Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    10:39 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Missing station brand logos Back to Topics
DoctorV

Champion Author
Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 1, 2013 9:51:18 AM

I use the Android app for searching and reporting prices. Some stations do not display the station brand logo, even if they are part of a national chain. Is there a way for a user to upload a logo on the master station list?
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 26, 2013 10:04:38 AM

Thank you.
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: Feb 26, 2013 10:01:51 AM

Sometimes some stations need their brand settings adjusted on the admin side, I've updated the logo icons for the SM_ID's you've provided.

-Don
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 12, 2013 7:55:58 PM

MSL #:

158615 = Sunoco
109285 = Shamrock
10863 = Citgo
Profile Pic
dgsteven
Champion Author Los Angeles

Posts:2,964
Points:662,050
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Feb 12, 2013 3:04:26 AM

it is okay for me
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:6,791
Points:706,775
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Feb 10, 2013 8:52:39 AM

A bit off topic from the OP
@kwzh "Seems to me that the logical thing to post is whichever is on the sign that you can see from the street. That's what people will have to be looking for while driving, after all. "

That has been stated by me in my comments about the dual pricing and the flag. Even if the PTB give us two fields (cash, and credit) we will still have folks putting data in the wrong field. The two fields will need to be tied to a flag in the MSL so that the 2 fields only show when it is a dual station. Additionally, the flag should still show since signage regulations and practices vary from place to place (Apparently some location is trying to regulate that they post the highest price or both prices). Even with the flag and dual fields, we will have folks putting prices in the wrong field. Count on it.

I suspect a big reason that a lot of the suggestions have not been addressed is due to the APPS and the increased amount of programming to address the full website, the m.website and the different APPS.

@scoutmaster - Yep, it would be good to announce such changes and rules and in a manner that both the web and apps users will be aware.

The What's New is hidden under HELP -- When do you go to HELP or FAQs - when you sign up or when you are notified of a change to the FAQS. The What's News needs to be moved to the main tool bar, or a hot link from the header that might turn red when new information is posted, or a notification.

We still have folks that don't know that the FAQ changed back to posting CASH. Some don't even know it changed from CASH to CREDIT and back to CASH.

Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:16,899
Points:2,812,560
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Feb 10, 2013 12:14:45 AM

That's all well and good but wouldn't it be better to announce the change? Wouldn't it be better to warn somebody instead of outright removing the ability to access the MSL?

Seems to me that a poor way of communicating a change is to remove someone's ability to access the MSL, be unresponsive to their inquiries and the only way the rest of us learn about the change is because that member mentioned it in a follow up to a different subject.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:22,806
Points:4,132,305
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Feb 9, 2013 11:56:46 PM

Seems to me that the logical thing to post is whichever is on the sign that you can see from the street. That's what people will have to be looking for while driving, after all.
Profile Pic
TxJeans
Champion Author Tampa

Posts:6,791
Points:706,775
Joined:May 2004
Message Posted: Feb 9, 2013 10:58:42 AM

Rock and hard place. Some will complain the C-store name doesn't show, others that the gas brand doesn't show. But, being that this is GASBUDDY.com, I would think it better to show the brand of gas...

But, we know that what ever decisions are made about how this site works is related to the bottom line for GB not for the users.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:16,899
Points:2,812,560
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Feb 9, 2013 10:10:10 AM

Yet another example of a long standing policy being turned on its head without any warning or announcement.
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 8, 2013 10:46:31 PM

I don't get it. And they pay money to do this? On the other hand, maybe someone is naming the stations incorrectly? And what's to keep any of us from going to the MSL and changing the station name to the gasoline brand, as it's suppose to be, and moving the convenience store name to the alternate name field?
Profile Pic
doeslayersr
Champion Author Illinois

Posts:11,760
Points:1,327,205
Joined:Dec 2010
Message Posted: Feb 8, 2013 10:06:56 PM

The roadside signs and the pumps still carry the brand and logo such as Mobil, BP and Phillips 66. The only place you see the C store sign in on the building.

So if a person is looking for a Mobil station, you will not find one via the app or a website search within hundreds of miles, yet there are really 4 Mobil stations within 7 miles of me.

