Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    7:59 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Website problem? Gas prices jump back & forth Back to Topics
2ty

Rookie Author
Oakland

Posts:47
Points:620,065
Joined:Apr 2005
Message Posted: May 8, 2013 8:16:31 PM

I am viewing the STOCKTON CA webpage. Regular gas prices on the home page are all about 27 cents cheaper than those viewed on the California page. They matched earlier today. I have seen this happen several times in the past.

My other computer gets the correct (higher) prices. Both machines are XP with Mozilla Firefox browser. What's going on?? Have refreshed and even rebooted!

-Mike-
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
DiannaFan
Champion Author Utah

Posts:1,621
Points:632,795
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Jun 19, 2013 9:49:47 PM

I'm always logged on, so I wouldn't see the problem. (I use a dedicated system just for GasBuddy, so this isn't a problem.) I suspect that most people don't manually log out at the end of the session.

(Public service announcement: As a general rule, you should ALWAYS log out of any system when you finish using it for a significant period of time.)
Profile Pic
2ty
Rookie Author Oakland

Posts:47
Points:620,065
Joined:Apr 2005
Message Posted: Jun 18, 2013 5:58:28 PM

It's still going on, this time on my office computer everything is 20 cents cheaper until I log on then the prices correct themselves. I've now experienced this on 4 different computers, 3 locations, 3 different ISP's so I'm surprised that no one else has reported it.
Profile Pic
2ty
Rookie Author Oakland

Posts:47
Points:620,065
Joined:Apr 2005
Message Posted: Jun 10, 2013 1:24:59 PM

Is that a question?

It's now happening on a 3rd computer, Win8 this time. Different location, different ISP. Again, the prices are low, this time by 19 cents across the board, and the prices correct themselves when I log on.
Profile Pic
olympusman2004
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:3,900
Points:892,600
Joined:Apr 2012
Message Posted: Jun 5, 2013 1:26:49 AM

and your consecutive days
Profile Pic
2ty
Rookie Author Oakland

Posts:47
Points:620,065
Joined:Apr 2005
Message Posted: May 22, 2013 2:02:42 AM

No, I can't imagine such a setting!
It happened again a few minutes ago, this time all of the prices were 21 cents lower and again the prices corrected when I logged on. All browser and operating system updates are current and antivirus and anti-malware programs say that all is well.
-mike-
Profile Pic
DiannaFan
Champion Author Utah

Posts:1,621
Points:632,795
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: May 21, 2013 10:33:09 PM

Since you said you saw the correct time showing both before and after logging on, your browser was showing what the website sent you at the time it sent it to you. I'm not an expert (though I do run a few) but I can't see how that could be a problem with the browser. There isn't a setting somewhere that adjusts how prices are viewed is there?
Profile Pic
2ty
Rookie Author Oakland

Posts:47
Points:620,065
Joined:Apr 2005
Message Posted: May 21, 2013 2:29:43 AM

I'm sorry if I wasn't clear. Back in my original posting on this subject, I compared prices for the same update of the same stations on both the Stockton and California sites. They were different, the Stockton listings were all low by 27 cents but after several reloads, reboots, and perhaps logging on the prices matched again.

In my recent post, I reported that the prices on the Stockton default 'Lowest' listing were all exactly 25 cents lower than the same listing after logging on. This is not a case of prices changing, it is a case of a prices failing to list properly. The condition seems to restore itself when I log on. This has happened on 2 different computers though both use XT and Firefox. Is it a website problem or a browser problem...I don't know.

-Mike-
Profile Pic
DiannaFan
Champion Author Utah

Posts:1,621
Points:632,795
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: May 20, 2013 11:50:38 PM

Gasbuddy, the same people might not update on multiple sites, but the updates do propogate. I can see what I updated on multiple sites.


[Edited by: DiannaFan at 5/20/2013 11:51:37 PM EST]
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,589
Points:3,583,160
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: May 20, 2013 3:40:19 PM

Just asking, 2ty, the same Gas Buddy members don't necessarily provide input to both the Stockton Gas Buddy site and to the California Gas Buddy site for Stockton area gas stations). Consequently the two lowest Stockton gas prices weren't the same on both the Stockton Gas Buddy website and the California Gas Buddy website.

Second, you wrote "I didn't do a search, I defaulted to the HOME list of lowest/highest priced stations." My opening of the Home page for the California Gas Buddy site didn't show any Stockton area gas prices; in order to find Stockton prices on the California Gas Buddy site I had to do a simple search.

The above is just for reference, that's all.
Profile Pic
2ty
Rookie Author Oakland

Posts:47
Points:620,065
Joined:Apr 2005
Message Posted: May 19, 2013 10:54:47 PM

It has occurred a few more times, once on a different computer (also XT and Firefox). This time, all of the posted 'lowest' prices were exactly 25 cents lower than real. I've seen 25, 26, and 27 cent differences over the last few episodes, each time, all prices had the same error. I reloaded the site several times without change but when I logged on, the prices corrected themselves. BTW, the time posted on the site was correct and incremented as time passed so it wasn't old cached stuff.

-Mike-
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: May 10, 2013 3:25:52 PM

That would be great, keep us posted.

-Don
Profile Pic
2ty
Rookie Author Oakland

Posts:47
Points:620,065
Joined:Apr 2005
Message Posted: May 10, 2013 2:14:17 PM

Don,
I didn't do a search, I defaulted to the HOME list of lowest/highest priced stations. I need to repeat that this is an intermittent problem, most of the time everything is fine but once every few weeks all of the prices jump down together. Reloading doesn't help, but after awhile, when I return to the site, the prices have returned to 'normal'. I wondered if, for some reason, the display had changed to Canadian dollars but the current exchange rate is almost 1:1 so that isn't what's happening.

I will start paying more attention to the details if/when it occurs next time, especially to see if it simultaneously appears on a second machine or alternate browser and if the indicated date/time is current.

-Mike-
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: May 9, 2013 6:08:43 PM

Hi 2ty,

Can you let us know what search items you're using for both web pages (Stockton site and California site)?

I have two similar searches set up for the Stockton site and California - Stockton site set up (all stations in all Stockton areas) and these lists appear to have identical results.

The only difference being is that the California site will show prices in the list up to 36 hours old, and the Stockton site will only show prices in the list up to 24 hours.

Do these two searches show you different results?

-Don
Profile Pic
2ty
Rookie Author Oakland

Posts:47
Points:620,065
Joined:Apr 2005
Message Posted: May 9, 2013 2:13:27 AM

The prices came back to normal soon after I posted. They were uniformly erroneous, offset downward, each about the same. As I mentioned, this same situation has occurred several times in the last couple of months and hasn't been cured by reloading. Fortunately the prices move so low that it is easy to know when it's happening. I'll also try to check the date/time to see if it is old data being displayed, but I don't think that is what's happening since all the prices are equally in err.
Profile Pic
Wanda127
Champion Author Florida

Posts:4,797
Points:1,459,010
Joined:May 2010
Message Posted: May 9, 2013 12:35:44 AM

I've had to actually close the page & open it again to refresh it when the prices are not showing correctly.

Also I've had the mobile app not post my prices with my name sometimes. It was post only the reg. fuel price but the mid grade & premium price stay with the previous person & the amount they posted.
Profile Pic
DiannaFan
Champion Author Utah

Posts:1,621
Points:632,795
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: May 8, 2013 9:04:42 PM

You are looking at the same stations on both sites, right?

Check the clock at the upper right of the page and make sure it's showing a current time. Your ISP might be using a misbehaving proxy that's showing you old data.
Post a reply Back to Topics