Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    7:13 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: GasBuddy App (Android) Back to Topics
SetecAstronomy

Sophomore Author
Tampa

Posts:204
Points:2,525,515
Joined:Jul 2006
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2013 6:25:00 AM

Today the app is telling me it can't find my location, and is asking if GPS is enabled. I have changed nothing on my phone, and have rebooted it several times. Short of uninstalling and reinstalling the app, is there something going on with the app?
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,657
Points:865,480
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Sep 14, 2013 8:26:44 PM

Thank you SetecAstronomy for the update!
Profile Pic
SetecAstronomy
Sophomore Author Tampa

Posts:204
Points:2,525,515
Joined:Jul 2006
Message Posted: Sep 14, 2013 8:24:13 PM

Phone is an LG Motion 4G.
Android Version 4 (Ice Cream Sandwich)
All my apps were up to date; for good measure I had uninstalled and reinstalled the app.
The other app giving me problems was a free NOAA Weather app. Both were having issues with finding my location.

Long story short, it was the Google Location thingy. It seems to have resolved itself after taking a few days as both of those apps are working fine now. It just was odd that everything was working on 9/10 and then not on 9/11. (completely unrelated I'm sure) By process of elimination I just wanted to make sure there were no issues with the GasBuddy app. I now know if I have this problem again I'll just blame Google. LOL
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,657
Points:865,480
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Sep 12, 2013 7:16:17 AM

What phone?
What Android Version
What APP version (is it up to date?)
What is the other app that is giving you similar problems?
Have you been with another gasbuddy to see if they have the same problem in the same locations?
Profile Pic
SetecAstronomy
Sophomore Author Tampa

Posts:204
Points:2,525,515
Joined:Jul 2006
Message Posted: Sep 12, 2013 4:41:15 AM

I had rebooted it several times prior to posting this topic. I even went so far yesterday as to remove the battery for a few minutes but still had the same problem after putting it back in.

Strangely, when the app first loads (after enabling GPS, the only way I could get it to work), it was giving me gas stations that were like 100 miles away from me. A minute later after refreshing it showed ones closer to me.

But I have another app that is giving me similar problems. I didn't "need" to have GPS enabled before in order for the app to somewhat-work, but now I do. All of my location services (Google's Location Service and Location & Google Search) were active. I guess I'll try uninstalling/reinstalling the app to see if that helps.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:99,065
Points:3,941,715
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2013 7:51:46 AM

Great point Byte Doc!

And TxJeans is spot on as well! We forget these smart phones are actually a mini computer and rebooting from time to time is a good idea.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,657
Points:865,480
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2013 7:18:41 AM

I find sometimes it just takes rebooting the device itself. How long has it been since you turned it off and back on?
Profile Pic
Byte_Doctor
Champion Author Akron

Posts:7,058
Points:1,406,715
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2013 7:07:01 AM

You could also try another app that uses GPS to see if it is working otherwise. If not, even though you didn't change anything I'd make sure the setting to enable location services is turned on.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:99,065
Points:3,941,715
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Sep 11, 2013 6:45:56 AM

You could be in a "dead" wireless zone. That happens to me on occasion. If this is happening regardless of where you are then I would try uninstalling and re-installing the app.
Post a reply Back to Topics