Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    7:21 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Metro-area stations excluded from state search when search is saved. Back to Topics
CampKohler

Champion Author
Sacramento

Posts:11,482
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Apr 27, 2013 2:20:32 PM

Whenever the Save Search box is checked on a live search or if a saved search is executed, all metro-area stations are omitted from the search results as documented here. Without prominent user instructions visible announcing that this is desired behavior, it can only be assumed that this is a defect. Please fix.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: May 4, 2013 8:00:01 AM

I did that GGG. Got the EXACT same results.

And based on the OP, my post of May 3, 2013 6:19:19 AM is applicable.
Profile Pic
GoGoGoodyear
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:3,428
Points:688,975
Joined:Mar 2010
Message Posted: May 3, 2013 9:32:09 PM


scoutmaster,

You're wrong about that. The station being in a metro area or not has nothing to do with this error. Read my Apr 29, 2013 2:49:50 PM post below (4th up from the end) for details on reproducing this bug.

Essentially what is happening is that two searches that are IDENTICAL and performed side-by-side in 2 browser windows (or within 1 or 2 minutes of each other) are returning vastly different results (many less stations) if the checkbox to 'Save This Search' is checked!

Try it in your area and let us know what you find.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: May 3, 2013 6:19:19 AM

Here's the deal - if the area isn't in the metro area, it won't show in the search. That seems to be the difference in the searches.
Profile Pic
GoGoGoodyear
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:3,428
Points:688,975
Joined:Mar 2010
Message Posted: May 2, 2013 10:38:16 PM


The important thing is that a bug was found and it can be reproduced by others on more than one state / city GB site which confirms it's not a fluke.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: May 1, 2013 10:18:07 PM

"I think scoutmaster might be thinking the search for a California area was made from a Michigan site or vice versa?"

Well Don based on this post from CampKohler

"PC Location: North Highlands CA
Sites used: sactogasprices.com and detroitgasprices.com"

Yes. And the link in the OP doesn't support this. As you stated, the screen shots were from the same site.
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: May 1, 2013 5:25:32 PM

I think scoutmaster might be thinking the search for a California area was made from a Michigan site or vice versa? CK probably meant a similar search was made on both of the sactogasprices.com and detroitgasprices.com websites.

The search outlined in the screen grabs was definitely made from the same website, the radio buttons in the search options also both display Sacramento metro area. Otherwise the area name and station brand drop down menus would be different.

The results are replicable, and I've forwarded the issue toward the developers for further review.

Thanks for your help.

-Don
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: May 1, 2013 4:46:59 PM

I have researched things for other members. Based on the OP that is not what appears to be happening here. It appears that you, CampKohler, decided to head on over to the Detroit site and nose around.

There is nothing wrong with helping others figure out problems.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,482
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: May 1, 2013 4:35:54 PM

If you don't want to research a problem for another member, then fine. But please don't criticize those who do.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Apr 30, 2013 9:22:00 PM

CampKohler,

I don't think you link and your explanation make sense. The sites you say you used are from two different states yet the link is from the same state.

I'm not going to waste my time venturing into other states an investigating their MSL's unless I am asked to by the powers that be.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,482
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Apr 30, 2013 6:07:34 PM

SM: If you think the present problem is not occurring, don't be so lazy and pick on other people's research; do you own and present it.
Profile Pic
GoGoGoodyear
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:3,428
Points:688,975
Joined:Mar 2010
Message Posted: Apr 29, 2013 6:05:53 PM


While trying various searches I also discovered this possible bug saving multiple searches with the same name.
Profile Pic
GoGoGoodyear
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:3,428
Points:688,975
Joined:Mar 2010
Message Posted: Apr 29, 2013 5:49:50 PM


I was able to duplicate this error* when searching.

Search criteria: State: California, Stations: ARCO, Areas: All Areas, Regular, 24 hrs;

on a search (without saving) the results contained many more stations than when the same search was performed with the 'Save This Search' enabled. The searches were done side by side in two browser tabs within a minute of each other.

Similar results were obtained with Search criteria: State: California, Stations: Circle K, Areas: All Areas, Regular, 24 hrs; the search results without saving were the maximum of 100 stations, and the results with the 'Save This Search' box checked contained only 13 stations.

And further testing obtained similar results with Search criteria: State: Kansas, Stations: Flying J, Areas: All Areas, Regular, 24 hrs; the search results without saving contained 8 stations, and the results with the 'Save This Search' box checked contained NO (0) stations.

* Note that I didn't compare if the missing stations in the search results were from metro areas or not, just that two searches with the same criteria conducted within a minute or two of each other should return essentially the same list of stations.


[Edited by: GoGoGoodyear at 4/29/2013 5:53:22 PM EST]
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Apr 29, 2013 5:13:39 AM

"PC Location: North Highlands CA
Sites used: sactogasprices.com and detroitgasprices.com"

The sites in your examples are two different Metro sites in two different states? The link you posted doesn't back that up, CampKohler.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,482
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Apr 28, 2013 3:46:51 PM

PC Location: North Highlands CA
Sites used: sactogasprices.com and detroitgasprices.com
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Apr 27, 2013 5:57:26 PM

Where was the search executed from?
Post a reply Back to Topics