Not Logged In Log In   Sign Up   Points Leaders
Follow Us    1:47 PM

Message Forum - Read Message

Category: Fuel Economy > Topics Add to favorite topics   Post new topicPost New Topic
Author Topic: Use your tachometer to get better gas mileage Back to Topics
Saab93turbo
Champion Author
Washington

Posts:2,446
Points:595,110
Joined:Dec 2012
Message Posted: Mar 9, 2014 6:07:34 PM

I found that sometimes on a car with automatic transmission, the car is not driving at the most economical top gear. By suddenly letting off the gas a bit, you can make the car go into top gear.

For example, around 45 mph, the car is sometimes not in to top gear. Know what the tachometer should read in to gear.

In some cars, it may be 60 mph = 2100 rpm or 58 mph = 2000 rpm.
At 45 mph, top gear may be 1600 rpm but not top gear is 2000 rpm.

I don't memorize all of the points except the above speeds and rpm.

[Edited by: Saab93turbo at 3/9/2014 6:07:52 PM EST]
REPLIES (newest first) Post a Reply
GasMiser718
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:7,335
Points:357,930
Joined:Apr 2006
Message Posted: Nov 16, 2014 7:54:51 AM

Only when I am trying to get the best mileage in the city.
FrankLee1
Champion Author Minnesota

Posts:1,001
Points:40,420
Joined:Feb 2013
Message Posted: Nov 12, 2014 12:04:52 PM

It does matter. You can "force" upshifts at lower rpms by lightly lifting your gas pedal foot. And the tach can help you select cruising speeds based on rpms, if you have a target rpm. And you can use the tach to make sure you never exceed a certain rpm.
MertieMan
Champion Author Lexington

Posts:18,169
Points:3,706,310
Joined:May 2005
Message Posted: Nov 12, 2014 5:11:01 AM

It doesn't matter much when the vehicle has an automatic transmission.
carinthuist
Champion Author San Francisco

Posts:6,291
Points:1,063,725
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Nov 10, 2014 10:55:00 AM

ok
twt
Champion Author Virginia Beach

Posts:14,092
Points:1,789,435
Joined:Mar 2005
Message Posted: Nov 10, 2014 10:10:46 AM

Good thinking.
RealtorJeff
All-Star Author San Diego

Posts:760
Points:693,300
Joined:Apr 2005
Message Posted: Nov 9, 2014 7:55:29 PM

no
hoopitup2000
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:2,091
Points:643,385
Joined:Jul 2013
Message Posted: Nov 9, 2014 11:42:37 AM

Yes . . . . .
LibertyGuardian
All-Star Author Arizona

Posts:583
Points:73,660
Joined:Oct 2014
Message Posted: Nov 9, 2014 11:13:12 AM

Not likely...the tachometer is good for one thing on street cars...to make the driver feel like he's something of a wannabe race car driver.
contiki
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:29,560
Points:1,288,265
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Nov 9, 2014 8:17:02 AM

Never........
Jackson126
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:1,484
Points:454,845
Joined:May 2014
Message Posted: Nov 9, 2014 5:46:01 AM

no
GasMiser718
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:7,335
Points:357,930
Joined:Apr 2006
Message Posted: Nov 4, 2014 11:23:45 AM

Yes, just try to keep it below 3000 rpm when shifting...
randy3116
Champion Author Tennessee

Posts:1,738
Points:630,510
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Oct 30, 2014 5:38:21 AM

i use my tach when driving rather than my speedometer
Piper1099
All-Star Author Florida

Posts:856
Points:203,530
Joined:Oct 2014
Message Posted: Oct 27, 2014 10:20:34 PM

Most vehicles will shift into overdrive between 40 and 50 mph, regardless of engine rpm. Newer transmissions are controlled by electronic solenoids that tell the trans when to shift for the best fuel economy. These solenoids are controlled by the engine control module, which gets it's input from among other things, the vehicle speed sensor.
GasMiser718
Champion Author Detroit

Posts:7,335
Points:357,930
Joined:Apr 2006
Message Posted: Oct 27, 2014 9:13:25 AM

sometimes driving in the city.
herbiepopnecker
Champion Author British Columbia

Posts:16,491
Points:3,253,130
Joined:Sep 2005
Message Posted: Oct 26, 2014 10:48:24 PM

sometimes
SGLuz
Champion Author Modesto

Posts:1,756
Points:1,067,665
Joined:Jun 2011
Message Posted: Oct 26, 2014 7:04:20 PM

No
randy3116
Champion Author Tennessee

Posts:1,738
Points:630,510
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Oct 24, 2014 5:36:23 AM

my driving is based more using my tach than the speedometer
jl1rp
Champion Author New Hampshire

