gone forever. As you know, GasBuddy station information comes from YOU! We rely on members like you to keep station information up-to-date. If you notice a missing fuel type that the station does carry, let us know when reporting prices, by tapping "Add a Fuel Type".

That linkage was suppose to exist but it appears it doesn't. Even if it does, having "Add a Fuel Type" on the app could totally undermine it. In my opinion, the only way a station features should be changed is via the MSL.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:13,181
Points:2,351,650
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 17, 2014 1:22:50 AM

As I posted here two days ago, “. . . there is no linkage on the web site between which grades are checked in the MSL and posting of prices.” Which is to say, there is nothing to prevent folks from posting bogus prices for grades not sold and there is currently no way for us to delete those bogus prices. Come on Mods, get this fixed.
Profile Pic
rando991
Champion Author Missouri

Posts:1,450
Points:878,825
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Sep 16, 2014 8:45:57 AM

I'm not sure that works...in the case I just noticed, there is no checkmark on Premium in the MSL of one station I know of, but yet somebody posted a Premium price at the station. There seems to be no way to zero that out.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:100,504
Points:3,989,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 15, 2014 5:06:29 AM

"yeah you can, go to the station info and edit it, remove the midgrade option, in a few days once it goes into effect all you will see is regular and supreme, ive done it to 2 costco's near me cause people were too dumb to read when they posted prices."

Yes you can do this both from the app and web site. If you do it from the MSL on the web site it is immediate. As fordtech stated, it does take a couple of days for this to go into effect if you do it from the app. The downside is from the app you can "Add a grade" and put the removed grade right back. The same thing can be done from the MSL on the full site.
Profile Pic
GoGoGoodyear
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:4,996
Points:875,980
Joined:Mar 2010
Message Posted: Sep 15, 2014 1:39:45 AM


>> I've never seen so many crybabies. Is this really all we have to do in your life is complaining about what's on the site?... <<

Better watch it pilgrim, them are fight'n words!

On a bit more serious note however, I believe it's only fair that if GB members are willing to donate their time to provide fuel prices and related info to this website (and apps) the least they can expect is that GBO will keep things running smoothly, and we have a right to complain when they don't.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:13,181
Points:2,351,650
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 15, 2014 12:22:30 AM


Fordtech, that may work on the app (I don’t know; I don’t have access to it.) but there is no linkage on the web site between which grades are checked in the MSL and posting of prices. That means there are a lot of bogus prices and no way to delete them; they just have to age out.
Profile Pic
fordtech6
All-Star Author Stockton

Posts:993
Points:373,590
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Sep 14, 2014 12:57:39 PM

yeah you can, go to the station info and edit it, remove the midgrade option, in a few days once it goes into effect all you will see is regular and supreme, ive done it to 2 costco's near me cause people were too dumb to read when they posted prices.
Profile Pic
rocknvox
Champion Author Bakersfield

Posts:3,558
Points:825,955
Joined:Nov 2012
Message Posted: Sep 14, 2014 12:14:37 PM

I've never seen so many crybabies. Is this really all we have to do in your life is complaining about what's on the site? Maybe you're hanging out at Starbucks too long with your iPad. You need real exercise like go clean your room
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:13,181
Points:2,351,650
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 13, 2014 1:40:54 AM


Just for the record, Tx is referring to CC’s recent posts in this topic, wherein he explains that there has been so much feedback about recent changes that the Mods have been swamped and have not had time to post in this forum.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,836
Points:877,840
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Sep 12, 2014 7:34:39 AM

In light of CC's response...

I thought I would highlight this statement once again...

"It is wonderful that TPTB are busily taking care of important things like bonus points and not wasting time on silly things like being able to delete bogus prices. And they are keeping us posted on these important developments via Facebook and Twitter, where it is certain that every GB member will see the announcements, and not bothering with notices on *gasprices.com where they would be seen only by those few who actually visit those sites."

