Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    11:05 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Gas station cannot be found on www, but is found on iPhone? Back to Topics
PETRODATAjames

Rookie Author
California

Posts:60
Points:581,235
Joined:Jan 2013
Message Posted: Feb 3, 2013 12:28:00 PM

If I use the zip code lookup on the www (98548), it shows nothing. If I lookup that same zip code on the iPhone, I do find that station. This station is one I would like to my "Favorites" on the www.
Thanks
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,373
Points:2,957,450
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Feb 12, 2013 11:12:04 AM

PETRODATAjames - On which site do you want this to appear in your FSL, California or Washington?
Profile Pic
ziyulu
Champion Author Austin

Posts:11,106
Points:2,204,775
Joined:Aug 2007
Message Posted: Feb 9, 2013 8:35:03 AM

I've noticed that as well. One time a station changed brands and now it shows up as the old station and new station on the app. I've accidentally entered a price for the old station because the address was the same.
Profile Pic
PETRODATAjames
Rookie Author California

Posts:60
Points:581,235
Joined:Jan 2013
Message Posted: Feb 9, 2013 6:42:20 AM

I have been updating this stations pricing, but I still have to go to maps to find the station. If I just do the Zip code search, it is not found. I really want to add this site to My Favorites, just to by pass all of this hoop jumping.
Thanks for any help...
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,373
Points:2,957,450
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Feb 3, 2013 5:44:53 PM

No. If you update the price, it should show up immediately.

I suggest you not try to add the station to your FSL the way you are trying. In searching for gas prices, GasBuddy has this quirk where it takes a zip code and maps it to an area. If that area is not in its database, it will return nothing. This station is so remote that I believe it will never show up the way you are looking for it.

If however you put the zip code into the map, that always works. Simply open the price balloon and click on the star, that will add it to your FSL. I am also assuming you are doing this on WashingtonGasPrices, not CaliforniaGasPrices. If you are trying to go across states, you need to use a different, more convoluted method.
Profile Pic
PETRODATAjames
Rookie Author California

Posts:60
Points:581,235
Joined:Jan 2013
Message Posted: Feb 3, 2013 4:13:35 PM

Thanks, I did as you suggested, I found it on the map. Now, I have updated the fuel prices and I am guessing it will take a bit of time for it to show up on Gas Buddy, yes?
Profile Pic
maxstar
Champion Author Chicago

Posts:21,976
Points:1,411,725
Joined:Feb 2011
Message Posted: Feb 3, 2013 1:13:54 PM

Gas prices that are updated will expire, and the gas map on this site filters out the stations with old prices. There is a drop down menu on the map that allows all the stations to show. When I tried it on the zip code you provided, a Shell station that was previously not show did after adjusting the time frame. The station looks like its last update was Friday. Once updated with a current price, it should show again.

Despite what some would tell you, gas updates are the most important contribution to the site and that is the reason more points are given for price updates than any other contributions. Without price updates there would be no GasBuddy and so that is the reason some long time members with very low points will get reminded about updating them. Thank you for your contributions, PETRODATAjames for your contributions in price updates. You will find that in just the three weeks you have been a member you have earned more points than some have in years.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,373
Points:2,957,450
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Feb 3, 2013 1:07:19 PM

Search for it using the map. Make sure the time in the lower left corner of the map is set for All Stations.
Post a reply Back to Topics