Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    2:45 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: GB Android App Back to Topics
nds76

Champion Author
Michigan

Posts:5,475
Points:1,346,650
Joined:Mar 2006
Message Posted: Jan 22, 2013 1:12:11 PM

Why does the app show the station logos in the price listings but this website does not?
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Jan 29, 2013 12:07:38 PM

Ok, thank you for your opinion. I am just providing feedback to the organization...
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:94,428
Points:3,707,390
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 29, 2013 10:50:52 AM

Again, it's not the app.
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Jan 29, 2013 9:51:21 AM

My device is fine, the same as yours, same versions but I use ATT... I bet the provider (ATT) in a larger market/city is (would be) fine... BUT the fewer towers and the use of 2-3 generation old equipment in rural areas becomes the issue BUT GBs as well as any app maker SHOULD ACCOUNT for all generations and all coverage markets... The app creater should allow for all situations/carries/equipment- thats the difference between a good app and a bad one. AND I HAVE LOTS of of apps that work under any and all situations on my device from lots of other app creators... Out of 500 ish apps on my device- only 2 or 3 of them crash... And if I find it a hinderance versus being tolerable, then I will get rid of the crashing app... By reading reviews and by reading the forums, I know I am not the only person with a locking up GBs app...
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:94,428
Points:3,707,390
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 28, 2013 11:38:19 AM

Well regulate, it appears this is a issue with your device and/or provider, not the app. I'm on V2.21 on a Galaxy S3 with Android 4.1.1 on Verizon and I have no problems.
Profile Pic
nds76
Champion Author Michigan

Posts:5,475
Points:1,346,650
Joined:Mar 2006
Message Posted: Jan 28, 2013 11:25:28 AM

I find I like the GB app better than the website. I think having the station logos are visually pleasing and more dynamic looking that just the station name in text.
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Jan 25, 2013 7:31:45 AM

FYI, I still get daily crashes and freezes in the latest Android app that did not occur on previous versions... Too many environmental factors or variables to determine but the common denominator seems to be longevity of use during the session or multiple cell tower changes/coverage gaps...
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:94,428
Points:3,707,390
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 25, 2013 6:56:29 AM

No need to apologize, Gas Buddy. That has happened to me as well.
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:22,806
Points:4,132,305
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Jan 25, 2013 2:16:13 AM

Every now and then a duplicate post happens; I don't think anybody is more or less susceptible to it (except bytebug, who never has any problems with the site, of course). If you catch it in time, you can edit one copy to replace the content with just "[dup]" or a dot or something.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,225
Points:3,489,860
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jan 24, 2013 10:10:57 AM

Sorry; yes. Duplicates have happened several times in the past two or three days and I've asked the moderators to delete the duplicate. No idea why it's happening but it's happened before and only on Gas Buddy (the only discussion site I'm in; it doesn't happen with e-mail). For some reason after I "Post Message", it hangs up waiting for "final submission" or inputting (or whatever) to Gas Buddy, and then when it does appear after a delay, there are multiples. And it only happens using a full computer, not that I've noticed when submitting by i-Phone.

Sorry everyone.

[Edited by: Gas_Buddy at 1/24/2013 10:12:23 AM EST]
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:94,428
Points:3,707,390
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 24, 2013 6:47:42 AM

Are you having problems, Gas Buddy? Seems like lately you have a few double posts!

I agree. Having the logos on the mobile map helps identify the stations. This is not really needed on the web site maps.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,225
Points:3,489,860
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jan 23, 2013 4:13:53 PM

I remember one of the moderators previously saying that in order to use the logo Gas Buddy had to have an agreement with them.

I think that using logos makes sense on the small screen mobile devices, but not everyone is familiar with all logos (even if all stations had logos). Unfortunately, maybe a hybrid solution is the best solution to satisfy a majority of users at any given time.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,225
Points:3,489,860
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jan 23, 2013 4:13:46 PM

I remember one of the moderators previously saying that in order to use the logo Gas Buddy had to have an agreement with them.

I think that using logos makes sense on the small screen mobile devices, but not everyone is familiar with all logos (even if all stations had logos). Unfortunately, maybe a hybrid solution is the best solution to satisfy a majority of users at any given time.
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Jan 23, 2013 2:40:00 PM

I see logos on price listings on the Web site... I also see logos on the prices on the map on the web site... ??? Not every station has logos but I believe that's between GBs and sponsors/stations... Ones I find readily everywhere- Family Express, Marathon, Loves, Riskers, Thortons to name a few... They may or may not have the same contracts or agreements for the apps as they have for their web site...
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:94,428
Points:3,707,390
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 22, 2013 2:24:08 PM

Maybe to help ID the station on the app since the screen is smaller.
Post a reply Back to Topics