Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    12:20 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Slow page loads? Back to Topics
Michael29644

Champion Author
Greenville

Posts:6,763
Points:1,173,950
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Mar 1, 2013 11:34:04 PM

For the past 2 or 3 days, I've noticed that page loads are extremely slow at times, mostly late in the evening. I've tried a couple of GB sites on XP and 7 using current versions of IE, FF, and Opera, and the results have been the same. Last night, after posting prices I even got an error that said there was a server error with a link to click to return to the home page. It took several minutes for the problem to clear up. Anyone else seeing this problem?
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,483
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Apr 12, 2013 5:04:18 PM

Today, after the site upgrade, IE8 (on the same library PCs and network) loads the home page is a few seconds and does not busy out the browser (as mentioned earlier). Let's hope it holds permanently.
Profile Pic
buckeyecountry
Champion Author Ohio

Posts:10,115
Points:1,030,155
Joined:May 2011
Message Posted: Apr 7, 2013 7:19:29 PM

oh great.....I just uninstalled IE10 on my wife's laptop to go back to IE8
Profile Pic
bytebug
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:28,196
Points:4,452,580
Joined:Oct 2001
Message Posted: Apr 7, 2013 6:14:10 PM

An increasing number of sites have or are planning on dropping support for IE8.

The Internet Explorer 8 Countdown
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,483
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Apr 7, 2013 5:01:43 PM

I just noticed that on IE8, the entire browser is busy while the home page is loading, that is, you can't open other tabs, etc. Whereas on Mozilla, only the tab in question is busy and all the others work fine. I don't know the significance of that.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,483
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Apr 7, 2013 4:47:25 PM

Another different library branch today: IE8 = very slow to load home page, Mozilla = OK.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,483
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Apr 6, 2013 3:24:23 PM

Nope, no screen saver, and the videos were running OK while GB was grinding away, but not watching did not improve things on Mozilla.

It got so bad two days ago, that I began to believe it was the network instead of GB. I tried Safari on my iPhone on the Wifi (same network) and it was consistently fast (2-second posts and 6-second page completions). The IT guy here then thought it must be a browser issue.

Today I am at a different library branch and there is no problem whatsoever with Mozilla. I did check IE8 and it still takes forever to load the home page as reported earlier, but no delay moving to any other page thereafter.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:22,304
Points:4,007,405
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 11:27:04 PM

No, the likely problem is that you're running a screen saver! All those saved screens start clogging things up unless you track them down and delete them!
Profile Pic
GoGoGoodyear
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:3,431
Points:689,975
Joined:Mar 2010
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 7:45:25 PM


CK,
"And then there are always YT cat videos
to watch until they are done."

Well there's your problem... those videos are using up all your bandwidth and loading down your CPU!
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 3:53:56 PM

Aside from issues that can arise from user ISP connectivity issues, we see our highest piques in server traffic during the morning (people checking into GB before they go to work and/or reporting prices during their commute), beginning of the evening (people checking in to GB at the end of the day or reporting prices on their way home), and around midnight (everyone rushing to get their activity and points clocked in before the end of their consecutive day period).

Users should keep this in mind when they leave their point earning activity to the last minute, occasionally someone will experience a longer load time when reporting prices/posting forums message/etc right around midnight that can lead to a loss in CD count.

-Don
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,483
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 3:37:35 PM

Sometimes I will have four FF tabs open on GB, with all of them grinding away on changing pages, posting a forum msg or whatever. And then there are always YT cat videos to watch until they are done.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,483
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 1:41:20 PM

I have been using FF, because IE8 took minutes to load the home page. But for the last several days, FF grinds away, too. On these PCs, no way to disable Shockwave in either, unfortunately.
Profile Pic
Gordon
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:14,995
Points:691,255
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 7:53:32 AM

I did a Google on Flash Ad blocking and found that you can turn off "Shockwave Flash" in Internet Explorer, using Tools/Manage Addons, and then disabling it. Then I did some entries on gasbuddies -- and no more slow page loads! Thanks, guys!

(Now I just have to figure out how to do selective blocking by website...)
Profile Pic
Gordon
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:14,995
Points:691,255
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 7:29:11 AM

I'm not sure what a Flash ad is. Is that one with motion and video? If that's the case, then yes, it is a flash ad.
Profile Pic
bytebug
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:28,196
Points:4,452,580
Joined:Oct 2001
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 4:46:03 AM

>> Is it a Flash ad?

Anyone still running Flash is inviting malware onto their system. All mainstream sites have switched to using HTML5, which all modern browsers support.
Profile Pic
sagnat
Champion Author Riverside

Posts:1,857
Points:603,220
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 2:36:32 AM

I only notice that when I try to access from my work computer before heading home after midnight.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:22,304
Points:4,007,405
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Apr 3, 2013 2:30:49 AM

Is it a Flash ad? Flashblock is a nice way to disable those, without cutting off all ads completely.
Profile Pic
Gordon
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:14,995
Points:691,255
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Apr 2, 2013 9:32:55 AM

I've finally figured out that it's one particular banner ad that slows my PC down. It's the "AUDI Spring Has Vorsprung Sales Event" ad that gums things up. When other ads appear, there's no problem. There must be something wrong in the script. Now if I could only shut that ad off...
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,483
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Mar 19, 2013 2:42:07 PM

Could be, but I don't know why IE8 would be any slower on a library PC than any other PC or why it only affects the home page. No problem with Mozilla (which is the only other browser available at the moment).

Suppose you wanted a page load to be slow, how would you manage it? The client only sends the request; the server is responsible for sending the reply. Is there a "take-three-or-four-minutes-to-load" command? And why only the home page?

