Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    7:37 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Posting Prices Not Showing Up, Location Off Back to Topics
TNforE0

Champion Author
Tennessee

Posts:1,276
Points:1,182,520
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Sep 28, 2013 3:07:47 PM

For about a week now, some of the prices I post on the Android App do not show up, but yet I will get credit for points. I usually post the same station in the morning and the afternoon, yet sometimes it will show I didn't post anything, only one grade, or one station and not another. I have uninstalled the App and reinstalled. Another problem is location, it likes to put me 35 miles to the NW every time I turn on the App. Over one weekend I made three trips to that area and now it is stuck on that location, turning on the GPS will put me in the right location, but I never had to do that for the App before.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,231
Points:3,857,240
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Oct 12, 2013 11:36:12 AM

I've never had the problem of the prices I post on the Android app showing up. And if your location is off, refresh the app.

Man, you would think this is rocket science!
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,411
Points:821,200
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Oct 12, 2013 10:02:53 AM

DavisSta <<<<"If you run into such issues, you can always use the browser on your device to go to the full TennesseGasPrices.com website and post the prices from there. The full websites are not subject to the proximity restriction, because they are not typically used with mobile devices. ">>>>

But that won't work for the OP because he wouldn't get his stupid APPS awards that are apparently so important that he would stop posting. I understand his disappointment, but maybe he should look more to the challenge of providing accurate price data to get the best price.

But, when we see folks saying they will quit posting if they don't get their APPS awards, we can see why GBO is so reluctant to do anything about the abuse we have seen along with the introduction of the APPS (at least in some areas). Hmmm, might be interesting to be able to see which sites have the most price abuse... ;-)

@RogerB - He stated the Android in the first line. His title was descriptive of the problem. Other devices/OS might have similar problem. I have no problem with the title and putting Android App in the first line. It might be good to include the device and OS versions as well and if rebooted the device, reinstalled the app,etc.
Profile Pic
bytebug
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:29,209
Points:4,726,725
Joined:Oct 2001
Message Posted: Oct 12, 2013 8:03:46 AM

>> you should always have GPS on when using the GasBuddy app

Not all devices have GPS, or for that matter, cell servIce.
Profile Pic
DavisSta
All-Star Author San Francisco

Posts:781
Points:3,039,860
Joined:Jun 2004
Message Posted: Oct 12, 2013 2:48:33 AM

RogerB wrote:

"Google maps shows my location correctly, and follows me as I move. But the map in the GB app says it can't find my location."

I've noticed the same thing. Google Maps' location abilities seem to be superior to those in the GasBuddy app. I've wondered why that might be. Could GasBuddy be searching less hard in order to conserve battery life? Or perhaps Google Maps is making use of the known locations of wi-fi networks that it detects as being nearby, while GasBuddy is not. Or maybe Google Maps just has a superior algorithm.

Sometimes when the GasBuddy app is having trouble locating me (for example, asks whether I have GPS enabled even though I already do have it enabled), I open Google Maps. My impression is that once Google Maps locates me, that helps GasBuddy locate me, but I could be wrong.

RogerB asked:

"why would you expect it to work with the GPD [typo for GPS] off?"

Android devices can get a rough fix on your location by determining which cell tower you're connected to, even if GPS is off. But I agree that since the GasBuddy app needs to know that you're pretty close to the station you're reporting on, you should always have GPS on when using the GasBuddy app.
Profile Pic
RogerB
Champion Author Indianapolis

Posts:20,886
Points:3,223,220
Joined:Dec 2005
Message Posted: Oct 12, 2013 2:13:23 AM

"Chasing awards is not the purpose of this site."

- I agree!

It would help if the title of this topic indicated that it was about the Android app.

I've had days when NO price I posted would show up - neither on the Android NOR the main site. I would see the confirmation message: "Thank You for posting these prices", but the new prices never show up.

I have the same problem with the location, WITH GPS on and working (why would you expect it to work with the GPD off?)
Google maps shows my location correctly, and follows me as I move. But the map in the GB app says it can't find my location.