Seems like if they fixed broken things before "enhancing" with fluff (bonus points) on a "finely aged system" and used a bit more PPP in how they test and release such changes and communicate such changes (remember when they move Newsville??)....
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:13,181
Points:2,351,650
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 12, 2014 1:42:01 AM


QFT = Quantum Field Theory (but probably not in this context).
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:13,707
Points:2,172,730
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2014 2:01:40 PM

I had to look QFT up. The technique has no application here, because the Truth Fairy arrives five minutes after you post.
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,903
Points:1,373,115
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2014 9:04:18 AM

Well said jrsva.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,836
Points:877,840
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2014 7:31:02 AM

"It is wonderful that TPTB are busily taking care of important things like bonus points and not wasting time on silly things like being able to delete bogus prices. And they are keeping us posted on these important developments via Facebook and Twitter, where it is certain that every GB member will see the announcements, and not bothering with notices on *gasprices.com where they would be seen only by those few who actually visit those sites."

QFT!
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:13,181
Points:2,351,650
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2014 12:51:23 AM

It is wonderful that TPTB are busily taking care of important things like bonus points and not wasting time on silly things like being able to delete bogus prices. And they are keeping us posted on these important developments via Facebook and Twitter, where it is certain that every GB member will see the announcements, and not bothering with notices on *gasprices.com where they would be seen only by those few who actually visit those sites.

Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,682
Points:3,054,625
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Sep 10, 2014 7:34:15 AM

Obviously the quality of the data here is not a priority to TPTB.
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,903
Points:1,373,115
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Sep 10, 2014 6:26:38 AM

Sept 10. Still no error correction method.
Profile Pic
Jayburt
Champion Author Toledo

Posts:3,736
Points:620,430
Joined:Jun 2009
Message Posted: Aug 22, 2014 5:04:54 AM

I to once started a thread in our local site asking how to do this now. Many of the people misunderstood it and it became an attack forum on me when I used just as an example 'lets say I accidentally put in a wrong price' which everyone Assumed I did. The question was for a new member who was putting in incorrect prices right after I put in real ones. They are gone now :)
Profile Pic
Gramps252
Champion Author Michigan

Posts:70,999
Points:2,874,750
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Aug 13, 2014 9:21:43 PM

Aug. 13th. - still cannot Zero-out errant prices !
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:100,504
Points:3,989,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 12, 2014 5:10:37 AM

I agree jrsva but know the way this site operates, the "near future" could be 2020.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:13,181
Points:2,351,650
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Aug 12, 2014 1:15:39 AM


18 June to 12 August is a pretty loose definition of “near future” and it STILL has not been fixed.
Sigh.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:100,504
Points:3,989,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 11:12:14 AM

Nope that was the response from two months ago.
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:8,248
Points:1,377,480
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 11:01:16 AM

MBAcura said: "It seems like the App database and Website database are diverging."

Ok, I saw something along these lines while traveling this weekend. The Marathon station at 9th & Ferry in Lafayette, Indiana had no field for regular fuel appearing in the current version of the app. Since they do indeed sell regular and this is a station I used to routinely report, I thought it odd but didn't have time to look into this until returning to the office.

This morning I checked the MSL and regular fuel is a checked feature. The regular field and price is also appearing on the map. I checked the app again, and sure enough the field was blank; there was still no input field for regular. It was necessary to use the "Add a fuel type" selection from the "Report prices" page of the app and to enter a price before the regular field was properly displayed in the app.

In this case, there was definitely a disconnect between the MSL and what was appearing in the current GasBuddy app.

RG

[Edited by: RichWLIN at 8/11/2014 11:02:12 AM EST]
Profile Pic
MBAcura
Champion Author Orlando

Posts:4,903
Points:1,373,115
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 10:26:08 AM

Scoutmaster, was that a recent response to a question from 2 months ago?
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:100,504
Points:3,989,915
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 8:12:43 AM

On 6/18/2014, I asked "Why have we lost the ability to zero prices?"

From the moderator Ryan (RD)
"I have forwarded this feedback along to our development team for review to be fixed, they're aware of the problem and it should corrected in the near future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention."
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:8,248
Points:1,377,480
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 6:55:33 AM

I have written to a moderator several times recently with only one response, and it came as a response to a report made through the app...not here on the full web site.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:13,181
Points:2,351,650
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Aug 11, 2014 12:48:31 AM


“. . . according to the moderators, this feature will be fixed.”

Scout, how did you learn that? We haven’t heard anything from the Mods for weeks.
Post a reply Back to Topics