I don't know if it is relevant to the problem, but when editing a wikispaces.com wiki, which echos back characters, IE8 takes about 1/2 second to echo each character, slowing typing way down (due to the natural tendency to not type the next char until the previous one is visible). Mozilla echos back with no perceptible delay (but it has other problems).

[Edited by: CampKohler at 3/19/2013 2:46:54 PM EST]
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 11, 2013 8:37:39 AM

Must be the library computer CampKohler uses.
Profile Pic
bytebug
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:28,196
Points:4,452,580
Joined:Oct 2001
Message Posted: Mar 11, 2013 6:12:00 AM

The problem isn't with Internet Explorer. I use IE exclusively and don't see any slowdowns.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:16,277
Points:2,688,035
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Mar 10, 2013 9:23:36 PM

Switch to Fierfox and download Adblock.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 10, 2013 8:07:12 PM

Then don't use I.E. CK.

I use Chrome and experience minimal slow downs.

[Edited by: scoutmaster at 3/10/2013 8:09:58 PM EST]
Profile Pic
Gordon
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:14,995
Points:691,255
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 10, 2013 8:42:55 AM

Problem still exists. The page loads, but waits for the ads to be displayed 30 seconds to a few minutes later. Until the ads have been received, I can't type anything or go to other tabs. (I can go to another IE session though).

Is anybody at gasbuddies working on this problem? It's getting really annoying.

[Edited by: Gordon at 3/10/2013 8:49:43 AM EST]
Profile Pic
Dewdude19
Rookie Author California

Posts:7
Points:23,390
Joined:Mar 2013
Message Posted: Mar 9, 2013 10:18:17 AM

Yeah, i noticed it was a bit slow
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,483
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Mar 8, 2013 5:58:08 PM

Today, with IE8 I had 1 to 3-minute waits while the home page loaded all those ads. It seemed to be OK when moving around other site pages, but getting the delay if returning to the home page. If I was able to open another tab, I could get to other sites in less than a second while GB was still stuck.

I switched to FF and noticed no delays at all, so there is something affecting IE8.
Profile Pic
Gordon
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:14,995
Points:691,255
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 7, 2013 9:31:56 AM

YES!!! I'm having slow page loads too on torontogasprices.com for the past few days. It seems to be waiting a very long time for the banner ads to come through. Sometimes it takes 30 to 60 seconds, and sometimes it takes several minutes before the page is complete and I can continue.
No problems on any other websites for me -- just Gasbuddies. It's getting really annoying!
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 6, 2013 6:42:13 AM

AOK here! No issues (other than the recent snow) or problems!
Profile Pic
TxDaleJr88Fan
Champion Author College Station

Posts:6,132
Points:658,150
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Mar 5, 2013 11:58:52 PM

Same issue again (as posted a few days ago) at just a few minutes after midnight CT(3/5) and it did it again at 3:10 PM CT today (3/5). I cleared cache and tried other GB sites to no avail. Other misc web pages loaded right up. I checked about 20 minutes later both times and the GB site loaded fine. I use the iPad 4 if you need to know. Not a big deal but would be interested in knowing what the issue could be.

Thanks
Jr
Profile Pic
Michael29644
Champion Author Greenville

Posts:6,763
Points:1,173,950
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Mar 5, 2013 8:49:39 PM

I just contacted the mods about this problem with a reference to this thread so they can see it's affecting different people on different sites. I've asked for a response to be posted here.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:11,483
Points:1,839,130
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Mar 5, 2013 5:14:52 PM

This is my second attempt to post this.

Today I clicked a station's Map button and it never got there. When I clicked the browser back button, it never got back, either. I switched browsers and was still getting nowhere, finally getting a "connection refused by server" page. So off to other sites for about 5 mins and finally GB started working when I went returned. Very strange.

When I hit Post Message for this post (the first time) it timed out after 5 mins. Other sites (Youtube, etc.) were working fine during these waits. Let's hope this post goes through OK.

XP w/ FF or IE8.
Profile Pic
Coco0828
Champion Author Dallas

Posts:2,474
Points:445,540
Joined:Aug 2012
Message Posted: Mar 3, 2013 7:14:57 PM

I've noticed that to.
Profile Pic
TxDaleJr88Fan
Champion Author College Station

Posts:6,132
Points:658,150
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Mar 2, 2013 9:39:09 PM

I experienced the same issues on the same nights at 10 PM CT using the IPad4. Tried 4 different GB sites in 3 different time zones to no avail. All other websites were working perfectly. It took about 7 minutes or so for the site to work perfectly again.
Profile Pic
Michael29644
Champion Author Greenville

Posts:6,763
Points:1,173,950
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Mar 2, 2013 10:27:15 AM

After making that post last night (which took almost 1 minute to display after I clicked Post Message), I tried to refresh my Favorite Topics page. It took almost 3 minutes to load. I went to the Nova Scotia and Dallas sites (I wanted to try sites in different time zones) and both of them were slow on both computers in all 3 browsers. Cleared cache on a couple of browsers, made no difference. Within a few minutes, the problem went away. All other non-GB sites load fine during these times. I recall this happening before and there was some explanation, but it's been a while and I don't remember what the issue was. This happened Thursday night when I was posting prices, which was one of the times I got the error message, but the prices did post. So for now, I'm betting on DNS issues related to something like an ad server.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:6,109
Points:631,065
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Mar 2, 2013 9:36:02 AM

Fine over here at the Tampa site. Maybe post in your local site to see if they are having problems....
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:91,040
Points:3,583,920
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Mar 2, 2013 8:19:14 AM

Is this happening on any other site?

Have you cleared your cache?

[Edited by: scoutmaster at 3/2/2013 8:19:35 AM EST]
Post a reply Back to Topics