Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    10:12 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Editing MSL in app Back to Topics
cookieguru

Sophomore Author
Seattle

Posts:122
Points:728,025
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Nov 15, 2012 9:13:44 PM

Android app released today indicates:

"Now you can help everyone to update station features when reporting prices!"

How? There's no menu item for it and tapping on the existing features doesn't do anything.
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
Profile Pic
cookieguru
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:122
Points:728,025
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Dec 1, 2012 3:48:21 PM

kwzh: "Unless *everybody* is answering dishonestly on the survey questions, it should be pretty easy to catch the liars by comparing their answers to the rest of the community's."

Although care should be taken to screen these. It's possible someone might tap the wrong button in a fat-fingered moment; it doesn't mean they're a liar, it just means the next word out of their mouth might be "Oh"
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,533
Points:4,361,030
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Nov 29, 2012 6:29:51 AM

Unless *everybody* is answering dishonestly on the survey questions, it should be pretty easy to catch the liars by comparing their answers to the rest of the community's.
Profile Pic
Scrapheap
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:17,610
Points:3,040,735
Joined:Sep 2006
Message Posted: Nov 28, 2012 12:05:55 PM

kwzh wrote > In the case of diesel, the implication clearly does not hold, as many diesel prices have been entered for stations that don't sell it. So, the question does need to be asked in that case.

If people are willing to report prices for grades of fuel a station does not carry, just to get credits for a worthless app award, why would you think they would answer any of these questions honestly? After all, an honest answer might prevent them from getting credit for the poorly programmed award.

Why not make changes that lead to real improvements?
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:99,065
Points:3,941,715
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Nov 28, 2012 6:58:48 AM

Regular is regular. Don't read more into it! It isn't there! Jeesh!
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,533
Points:4,361,030
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Nov 28, 2012 1:44:13 AM

Even in the days when they added lead to gasoline, I don't think "regular" ever referred to that type. (Though some people may have imagined that it did.)
Profile Pic
cputrdoc
Veteran Author San Jose

Posts:259
Points:813,735
Joined:Apr 2003
Message Posted: Nov 26, 2012 2:28:47 PM

Please reword "Does this station sell regular gas?" This could be asking:
* Regular "petrol" liquid gasoline vs natural gas
* Regular unleaded gas vs premium unleaded
* Regular (leaded) gas vs unleaded

...and to echo @movrshakr, if I just entered a "regular" gas price (let's say it's any/all of the above definitions: regular, unleaded 89/87 gas), didn't I just answer that question?
Profile Pic
kwzh
Champion Author San Jose

Posts:23,533
Points:4,361,030
Joined:Jul 2001
Message Posted: Nov 22, 2012 12:46:22 AM

In the case of diesel, the implication clearly does not hold, as many diesel prices have been entered for stations that don't sell it. So, the question does need to be asked in that case. I imagine that extending it to all grades of gas is reasonable -- if nothing else, it should serve as a useful control question.
Profile Pic
movrshakr
Champion Author Florida

Posts:1,461
Points:2,057,410
Joined:Jan 2008
Message Posted: Nov 21, 2012 9:31:22 PM

.
Kind of don't understand the question, "Does this station sell regular gas?"

If people have been inputting regular gas prices....ummmmm...doesn't that answer the question without asking?
Profile Pic
GM
Moderator
Message Posted: Nov 21, 2012 5:37:46 PM

Hey everyone,

There are a few questions here I would like to address.

"Is it distributed"

Yes, members will be asked different question for the same station. Right now we are trying to gather as much information on stations as possible.

"I have reported prices for a couple of dozen more stations since then, but haven't been asked any more questions."

One issue we were worried about was how members were going to react to this feature. You aren't being asked for every station because we did not want to spam members with these messages. As I said you can choose not to receive these prompts but as for receiving more of them, not just yet. We are thrilled by positive reactions we are getting about this feature. As I said I said the frequency of prompts can't be increased yet but our developers are looking at it.

"Does an answered poll item that changes the MSL generate a History of Changes transaction (with user name) visible from the full site?"

Like I said right now we are just gathering information. The MSL won't be changed by one answered question. We want to confirm if a station feature is in the MSL that the station actually has it.

Again, thanks for all the positive feedback. It is great to see such a warm welcome for a new feature.