Do not ask me to explain it, I am confused. I wonder if the brands such as Mobil or Conoco Phillips know their brand is being obliterated online.
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 8, 2013 8:40:12 PM

Is the convenience store logo replacing the gasoline brand logo? If not, what's the point? I have 7-11 stores near me and their logo appears in the app, but then the gasoline brand doesn't appear on their roadside signs, so it shouldn't appear in the app either.
Profile Pic
doeslayersr
Champion Author Illinois

Posts:11,760
Points:1,327,205
Joined:Dec 2010
Message Posted: Feb 8, 2013 7:55:32 PM

Does not matter much as what someone at Gasbuddy is doing will eliminate the brand logos you do see in a smart phone app. Virtually all of the Mobil stations in Illinois lost the Mobil brand logo in the app even though the fuel station is still sells Mobil fuels.

The reason being the Convenience Store name is being in the Station Name field (where the brand should be). Hence, the Mobil stations as well as some Phillips 66 and BP stations are all losing their brand identity as far as the Gasbuddy app is concerned.

All the C-Stores who partner with (pay $$$$ to) OpenStore (a company of Gasbuddy) will get to obliterate the brand name and logo.

I would imagine it will spread as more Cstores pony up the $$$$ to GB and say me too!
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Feb 7, 2013 5:38:37 PM

Scout- do any Speedway's have logos? I've never seen one if so...

...do any Speedway's have logos [sic - on here]?

I've never seen one if so [sic - on here]...

But thank you for the beautiful picture...
Profile Pic
CC
Moderator
Message Posted: Feb 7, 2013 5:16:51 PM

We currently don't have Speedway logos available but hope to in the near future. Thanks for your patience.

[Edited by: CC at 2/7/2013 5:17:19 PM EST]
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 7, 2013 8:38:36 AM

Maybe Speedway won't allow its use without a fee? On the other hand, there seems to be no problem using Marathon's.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:94,428
Points:3,707,390
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Feb 7, 2013 6:43:23 AM

This is the Speedway logo. I have never seen any on the GB maps.
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Feb 6, 2013 7:06:12 PM

Mods, do any Speedway's have logos? I've never seen one if so...
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 6, 2013 6:28:45 PM

I see the logos now; thanks!
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 4, 2013 6:56:57 PM

MSL #'s:

158443 - Mobil
158356 - Sunoco
158355 - Mobil
149390 - Mobil
108979 - Citgo
110182 - Citgo
27698 - Clark
158444 - Sunoco
126164 - Clark
158510 - Valero
110815 - Sunoco

Also, we have a lot of Speedway stations in this part of the country and none of them have the logo.

Thanks.
Profile Pic
TB
Moderator
Message Posted: Feb 4, 2013 5:20:55 PM

DoctorV we need more information from you on this. Do you know what Station ID's this applies to? What could be happening is the station might be selling Marathon Gas but might be named Dave's Convenience store in our MSL.

If you could get us the Station ID's from the MSL we can look into it and fix up the branding.
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 4, 2013 4:07:00 PM

Bump...for moderators.
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Feb 1, 2013 11:23:37 AM

lol, my is/is not was referring to its logo as is or not showing, checking ones of each to see how their respective MSL looked... I will pause and see what any Mods may add... Good question...
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 1, 2013 11:19:28 AM

I didn't know it was possible for a station to NOT be in the MSL.

Anyway, I have a Sunoco, a Mobil, and a Citgo near me, all of which are listed by their brand name in the MSL (with no alternate name), yet no logo in the Android app, in either in map or list view.

Maybe if there's been a change in brand or other station info, the logo doesn't get updated until the GasBuddy app gets updated?
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Feb 1, 2013 10:25:52 AM

Check one of each that is/is not listed in the MSL and see what their names/alt names are... I think the logos only activate off of the main store name/brand... I will run into the MSL in a sec too...

Back... Looks like the logos only get generated if applicable from the main/first station name field... Mods?

[Edited by: regulate_now at 2/1/2013 10:29:12 AM EST]
Profile Pic
DoctorV
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:4,253
Points:645,025
Joined:Aug 2008
Message Posted: Feb 1, 2013 10:12:59 AM

Okay. I'm a bit confused why I will see the Mobil logo for some Mobil stations, but not for other Mobil stations. Likewise, Marathon, Sunoco, BP, etc. Is it an ownership issue? Jobber vs. independent dealer vs. company operated?
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Feb 1, 2013 10:02:17 AM

I believe the use of logo's is a contractual thing- between the companies and Gasbuddies... If a station is deserving of a logo, they it may need editing in the MSL IF it is branded incorrectly in the MSL. I see some stations that change names or brands and you can go into the MSL to update them. If you run into dilemmas like the Village Pantries in Indiana that all sell Marathon gas... Most areas the members agree on how/what to post and keep it inline with GB's standards or preferences. Using the VP/Marathon analogy above, we list them all as Marathons with VP secondary...
Post a reply Back to Topics