Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    5:45 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Newest Android 2.21 Back to Topics
regulate_now

Champion Author
Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Dec 20, 2012 3:12:50 PM

Since the newest version of the Android App came out, it fails to update any diesel prices when I am submitting 4 prices in one update to a station. It has done this 100% of the time for every (about 15-ish) ATTempt. It does take a diesel price when I experiment and enter it by itself... Android ICS (current/latest), ATT, Samsung Galaxy S3... was on straight 4G (not LTE)...

Prices Appear to update normally when 3 or less prices are submitted...
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,144
Points:3,853,565
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 15, 2013 6:58:23 AM

Actually, Gas Buddy, either this topic or the Android topic is the proper place for this discussion.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,823
Points:3,635,125
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jan 14, 2013 4:43:32 PM

As it seems to be an isolated issue, and maybe I'm asking the obvious, but have you tried to delete the current app and reinstall it?

Second, because it's an apparent on-going issue, why not (rather than post here), contact the moderators directly and ask your question.

And/or, as the Talk Back To Us and Suggest A Website Improvement categories don't have a lot of participation, and the few members that participate in them have a diverse range of computer and/or mobile devices, why not consider posting your question in "Off Topic" with a more distinct or detailed/informative topic name? It seems to me that you would get more responses (similar problems?) there than you would in a lightly used discussion category.
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Jan 14, 2013 3:37:10 PM

Locked up/stopped message 3:35 EDT
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,144
Points:3,853,565
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Jan 14, 2013 11:19:01 AM

I'm running on a Droid X and no problems with the app at all.

I'm saying that to say this - it could be a device specific problem.

[Edited by: scoutmaster at 1/14/2013 11:19:43 AM EST]
Profile Pic
RichWLIN
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:7,525
Points:1,240,680
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Jan 14, 2013 10:51:53 AM

regulate_now,

I had one forced close necessary with the GB app when version 2.21 first came out, but none since. I'm on a Droid X with the current version OS for this device.

RG
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Jan 14, 2013 8:57:41 AM

This version of the Android app seems to crash more than the past... I get daily messages from the android OS saying that this app has stopped responding and the OS is able to fix/reset it after a moment... It seems to occur more when the app has been running a while/used for a lot of prices and/or when the app changes cell towers or has a moment where it can not connect... With intense use over a wide area, I get 1-2 of these crashes daily... Previous versions never stopped or crashed. I have Android 4.04, Samsung G3, ATT...
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,144
Points:3,853,565
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Dec 28, 2012 9:58:21 AM

4G is also network dependent, cookie. If it's not available, you don't get it.

Also, you gonna eat with that mouth?
Profile Pic
cookieguru
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:122
Points:720,625
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Dec 27, 2012 12:51:47 PM

scoutmaster: "So in reality, it's not a 4G phone."

How the hell are you misreading "Dependent on market" as "Not in this phone"? The version AT&T sells has an LTE radio in it.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,144
Points:3,853,565
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Dec 27, 2012 8:28:11 AM

Here are some specs straight from Samsung

Network/Bearer and Wireless Connectivity
2.5G (GSM/ GPRS/ EDGE): 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 MHz
3G (HSPA+ 21Mbps): 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 MHz
4G (Dependent on market)

So in reality, it's not a 4G phone.

[Edited by: scoutmaster at 12/27/2012 8:29:20 AM EST]
Profile Pic
cookieguru
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:122
Points:720,625
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Dec 27, 2012 3:13:56 AM

regulate_now: "your links and your cited phone support exactly what I said"
I don't know how you're misinterpreting the table. If there was a difference between 4G and LTE, they'd be listed separately.

http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/135/76471303.png

I think your problem is that you (and Byte_Doctor) are labeling HSPA+ as 4G when it's really not:
"HSPA+ is an evolution of HSPA (3G) that upgrades the existing 3G network and provides a method for telecom operators to migrate towards 4G speeds"

"Towards 4G speeds" does not mean it's 4G. An engine might have "the power of a V6" but that does not mean it has 6 cylinders.

[Edited by: cookieguru at 12/27/2012 3:16:35 AM EST]
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Dec 24, 2012 11:45:22 AM

Actually, I bet its related to the infrastructure provided by ATT in rural areas. Since GBs does not get much feedback from areas or situations like these, it is probably valuable to hear how things work in lowe/older technological situations. Not everyone get the newest or best service that ;large cities get... I report prices most oftern on 4G at best and rarely 4G LTE. ...and then more often I work or report on 3G, G, and E signals... I report on 3 different Samsung G3's so I can intelligently rule out a device issue...

BTW for GBs, it does appear to be working better now. The date of the original post may have been a coincidence for a provider issue and the update release date...
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,144
Points:3,853,565
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Dec 24, 2012 8:24:10 AM

Actually I think this topic has run it's course. It appears to be specific to regulate_now's device since there are other who have Androids with the same version and are not having any problems at all.
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Dec 24, 2012 12:19:25 AM

That's a new one, 3.5G? Well you said it about Apple and I am not an Apple fan nor user... But your links and your cited phone support exactly what I said. I use the cited Samsung Galaxy 3S with ATT and I have used and seen 4G and 4GLTE and can tell you they are different speeds, different generations/systems and different icons on a non Apple device with ATT and Verizon. With the device you cited, just around rural Indiana you can drive one direction and get a 3G signal then the other direction and get a 4G signal. Then you head into Indy or Chicago, etc and get the 4G LTE signal- each picking up a faster connection with faster capabilities. Now, how about starting your own thread and not hijacking this one?



[Edited by: regulate_now at 12/24/2012 12:25:08 AM EST]
Profile Pic
Byte_Doctor
Champion Author Akron

Posts:6,677
Points:1,319,640
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Dec 23, 2012 11:26:33 PM

cookieguru wrote:
> There is only one 4G.
> 4G may describe both LTE and WiMax

What about HSPA+, isn't that another 4G technology that competes with LTE?
Profile Pic
cookieguru
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:122
Points:720,625
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Dec 23, 2012 4:13:04 PM

There is only one 4G. Apple, with its head traditionally up its ass, misidentifies 3.5G as 4G. Despite being on a different platform, it seems like you've fallen in to their trap. You may want to read this article for clarification. While 4G may describe both LTE and WiMax, no carrier deploys both.

Or just jump straight to the table here.
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Dec 23, 2012 12:15:38 AM

There are two generations of 4G...
Profile Pic
cookieguru
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:122
Points:720,625
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Dec 22, 2012 5:42:18 AM

"was on straight 4G (not LTE)"
4G is LTE. Everything else is 3G or less.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:97,144
Points:3,853,565
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Dec 21, 2012 4:02:23 PM

I've updated diesel prices with the new version with no trouble.
Profile Pic
regulate_now
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:6,626
Points:1,009,050
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Dec 20, 2012 4:31:18 PM

I originally searched by using the app and re-checking my posts for typos from within the app while on the road... Some of the ones you may have found were re-input by me after noticing the first reports that did not take. I looked at several more for my mid day trip around town (on the web) and found numerous stations missing my diesel posts after I had just stopped re-inputting the prices and let the first one stand-without the diesel taking... I looked for these on the website in case it was a caching issue within the app and this seems to not be the case...
Profile Pic
CC
Moderator
Message Posted: Dec 20, 2012 3:25:57 PM

regulate_now,

At this moment I can see reg, mid, prem, dies reported by you on http://indianagasprices.com/Kokomo/index.aspx right now.

Are you still having this problem? How are you searching for the price after reporting it?

[Edited by: CC at 12/20/2012 3:27:07 PM EST]
Post a reply Back to Topics