Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    3:12 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: How to add a station to Gas Buddy? Back to Topics
da_ewoks

Rookie Author
Omaha

Posts:2
Points:55,265
Joined:May 2011
Message Posted: Oct 18, 2013 6:56:37 PM

Is there a way to add a gas station to Gas Buddy myself or does it have to go through an admin?
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:6,955
Points:726,645
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Oct 22, 2013 7:45:24 AM

Plevin - I am not from the area where that station is, but it looks like it might already be in the MSL but has been sold and has a name change. Look under BP until it gets corrected. Hopefully someone from that side of the bay will check it out and update it soon with new photo and check the station details.

If you can get a photo and check the current record and put in if there are any changes, and post in that thread -- you can upload photo to something like photobucket or some other site and provide link, someone can grab it to update the photo.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,344
Points:2,103,800
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Oct 22, 2013 12:30:55 AM

You are right, Plev, you must be a “senior” member but that is not really much seniority. It takes only 10k points, so you would be almost there if you had posted five prices each day since joining on 12 October, and you would be even closer if you had looked at some news articles and answered the weekly polls. So start posting prices for other stations and pretty soon you will be able to add your 7-Eleven to the MSL. Welcome to GasBuddy!

And Da, with 19k points you have more than enough seniority to edit the MSL. Go for it.

Profile Pic
plevintampabay
Rookie Author Tampa

Posts:6
Points:1,720
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 21, 2013 12:53:08 AM

Btw RogerB, I do not have access to the Master Station List. When I clicked the link you gave, I get the same message I get when trying to add a new station - only Senior members have access.
Profile Pic
plevintampabay
Rookie Author Tampa

Posts:6
Points:1,720
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 21, 2013 12:38:02 AM

Thanks guys for the excellent replies. I'll give them a try.

I recently started leasing a new VW Bettle convertible diesel. All of the stations listed for my area had prices above 3.83. A few blocks away from one of them is a 7-11 with diesel at 3.73. I'll try your ideas for getting this 7-11 listed on the MSL.
Thanks again.
Profile Pic
RogerB
Champion Author Indianapolis

Posts:20,556
Points:3,108,545
Joined:Dec 2005
Message Posted: Oct 20, 2013 10:34:14 PM

BTW, it is still possible, though not recommended, to post a price for a station not already listed. Just go to the "Report Gas Prices" at the top of the home page, fill in the Station, Area, Address, and price(s). Preferably the address should be in the standard format: 1234 Main St. & Cross St. If the form is not open, click on "Report Gas Prices" or Show to open the form.

It is preferable, however, to add any unlisted stations to the MSL. In addition to the link at the bottom, you can also get there by selecting Master Station List in the Gas Prices Menu at the top of any page.

I find the easiest way to add a new station is to find the location of the station on the map (making sure there is not already a pin there). Then click the exact location where you want the new pin to go, then click the "Create New Station Here" link which pops up. That will open a new Station Record page, where you can enter the information for the station you want to add.



[Edited by: RogerB at 10/20/2013 10:35:23 PM EST]
Profile Pic
RogerB
Champion Author Indianapolis

Posts:20,556
Points:3,108,545
Joined:Dec 2005
Message Posted: Oct 20, 2013 9:58:52 PM

I see one of my links below didn't come out right. Trying again to link to the Members Messaging Area where you can send a PM


[Edited by: RogerB at 10/20/2013 10:00:18 PM EST]
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,388
Points:3,523,665
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Oct 20, 2013 6:59:24 PM

plevintampabay:

"Hello, I too am a newbie to this site, and I would like to add a gas station. I've tried and this site says I have to be a senior member. Someone in this thread suggested PM-ing the moderators."

While your question has been answered by RogerB, as scoutmaster noted, to become a "senior member", all that's required is member has earned at least 10,000 points, which can be done in as little as about a week and a half. All that's required to reach that level is regular gas price posting, reading the news articles, voting in the weekly poll, and/or taking part in the discussions.

Profile Pic
RogerB
Champion Author Indianapolis

Posts:20,556
Points:3,108,545
Joined:Dec 2005
Message Posted: Oct 20, 2013 4:50:49 PM

To PM the Moderators (or anyone else in your Buddies list), go to the [L=]Members Messaging Area[/L] in the Community menu at the top of the page. Select GB Moderator from the top of your list, and write and send a message from there.

Asking a moderator will work, eventually, but it would be much quicker and better to ask another member to do it. The Moderators have a lot to do, and it takes them a while to respond to emails and PM's.

I would suggest posting a message containing the details of the station (Brand, Name, address, crossroad, and any information on station features you have on your local forum Tampa discussion. If that doesn't get quick results, post the same info here and someone will take care of it.

In the mean time, keep posting those prices, and soon you will be able to do it yourself.

[Edited by: RogerB at 10/20/2013 4:51:25 PM EST]
Profile Pic
plevintampabay
Rookie Author Tampa

Posts:6
Points:1,720
Joined:Oct 2013
Message Posted: Oct 20, 2013 3:34:58 PM

Hello, I too am a newbie to this site, and I would like to add a gas station. I've tried and this site says I have to be a senior member. Someone in this thread suggested PM-ing the moderators. How can that be done? Thanks.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:95,292
Points:3,742,540
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Oct 19, 2013 10:37:32 AM

Being a rookie has nothing to do with it da_ewoks. It is the amount of points you have earned. You have earned the minimum number (10,000) to make changes and add stations to the MSL. If this isn't working for you, PM the moderators.
Profile Pic
da_ewoks
Rookie Author Omaha

Posts:2
Points:55,265
Joined:May 2011
Message Posted: Oct 19, 2013 10:14:43 AM

Thank you, I did check the map and the gas station I'm talking about is not on it. I'm still a rookie member thus I can't add it. I will try but if it doesn't work I will ask someone on my buddy list that has more seniority to do it.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,508
Points:1,967,525
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Oct 19, 2013 2:40:26 AM

You might want to take along this form so you will know what data to collect for a new station.
Profile Pic
jrsva
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:12,344
Points:2,103,800
Joined:Jan 2006
Message Posted: Oct 19, 2013 12:37:42 AM

Please be very sure that the station is not already in the MSL, possibly under a different name. Stations sometimes change ownership or the brand of gas they sell and the change will not show up in the MSL until someone, such as yourself, notices it and edits the listing. The easiest thing is to use the Gas Price Map. Zoom in on the area where your station is located and be sure to select “All Stations” from the menu in the lower right corner so that stations with no recent price postings will show up. If you find your station you can edit the listing to bring it up to date. If it is really not there you can create a new listing.

Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,388
Points:3,523,665
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Oct 18, 2013 10:02:29 PM

You can add a station's gas prices via the home page's Report Gas Prices box and you can add a station to Master Station List yourself as long as you're a "senior member", a member that has 10,000 or more points.

You can find a link to the Master Station List at the bottom of this page under "Gas Prices". The instructions are self-explanatory and the only thing you need to be cognizant of is whether or not the station is already listed so you don't create a duplicate. If the station is already listed, you can edit the entry (again, as a "senior member").

Does that answer your question?
Post a reply Back to Topics