Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    4:09 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Home page takes too long to load Back to Topics
plastic

Champion Author
Virginia

Posts:47,693
Points:3,021,420
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jul 24, 2013 8:14:09 AM

I can't scroll down to the news links until the ads load. I can't do anything on slower systems until the ads load. Is there any way you can optimize the loading so that the ads are secondary to the page? I'm not sure if the adblocker people see a delay.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,031
Points:3,849,890
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 19, 2013 1:07:40 PM

If the issue is ads, block 'em! That should help the page load faster. Oh yeah, dump I.E. unless you have to use it.
Profile Pic
plastic
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:47,693
Points:3,021,420
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 19, 2013 1:01:48 PM

That's true, Rich. I do remember that about the ad banners. Oh well, took my favs off of the home page and I don't have the problem any more.
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:7,506
Points:1,237,005
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Aug 17, 2013 4:35:28 PM

Hey plastic,

I just noticed this topic for the first time. One of my older PC's uses Win XP with IE 8 and I have noticed a similar issue with forum page loading; in particular the vertical banners on the right side of the page are slow to load and the browser seems locked up until they do. The problem is not as prevalent on the home page as it is elsewhere. For what it's worth, the computer is virus free and I don't have a long Favorites List.

Last week I was on another PC that also is still running XP and IE and noticed the same slow loading. We still use XP on these computers because they have somewhat expensive software loaded that is essential to our business and an upgrade right now would be a hard hit to the pocket book.

Chrome and Firefox both seem to work fine on the XP OS. I'm on IE 10 and Win 8 right now with no problems.

RG
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,031
Points:3,849,890
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 17, 2013 8:12:43 AM

Let's look at this plastic.

"I can't do anything on slower systems until the ads load."

So asking what system is a stupid question? How are we to know if you are using a Mac OS X or Windows XP (many versions) or Windows 7 (many versions) or Windows 8 (many versions) of Unix or Linux?

And I don't work in computers. I work with computers. I'm a little to big to get in a computer.
Profile Pic
plastic
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:47,693
Points:3,021,420
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 16, 2013 1:24:40 PM

Scoutmaster, for a guy who claims to work in computers, you sure ask a bunch of pretty stupid questions.

I asked for help and TB provided the answer.

As Gas_Buddy pointed out, this topic should now be closed.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,031
Points:3,849,890
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Aug 7, 2013 8:53:05 PM

plastic,

You haven't answered a lot of questions.

What is a "slower system"?

which OS and which browser/s are you using?

Have the PCs been scanned lately?

You ask for help yet you don't offer any feedback.
Profile Pic
plastic
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:47,693
Points:3,021,420
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 7, 2013 4:31:37 PM

I added a new list titled, "blank," and set it as the default list. That actually works. The list management still might need to be fixed. Oh that reminds me that I have to report a filter problem in the app.
Profile Pic
plastic
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:47,693
Points:3,021,420
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Aug 7, 2013 4:27:49 PM

Alright. Another problem related to this one. I moved my favorites to a new list that I labeled "archive". Now every time I visit, it will load my new archive list and delay opening of my home page. I thought I saw somewhere where I can set which list is the default list.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,031
Points:3,849,890
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jul 26, 2013 7:06:13 PM

Aw shucks plastic!

Thanks for the clarification CampKohler. Using uncommon acronyms can and usually leads to many interpretations and many of those interpretations can be incorrect.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,883
Points:2,045,605
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jul 26, 2013 5:58:07 PM

IR8 was a typo; I meant IE8.

AV = antivirus
Profile Pic
plastic
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:47,693
Points:3,021,420
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jul 26, 2013 7:58:39 AM

>" Yeah ya might, but ............"

...but nobody is as wise as the Scoutmaster.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,031
Points:3,849,890
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jul 25, 2013 11:47:59 PM

TxJeans,
IR8 could bet IRS and AV could be CK slang for avast!

"Seriously, guys. Read and give me a little credit that I might know something about what I'm posting."

Yeah ya might, but ............
Profile Pic
plastic
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:47,693
Points:3,021,420
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jul 25, 2013 10:52:17 PM

CK, TB's suggestion worked perfectly. I did find another issue but I need to test and experiment before I bring it up.

GB, you're right. I wanted to get the feedback in here though.

As for the rest of the posts, what a waste of time and space. Seriously, guys. Read and give me a little credit that I might know something about what I'm posting.
Profile Pic
bytebug
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:29,183
Points:4,720,600
Joined:Oct 2001
Message Posted: Jul 25, 2013 9:26:03 PM

>> What would be handy for stuff like this is a program that will display all the sites called by
>> a page and how long it took for each of them to load.

