Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    8:05 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: HoustonGasPrices Web site is broken! Back to Topics
Sneakers55

Champion Author
Houston

Posts:62,778
Points:2,737,045
Joined:Nov 2005
Message Posted: Nov 5, 2013 7:27:31 AM

HoustonGasPrices Web site is not showing Houston area prices, but those for random areas in the nation and Canada. The site is listing random places, along with a BP station. There are no BP stations on Texas. The high prices switch from American format to Canadian format in the middle. My Favorite Stations are missing. The clock is set to Central Daylight Time, not Central Standard Time.

REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,976
Points:2,300,050
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Nov 28, 2013 12:05:05 PM


Clearing the cookies and cache did NOT work for me (Win7-Pro, FF25.0.1).
There is an extensive discussion ongoing in This Site Having Problems?
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: Nov 19, 2013 11:18:32 AM

Following some recent updates made to the sites, you may need to start a new session with the website.

To do this, make sure you're logged into your username, then:

1) Clear/delete the cookies and temporary files for YourHomeSiteGasPrics.com from your browser, you can choose to either clear all cookies from your browser, or just the cookie for the GasBuddy home site. Instructions for how to do this can be found under your browser help area if you're not sure.

2) If you're logged into a username, proceed to log out of your username (after clearing cookies)

3) Exit your browser entirely

4) Open your web browser

These steps will start a new session with your home site.

These steps have reportedly been solving user issues with the sites.

Other members have used different browsers to find the site(s) work as intended, which indicates to us this is a caching issue. The old files for the site need to be dumped from your browser and re-downloaded.

Let us know if this helps.

-Don
Profile Pic
DiannaFan
Champion Author Utah

Posts:2,080
Points:749,375
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Nov 8, 2013 9:43:31 PM

I suspect cookies. I boot the same static virtual machine every day, but today it went wonky like what was described. The same VM in the same state has been working fine for at least a month.
Profile Pic
mloborny
Champion Author Lincoln

Posts:18,511
Points:3,651,755
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Nov 8, 2013 1:56:09 PM

Now it is spontaneously working, though I did nothing since I last posted. Poltergeist!
Profile Pic
mloborny
Champion Author Lincoln

Posts:18,511
Points:3,651,755
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Nov 8, 2013 1:44:59 PM

I'm having the same issue. I cleared my Firefox cache and restarted. Still no change. I've switched to Safari and so far so good, but Firefox is my default browser. I hope a solution shows up.
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: Nov 7, 2013 4:01:02 PM

Sneakers55,

What you were describing would sound like a caching issue (which, a large amount of the site uses cached data). With some of the site updates and server changes that have been going on behind the scenes, there have been some issues arising like what you've described, but dumping browser caches and beginning fresh sessions with the site seems to resolve the problems.

Do you have anything else to report on this, or does the problem seem to have been resolved by clearing out your Safari data?

-Don
Profile Pic
GoGoGoodyear
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:4,744
Points:851,480
Joined:Mar 2010
Message Posted: Nov 7, 2013 2:02:51 AM


Could be connected to the very recent format changes and old page structures still cached in the browser. Other less-obvious website page components may have been changed along with the visible forum format changes.

The best option IMO (esp. from a security viewpoint) is to clear the cache on every browser exit instead of keeping 50+ MB of junk files around.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,655
Points:865,190
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Nov 6, 2013 9:13:11 AM

Experienced the same thing on TAMPA today. Seems to be a rash of these reports so it seems that maybe something is going on with gasbuddy sites. Has anyone also been unexpectedly logged out when changing tabs (Inbox, clicking on other tabs or notifications)?
Profile Pic
Sneakers55
Champion Author Houston

Posts:62,778
Points:2,737,045
Joined:Nov 2005
Message Posted: Nov 6, 2013 1:13:05 AM

I went in and reset everything in Safari except the top sites. That seems to have fixed the problem.
Profile Pic
Scoper
Champion Author Dallas

Posts:16,600
Points:3,389,155
Joined:Sep 2005
Message Posted: Nov 5, 2013 6:49:42 PM

Sneakers55: Exact same problems on Dallas.
Profile Pic
pgerassi
Champion Author Milwaukee

Posts:13,790
Points:2,817,645
Joined:Apr 2007
Message Posted: Nov 5, 2013 12:09:03 PM

Try clearing your browser's disk cache. It worked for my browser (Opera 12.16). milwaukeegasprices.com now displays and works correctly.

In Opera, first you do not have the page in any tab and then you click:
tools, advanced, cache, disk cache clear now.
It takes 30-60 seconds (for 50MB) and then try to enter site.
Profile Pic
CC
Moderator
Message Posted: Nov 5, 2013 11:31:07 AM

Sneakers55,

Try holding [Shift] + Refresh to refresh the page. We are not able to replicate any of what you describe.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:98,984
Points:3,937,940
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Nov 5, 2013 10:44:53 AM

Looks fine to me.
Post a reply Back to Topics