Posts:5,422
Points:1,158,130
Joined:May 2012
Message Posted: Oct 24, 2014 12:41:23 AM

no
BCNU
Champion Author British Columbia

Posts:18,053
Points:2,970,535
Joined:Mar 2005
Message Posted: Oct 23, 2014 2:18:04 AM

no
Mikeyy1960
Champion Author Cape Coral

Posts:1,340
Points:307,220
Joined:Aug 2014
Message Posted: Oct 22, 2014 3:53:15 PM

no
contiki
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:29,560
Points:1,288,265
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Aug 10, 2014 8:23:42 AM

Never............
Mikeyl
Champion Author Cleveland

Posts:9,576
Points:1,980,715
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Aug 9, 2014 10:43:41 AM

Don't pound on the accelerator. That will help just as much. A nice gradual startup from a stop is best.
46chief
Champion Author Indiana

Posts:7,110
Points:2,596,990
Joined:May 2006
Message Posted: Aug 9, 2014 10:22:36 AM

I use the tach on my truck to get the transmission to shift to a higher gear. It works.
carinthuist
Champion Author San Francisco

Posts:6,291
Points:1,063,725
Joined:Mar 2012
Message Posted: Jul 28, 2014 1:32:26 PM

no
StArrow68
Champion Author Oakland

Posts:6,629
Points:2,170,795
Joined:Apr 2003
Message Posted: Jul 27, 2014 2:45:10 PM

If wanted I can keep the rpm's under 2k and and drive, even entries to the freeway. Then again this morning there were two on ramps where 5500 rpm's gave off a beautiful song!
Jay4Runner
Champion Author Oakland

Posts:11,012
Points:2,384,450
Joined:Apr 2004
Message Posted: Jul 27, 2014 2:37:08 PM

My 2002 Tacoma is a 5 Speed so I do watch the RPMs.
Jetta_Pilot
Champion Author Toronto

Posts:4,337
Points:636,560
Joined:May 2005
Message Posted: Jul 27, 2014 1:29:25 PM

I use my foot on the accelerator pedal to control the economy obtained.
contiki
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:29,560
Points:1,288,265
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Jul 19, 2014 7:36:49 AM

Never...........
dontuknowOH
Champion Author Ohio

Posts:4,037
Points:69,385
Joined:Aug 2009
Message Posted: Jul 18, 2014 9:42:44 AM

I use and like that feature.
twt
Champion Author Virginia Beach

Posts:14,092
Points:1,789,435
Joined:Mar 2005
Message Posted: Jul 18, 2014 3:37:37 AM

If your transmission isn't in top gear when driving, you need to have it checked.
Gabilondo
Champion Author New Mexico

Posts:10,500
Points:2,341,515
Joined:May 2007
Message Posted: Jul 17, 2014 9:37:09 PM

Yep, engines all have a magic rpm that is the most efficient.
Vin63
Champion Author San Bernardino

Posts:3,005
Points:733,435
Joined:Oct 2007
Message Posted: Jul 16, 2014 9:55:06 AM

Yes, I try to keep the RPMs at peak torque on my diesels.
Mikeyl
Champion Author Cleveland

Posts:9,576
Points:1,980,715
Joined:Aug 2004
Message Posted: Jul 15, 2014 7:22:57 PM

I do my best to keep the tachometer as low as possible.
PaylessKY
Champion Author Kentucky

Posts:12,125
Points:2,390,445
Joined:Oct 2008
Message Posted: Jul 15, 2014 11:08:50 AM

No
dassfg
Champion Author Fort Worth

Posts:3,156
Points:1,270,320
Joined:Mar 2011
Message Posted: Jul 15, 2014 7:48:47 AM

Yes
contiki
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:29,560
Points:1,288,265
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Jul 15, 2014 7:21:04 AM

Never........
randy3116
Champion Author Tennessee

Posts:1,738
Points:630,510
Joined:Oct 2012
Message Posted: Jul 14, 2014 5:36:36 AM

my tach is my primary gauge rather than the speedometer
contiki
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:29,560
Points:1,288,265
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Jul 11, 2014 7:19:56 AM

Never......
dontuknowOH
Champion Author Ohio

Posts:4,037
Points:69,385
Joined:Aug 2009
Message Posted: Jul 11, 2014 7:00:42 AM

Often the average Driver with an automatic then doesn't pay much attention to their Tach. (engine RPM indicator), just maybe during engine warming on very cold mornings.