Been there, done that.

>> contacting the site admin with the results might prompt them to fix the problem

If the library computers are locked down, you are unlikely going to be able to debug this problem yourself. It's up to the library's IT person.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,374
Points:816,035
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jul 25, 2013 8:03:28 PM

Scoutmaster - CK was scurrying to much I think and made a typo. IR8 is probably IE8. Apparently the library is still on IE8. As far as the "AV" checking...I suspect he is referring to the Anti Virus program checking...
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,031
Points:3,849,890
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jul 25, 2013 3:54:26 PM

"I can't say whether or not the library has a customized version of IR8."
What is IR8?

"I don't even know how that might effect loading time. Perhaps something to do with AV checking?"
What is AV checking?
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,883
Points:2,045,605
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jul 25, 2013 3:35:56 PM

BB: I can't say whether or not the library has a customized version of IR8. I don't even know how that might effect loading time. Perhaps something to do with AV checking?

What would be handy for stuff like this is a program that will display all the sites called by a page and how long it took for each of them to load. Then you might be able to pinpoint where the problem is. If such a program had enough of a reputation, contacting the site admin with the results might prompt them to fix the problem.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,802
Points:3,631,450
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jul 25, 2013 3:22:54 PM

The moderators already answered the request in the original post, saying "The home page is optimized so that the advertisements are the last things to load on the page."

Perhaps this topic can be closed.



[Edited by: Gas_Buddy at 7/25/2013 3:27:31 PM EST]
Profile Pic
bytebug
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:29,183
Points:4,720,600
Joined:Oct 2001
Message Posted: Jul 25, 2013 2:57:37 AM

>> I have noticed for a long time that IE8 (at least as used on library PCs) typically takes
>> minutes to finish loading the home page

I've used IE8 recently, and noted no delays. I used quite a range of different browsers on different platforms and all of them load GasBuddy pages in a second or two. Always.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,031
Points:3,849,890
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jul 24, 2013 11:24:09 PM

plastic,

What do you mean by "slower systems"?
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:7,374
Points:816,035
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jul 24, 2013 8:03:13 PM

Plastic - which OS and which browser/s are you using?
What sort of "slower" systems are you using?
Have the PCs been scanned lately?
Keep us posted of your results of trying other browsers or changing your FSL.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,883
Points:2,045,605
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jul 24, 2013 5:08:33 PM

Would such an infection only affect (as tested over a year's time) one kind of browser, but not another, on hundreds of PCs having practically bullet-proof virus protection, that are cleaned of all user files after each session and will not allow external executables to run? If not, then the problem I see with IE8 is not likely to be due to an infection.
Profile Pic
bytebug
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:29,183
Points:4,720,600
Joined:Oct 2001
Message Posted: Jul 24, 2013 3:56:53 PM

Abnormally slow page loads are often signs of an infected PC.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,031
Points:3,849,890
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jul 24, 2013 2:38:25 PM

I have no load issues what so ever. I use Chrome Version 28.0.1500.72.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,883
Points:2,045,605
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jul 24, 2013 2:36:58 PM

I have noticed for a long time that IE8 (at least as used on library PCs) typically takes minutes to finish loading the home page, although on some few days, it loads normally. Other site pages always load normally after that. This problem does not occur with FF, which always loads quickly. I conclude that there is something about a particular ad(s) that causes this with IE8 and that the problematic ad(s) isn't always present.

I have a long FSL, but on the few days when things are fine, the long FSL has no effect, so I don't believe that is the problem. It certainly does not impede FF. If that theory is correct, paring down or eliminating FSLs will not fix the problem. Before decimating one's FSL, I would suggest trying a different browser(s)* to make sure the problem occurs on all of them.

----
*It's a good idea to have IE, FF, Chrome and Safari installed on your PC to try out in situations like this to see if the problem is browser-dependent. Just make sure you read the mice-type opt-out offers to install tool bars and other crapola very carefully; these can be the very devil to get rid of once installed, but are no problem at all if not installed.
Profile Pic
plastic
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:47,693
Points:3,021,420
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Jul 24, 2013 11:56:21 AM

Great suggestion and I didn't realize that the favorites list contributed to that. Thanks.
Profile Pic
TB
Moderator
Message Posted: Jul 24, 2013 10:45:55 AM

Hello plastic
The home page is optimized so that the advertisements are the last things to load on the page. If I could suggest and improvement I would try to trim down your favourite stations list that loads by default when you come to the site. I just did a count and your home page is having to load up 60 stations every time you go to the home page. I think if you were to split those into smaller lists it will make the page load faster.

Just a suggestion.
Post a reply Back to Topics