This is intermittent for me - sometimes it works, sometimes not.
Profile Pic
DavisSta
All-Star Author San Francisco

Posts:781
Points:3,039,860
Joined:Jun 2004
Message Posted: Oct 12, 2013 1:49:42 AM

TNforE0 wrote:

"some of the prices I post on the Android App do not show up, but yet I will get credit for points. ... sometimes it will show I didn't post anything, only one grade, or one station and not another. ... Another problem is location, it likes to put me 35 miles to the NW every time I turn on the App."

The two problems--the app not finding your correct location and the prices not showing up--are related. Your postings will not be accepted by GasBuddy as valid if you're too far away from the station when you post, or more precisely if the app THINKS you're too far away, perhaps because it doesn't have an accurate fix on your location, as seems to have been happening in your case.

You probably will not immediately notice that anything is wrong, because you'll get the usual thank-you message and point credit for posting the prices. However, if you check the TennesseGasPrices.com website, you will notice that your posted prices are missing. (You may see your postings in the Android app if you check immediately after posting, apparently due to some sort of caching.)

My observation is that sometimes--perhaps if you're on the cusp of appearing to be too far away--the prices for just some of the grades will stick, even though you have entered prices for all the grades. This rather idiosyncratic behavior is consistent with what you are reporting.

I often have the problem of the app thinking I'm too far away from the station when I post prices, because the GPS on my phone does not work very well. The problem is compounded because I often post prices from a train or bus as I pass the stations, and the GPS cannot keep up with my current location. If you run into such issues, you can always use the browser on your device to go to the full TennesseGasPrices.com website and post the prices from there. The full websites are not subject to the proximity restriction, because they are not typically used with mobile devices.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,231
Points:3,857,240
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Oct 11, 2013 6:07:59 AM

Darn! Dang! Crap!

Chasing awards is not the purpose of this site.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,411
Points:821,200
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Oct 11, 2013 5:25:53 AM

"but my "Ironman" reward was reset now only showing 2% towards level 5. Really? Only 3 months short of 2 years, second time I have been burned on "Ironman", just another reason not to go out of your way to post everyday. Gave up on the Commuter Award looks like its time to give up posting prices everyday. "

Most of us are NOT here to chase app awards, but to provide prices to help our membership find the best prices. There are much bigger things in life than watching awards that mostly are known only to yourself.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,925
Points:2,051,725
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Oct 11, 2013 1:16:34 AM

When you say prices don't show up, do you mean that the Find Gas Near me map or list does not reflect a price that you just reported? Or do you mean that the full site not reflect the price? (Have you looked with both?)

When you have reported a price, do you get the thank you message confirming your report? Sometimes you think you hit the submit button, but the button doesn't actually get pressed (in which case, you should see your price report still ready to be sent).
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,840
Points:3,638,800
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Oct 10, 2013 11:21:51 PM

It's entirely possible that the original post was simply missed by the moderators. Considering that no other members posted to the thread, it's less "So much for any response..." than apparently just one of those happenings.

Rather than depend on the moderators to respond to your particular "posting issue" in this thread, you may want to contact the moderators directly by clicking on the "Help" link at the top of the page and, under "Website Feedback", click on the "Leave Feedback" link and explain the issue. Realize, however, that the small Gas Buddy staff reportedly receives several hundred messages and e-mails daily and their response may not be immediate. And, it's possible that (if you don't see a relatively quick response), it's simply something that was (again) missed.

Profile Pic
TNforE0
Champion Author Tennessee

Posts:1,276
Points:1,182,520
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Oct 10, 2013 10:39:36 PM

So much for any response, of course my app crashed a few weeks ago like everybody else, cleared the data and cache to post a price. Everything is back, since the "fix", but my "Ironman" reward was reset now only showing 2% towards level 5. Really? Only 3 months short of 2 years, second time I have been burned on "Ironman", just another reason not to go out of your way to post everyday. Gave up on the Commuter Award looks like its time to give up posting prices everyday.
Post a reply Back to Topics