I'm driving a compact 4 cylinder automatic most of the time, and at times when merging on a fast interstate, I may hold the tranny manually in 2nd. gear as I ramp up, then shift to 3rd. holding that gearing for an entry at near 75 mph.

My vehicle is good for over 80 MPH. without over revving my engine, using my Tach. as a guide as I blend in to traffic.

Seconds later I select O-Drive (top gear), or sooner depends on right lane traffic speed and what large vehicles are their. Some do run only the limits 55-65 MPH. That makes it much easier to blend into traffic.

The whole problem is todays traffic any lane, is that there is a TREND of too Close Following Distance of Vehicles (grouped close) and some vehicles lack extra power to make the risky blend-in moves, often over caution timid Drivers lose the nerve to Kick Ass and Waste Gas just to merge, I see it all the time!

Those yellow arrow merge ahead caution signs (for right lane traffic) seem to not have any affect on semi drivers grouped close, sometimes 3 or more in line and getting at least 5 above the limits on thru traffic, and there goes "GRANNY" up the Merge on Lane ahead of the Bread truck, and Dough/Dough Dan pulling a wobbling trailer loaded with firewood. Low inflated tires!

Make an appointment You Say, That's an Idea..... Nerve pill.....? x 3 ?

twt
Champion Author Virginia Beach

Posts:14,092
Points:1,789,435
Joined:Mar 2005
Message Posted: Jul 11, 2014 3:18:27 AM

If you have an automatic transmission, it should always be in the proper gear unless there's something wrong with it.
counterattack
Veteran Author Los Angeles

Posts:288
Points:191,540
Joined:Nov 2013
Message Posted: Jul 11, 2014 2:39:35 AM

Interesting. But I have a 4 speed so with regular driving and at a highway speed it usually is in top gear.
sh1361
Sophomore Author Birmingham

Posts:167
Points:375,865
Joined:Jun 2012
Message Posted: Jul 10, 2014 7:37:39 PM

The rev counter is just something to look at while you drive.
A vacuum gauge works the best because you are monitoring intake vacuum. The higher the intake vacuum the better fuel milage you can expect.
contiki
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:29,560
Points:1,288,265
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Jul 10, 2014 7:13:10 AM

no.........
traffic cop
Champion Author Boston

Posts:3,524
Points:1,279,710
Joined:Oct 2004
Message Posted: Jul 3, 2014 9:08:19 PM

I'm frankly amused at the presence of a tachometer in cars with automatics, like my 09 Sienna van. And just what am I going to do with the information a tach gives me, when a very good computer makes all the decisions for me?

I'm not complaining, just commenting.
contiki
Champion Author Ontario

Posts:29,560
Points:1,288,265
Joined:Sep 2008
Message Posted: Jul 3, 2014 6:56:50 AM

Never.........
andersonns13
All-Star Author St. Louis

Posts:586
Points:30,090
Joined:Jun 2014
Message Posted: Jun 29, 2014 2:13:45 AM

I suppose I could start doing this...
OilerFan
Champion Author Tulsa

Posts:16,984
Points:3,105,090
Joined:Aug 2005
Message Posted: Jun 28, 2014 10:17:03 AM

I have a manual transmission, so have used the tach for decades. It makes a difference in mileage. It makes a difference in power, depending upon how you drive in both situations.
dassfg
Champion Author Fort Worth

Posts:3,156
Points:1,270,320
Joined:Mar 2011
Message Posted: Jun 28, 2014 8:28:10 AM

A tach helps you see where the power curve is for your vehicle
twt
Champion Author Virginia Beach

Posts:14,092
Points:1,789,435
Joined:Mar 2005
Message Posted: Jun 28, 2014 3:06:28 AM

I do that, on the motorcycle.
hoopitup2000
Champion Author Virginia

Posts:2,091
Points:643,385
Joined:Jul 2013
Message Posted: Jun 27, 2014 6:52:11 PM

Yes . . . .
GrumpyCat
Champion Author Alabama

Posts:6,047
Points:1,430,660
Joined:Jun 2009
Message Posted: Jun 27, 2014 11:35:11 AM

"Cruise controls are nice, they can save a bit of fuel for the driver that may have a nervous go-pedal right foot. Most C.C. systems are only designed to maintain the correction of the set speed in MPH.(driver's choice)."

Ditto. The CC does not represent the best possible highway MPG, only a reproducible result which a good driver should be able to equal at worst, better at best.

If CC produces better MPG than you get with your right foot then you need to work on your skills. Most likely you are making too many control input changes. dontuknowOH calls it "nervous" which is a good description. In flight training we call it over-control.
Post a reply Back to Topics