Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    5:18 AM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Talk back to us! > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: App collapse - an iPhone problem Back to Topics
CampKohler

Champion Author
Sacramento

Posts:12,561
Points:1,978,345
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Oct 27, 2012 7:30:03 PM

For the last two days, every time I select a list or map station to post a price, two seconds later, the app closes. I have rebooted the iPhone, but it persists. Any others have this problem?

I have v1.12.4 running on IOS6. Touching Help Topics yields nothing.
REPLIES (newest first) Topic is locked
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,561
Points:1,978,345
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Nov 15, 2012 2:26:00 AM

Posted to Notgreen's whiteboard about app collapsing at price-reporting time: App is corrupted; re-install.
Profile Pic
TreasuryGuy
Champion Author California

Posts:3,040
Points:1,648,715
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Nov 3, 2012 6:49:38 PM

Thanks, Don.

I use my iPhone "Notes" native app to add standard comments regarding cash vs. credit prices. I would like to see the paste function restored when you feel it appropriate.
Profile Pic
Notgreen
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:14,338
Points:3,165,265
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Nov 3, 2012 1:09:57 PM

For the last week or so every time I try to post prices via my iPhone the app closes before I can do so. It works fine on my iPad.
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: Nov 2, 2012 9:59:04 AM

@TreasuryGuy,

The paste function was removed from the comments field (and as far as I recall, the comments field character limit may have been reduced) in order to prevent recent abuse of this feature. We hope to enable this once more in the future.

- Don
Profile Pic
TreasuryGuy
Champion Author California

Posts:3,040
Points:1,648,715
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Nov 2, 2012 9:50:24 AM

Just a note to the Gas Buddy folks: The iPhone paste function into the Comments field of price entry no longer works in v1.14. You can type into the Comments field but not paste into it.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,561
Points:1,978,345
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Nov 1, 2012 9:10:58 PM

It's working just peachy now. Very quick reloads.
Profile Pic
Don
Moderator
Message Posted: Nov 1, 2012 3:57:40 PM

We had received some feedback describing users having issues with 1.12.4 after updating their devices to iOS6, updating to v1.14 should correct this problem.

-Don
Profile Pic
GM
Moderator
Message Posted: Oct 30, 2012 4:03:45 PM

>CampKohler

We seemed to have some issues with older apps over the weekend.

I see that you've updated to v1.14.3 now, are you having any issues at all?

- Ryan (RD)



[Edited by: GM at 11/2/2012 3:57:51 PM EST]
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,561
Points:1,978,345
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Oct 29, 2012 2:17:58 AM

Another thing that seemed to get fixed at the same time was the very spotty GPS feed to the app, such that the app spent a LOT of time trying to bring up a list or map. It's amazing how much better SW runs when it isn't corrupted, isn't it? The next time it gets freaky on me, it's a new reload for me.

One thing I've never understand is why SW companies don't provide a method for checking the codeine a PC or device to simply tell you if it's good or bad, even if the cost for that is doubling the size.
Profile Pic
TreasuryGuy
Champion Author California

Posts:3,040
Points:1,648,715
Joined:Jun 2008
Message Posted: Oct 28, 2012 9:34:16 PM

I had the exact same problem. Suddenly v.1.12 didn't work when trying to post and neither did the beta test version I had for v.1.13.

I updated to v.1.14 and the problem went away.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,561
Points:1,978,345
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Oct 28, 2012 4:58:21 PM

You get dupes when you hit Submit twice thinking the first one didn't work.

BTW, it doesn't really matter if the app doesn't work when the voice recorder app produces a minute of dead silence
Instead of all the prices you've just gathered in 15 mins of driving. This is the 2nd time that has happened in over a year. Grrrr!

[Edited by: CampKohler at 10/28/2012 5:08:11 PM EST]
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,561
Points:1,978,345
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Oct 28, 2012 4:58:21 PM

First I tried using the two app resets, but no dice. Then I went to iTunes and searched for "gasbuddy" but didn't see the app. Finally I went to the full site and clicked the app there and installed it and deleted the old one. No more problem. It's now v1.14.3.

Thanks for your responses.
Profile Pic
CampKohler
Champion Author Sacramento

Posts:12,561
Points:1,978,345
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Oct 28, 2012 3:59:57 PM

It's a 3s. I should have said that up front, but since the app has been working reasonably well for a year, it probably doesn't matter which model it is. And since it has also been OK on IOS6 until the problem started, that probably doesn't matter either.

GB: I powered it down and up by holding the upper right button until the Slide to Power Off slider appears. Just now I tried the two-button method you suggested, and the problem is still there.

BD: I'll reload the app next and report back.


Profile Pic
Byte_Doctor
Champion Author Akron

Posts:6,339
Points:1,227,465
Joined:Apr 2011
Message Posted: Oct 27, 2012 10:12:45 PM

Sounds like either the app itself or the local data store has gotten corrupt. Try deleting and reinstalling the app to see if that helps.
Profile Pic
Gas_Buddy
Champion Author Maryland

Posts:29,460
Points:3,544,095
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Oct 27, 2012 9:26:24 PM

I use an iPhone 4S, with the latest operating system and have not had any problem with the app closing when I select either the list or map to post prices. And I've used the phone extensively in conjunction with posting gas prices while on extended interstate travel.

Just for clarification, which iPhone are you using?
And by saying that you're "rebooting", correct me if I'm wrong, but you're resetting your iPhone. That is, you're holding the sleep/wake button at the top right of the device and the home button at the bottom center of the face at the same time until, and then holding both buttons until the white Apple logo appears (before letting go).

Just so the moderators know specifically what type of equipment you're having a problem with and what specific actions you've taken to try to solve the problem.
Topic is locked Back to Topics