- Ryan (RD)
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:13,359
Points:2,127,280
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Nov 17, 2012 10:58:46 PM

Well, if you answer a poll that DOES cause a change, it would be interesting to know if it winds up in the HOC.
Profile Pic
cookieguru
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:122
Points:728,025
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Nov 17, 2012 3:04:23 PM

CampKohler: "Question: Does an answered poll item that changes the MSL generate a History of Changes transaction (with user name) visible from the full site?"

Answer: I see nothing in the "History of Changes" for the one station I've been asked about. I was asked whether or not the station sells regular gas; it already had that marked as yes and I answered yes, so no changes were necessary.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:13,359
Points:2,127,280
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Nov 17, 2012 1:51:54 PM

So the answer to the question is that the method of obtaining MSL data, at least by mobile app, has been changed from ordinary data input (as we are used to on the full site) to piecemeal polling. That would seem to be a hit-or-miss proposition if the station is isolated or in an area of low GB participation; the opportunity to get all the data may be missed. It would make more sense to me to allow a way of quickly stepping through the MSL edit page while at the station location in order to input a specific data item or all of them as the member elects.

Question: Does an answered poll item that changes the MSL generate a History of Changes transaction (with user name) visible from the full site?
Profile Pic
bytebug
Champion Author Orange County

Posts:29,503
Points:4,811,170
Joined:Oct 2001
Message Posted: Nov 17, 2012 4:12:55 AM

Given how the accuracy of price posts has fallen with the introduction of smartphone apps, I view the prospect of app users being able to pollute the MSL as just more bad news, leading to more and more inaccuracies.

If I had my way, there would be a way to turn off app-entered price info when viewing prices, or being able to ignore individual members prices after noticing a regular pattern of inaccuracies.
Profile Pic
DavisSta
All-Star Author San Francisco

Posts:791
Points:3,116,085
Joined:Jun 2004
Message Posted: Nov 17, 2012 12:08:06 AM

I think this could help improve accuracy by ensuring that MSL records are verified from time to time. Sometimes station features change but the MSL does not get updated. I would, however, be a little leery of the possibility of app users quickly passing by a station and not checking out the station carefully enough to ensure that they give the correct answer to the question. Will the MSL be changed on the basis of a single report, or will several reports be required before the contents of the MSL are changed?

I was asked "Does this station sell regular gas?" for the first station I reported on after installing the upgrade. I have reported prices for a couple of dozen more stations since then, but haven't been asked any more questions.

[Edited by: DavisSta at 11/17/2012 12:09:03 AM EST]
Profile Pic
cookieguru
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:122
Points:728,025
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Nov 16, 2012 11:25:54 PM

Is it distributed, e.g. it asks me about regular, another person about diesel, and a third about membership? Or more than one person about each?

Would love to opt in to more of these questions.
Profile Pic
GM
Moderator
Message Posted: Nov 16, 2012 2:52:56 PM

>cookieguru

To be more clear, the full MSL isn't accessible from the app yet. The picture you posted is showing off our new feature. These prompts will ask members about various station features. Such as grades of fuel (including diesel!), if the station has different prices for cash and credit and if you need a membership for that station.

There are features in place so that you will not get asked after every post and you can also choose not to be asked at all. We are hoping this helps build a more accurate MSL and stop false prices.

Thanks for the help.



- Ryan (RD)

[Edited by: GM at 11/16/2012 2:53:29 PM EST]
Profile Pic
cookieguru
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:122
Points:728,025
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Nov 16, 2012 1:02:20 PM

So this is what that line means:

http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/5858/20121116093932.png

Have so far only reported prices for two stations; first one didn't ask me, that one did. Only got one popup. Wish it would've asked me "Does this station sell diesel?" because I would've tapped the "Hell no" option.
Profile Pic
scoutmaster
Champion Author Pittsburgh

Posts:99,065
Points:3,941,715
Joined:Mar 2003
Message Posted: Nov 16, 2012 7:07:07 AM

I just upgraded to v2.17 and see nothing about being able to update station features. Here's the "What's New" from the Android Market

V2.17
Now you can help everyone to update station features when reporting prices!
Bug fixes
Profile Pic
cookieguru
Sophomore Author Seattle

Posts:122
Points:728,025
Joined:Jan 2011
Message Posted: Nov 15, 2012 9:22:08 PM

I'm trying to figure how how "to update station features when reporting prices" in the Android app. The newest version apparently has that capability.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:30,194
Points:3,722,560
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Nov 15, 2012 9:15:46 PM

Are you saying that you can't use the browser on your mobile device to access the Master Station List? Or are you asking something different?
Post a reply Back to Topics